wazua Tue, Mar 4, 2025

Thika Super Bumps Way
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 2:58:42 PM

What's up with all those bumps and zebra crossings on the Thika super highway??? Are they permanent or they will be in place till the pedestrian "over passes" are done.

This might be the only super highway with bumps and zebra crossings in the world. These bumps will actually be the cause of numerous accidents.

You can imagine you are new to the road, you are driving at 100kp/h plus then all over sudden you see a bump [or the guy in the car in front of you notices the bump and suddenly slows down], you try your best to slow down only that there is a lorry being driven at the same speed behind you and obviously has a longer stopping distance than your car. Before you know it you are in a vehicular sandwich - your car in the middle!!!

On another note, the government - some minister - said the cost of a single pedestrian "over pass" is Kshs. 60 million. Seriously??? What's the current price of steel? Hapa kuna mtu anakula!
eduu
#2 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 5:19:07 PM

I thought some cop put a maximum speed limit of 50kph.
#3 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 5:43:06 PM

eduu wrote:
I thought some cop put a maximum speed limit of 50kph.

I've also heard of this recent development. I assure you this would be the shortest route to the grave. When you have those Githurai buses driving behind you [at night] at 120km/h [forget Michuki rules] with full lights on [being flashed at you] and loud honking, lorries that look like they will never stop etc., you are better off driving as fast as possible to run away from the madness!

By the way is the new speed limit temporary or permanent?

1) [Permanently] Setting the speed limit of a super highway at 50km/h is total madness. That is the speed limit while driving inside a town. The speed limit for a highway [not even "super"] is 110km/h. Are they planning to change the law?

2) A few months ago, a senior cop who was being interviewed on TV said as a means to reduce accidents, they would fine drivers for under speeding on Thika road. Minimum speeds were to be set depending on sections and for some sections you were to be fined for driving below 100km/h! If you want to drive at such a speed [below 100km/h], you use the service lanes.

Now, which is which? Will motorists be fined for under speeding or over speeding?
#4 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 6:57:07 PM

the bumps were neccessary to curb deaths. Kenyan drivers only give way when forced. its temporary though I believe pedestrians will still be trying a rudisha instead of using the bridges

#5 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 9:16:16 PM

digitek1 wrote:
the bumps were neccessary to curb deaths. Kenyan drivers only give way when forced. its temporary though I believe pedestrians will still be trying a rudisha instead of using the bridges

I believe that too. I think the law should address this and those trying this should be arrested for endangering the lives of other road users
#6 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 8:23:25 AM

I heard about the 50km/h speed limit being imposed and was amazed at the way cops are approaching this issue like retards!A highway is a highway, let cops arrest those matatus that stop smack in the middle of the road to pick passengers, those are the real cause of accidents. + pedestrians who can't use the bridges even when they're finally finished
jhonie
#7 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 11:06:54 AM

The cops are are right, the supper highway has some speed limit signs which all of us tend to ignore or we do not pay attention to and thus the reasons for putting up those bumps
matata
#8 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 2:03:16 PM

They said the bumps r temporally. But I also wonder what rules we should obey. initially they had said anyone driving at less than 100kmph on the super highway will be arrested, now its 50kmph, so who is who??? I think the police should do their work en arrest the matatu for breaking the rules instead of taking bribes en encouraging them to break the rules coz watatoa kitu kidogo na waachiliwe.
#9 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 6:12:33 PM

I thought the speed limit has been imposed for as long as work is still on going on the highway. Imagine speeding at 100kph when certain sections have been blocked and since they keep moving those barriers the results can be disastrous.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 9:28:35 AM

I was horrified to find a Zebra crossing ( Yes a Zebra crossing) as I went down the Pangani- Muthaiga valley... Now who's 'bright idea was that??? to put a Zebra crossing 10 metres to the end of the depression! A place where you are sure that the big vehicles try to gain some speed ndio zipande the hil!!! Bruurry nugu thinking!!!!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 9:37:41 AM

I have no issue with the bumps as long as they are visible from far. Why is it taking them so long to mark that road?
Buster
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 10:31:45 AM

I have no issue with the bumps as long as they are visible from far. Why is it taking them so long to mark that road?

over 70% of the road has been marked but road/traffic signs hakuna kabisa!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 10:32:16 AM

That highway should be fenced on both sides with 4 metre high concrete slabs to prevent the neanderthals from crossing it at any point they so wish.
In the upper world all superhighways are fenced with concrete slabs.

Buster
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 11:56:48 AM

That highway should be fenced on both sides with 4 metre high concrete slabs to prevent the neanderthals from crossing it at any point they so wish.

Have you seen them at KU? There is a crossing bridge constructed just a few metres away but none of them use it.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 12:35:05 PM

Buster wrote:

Have you seen them at KU? There is a crossing bridge constructed just a few metres away but none of them use it.

Even with the bumps, people are trying their best not to cross next to the bumps. You slow down because of the bumps only to find fellows 10, 20, 30 metres away trying to be Rudisha!!!

But I have to give it to drivers on Jogoo road. The pedestrians on that road must be high 24/7.

You are driving down Jogoo road and a pedestrian "uses common sense" and decides not to compete with the vehicles. He decides not to cross and stands nicely on the side of the road. A few seconds later, just when you are about to reach him, he decides he should have crossed after all - you are taking too long! He pulls one hell of a rudisha just a few metres from you - maybe less - and you have to pull off all your driving skills to postpone his trip to meet his maker! A short while later, the episode is repeated again - Especially between City Stadium and Uhuru market/Uchumi area. Evenings are the worst!
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 1:59:45 PM

Buster wrote:

Even with the bumps, people are trying their best not to cross next to the bumps. You slow down because of the bumps only to find fellows 10, 20, 30 metres away trying to be Rudisha!!!

But I have to give it to drivers on Jogoo road. The pedestrians on that road must be high 24/7.

You are driving down Jogoo road and a pedestrian "uses common sense" and decides not to compete with the vehicles. He decides not to cross and stands nicely on the side of the road. A few seconds later, just when you are about to reach him, he decides he should have crossed after all - you are taking too long! He pulls one hell of a rudisha just a few metres from you - maybe less - and you have to pull off all your driving skills to postpone his trip to meet his maker! A short while later, the episode is repeated again - Especially between City Stadium and Uhuru market/Uchumi area. Evenings are the worst!

Woe unto you if your driving antiques fail. You will be branded a Killer by the journalists ..... Very very sad indeed. I even find people who walk or ride with their back to traffic. Who the hell is supposed to take care of you? Your safety is your responsibility first then everyones'!!!!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 2:30:06 PM

highways should not have bumps or zebra crossing at all that's why it's a highway. Let pedestrians be arrested and fined for crossing on the highway.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 5:14:21 PM

whoever designed this road and approved it in the ministry of roads is usrely an idiotic engineer...ama it was a chinese engineer?
there is no acceleration lane on the highway as you leave the service lanes...so you can imagine somewhere like this place immediately after Roysambu where you are busy joining the highway towards Thika and a 30 ton truck is doing 120km/h is descending from the high point of the overpass...Sad Sad