wazua Sat, Jan 3, 2026

Kenyan Elections the MOST EXPENSIVE in the World!!
#1 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 2:05:47 PM

Research has shown that Kenya has the highest per capita cost on elections in the world by far. Below is a table showing the per capita expenditure on elections for different countries in the world!

Kenya - $25 (Kshs. 2,000/= plus per voter!)
US & Western European countries - Between $1 and $3
Chile - $1.2
Costa Rica - $1.8
Brazil - $2.3
Ghana - $0.7
Uganda - $3.7

Judge Johan Kriegler and his commission stated that the Sh19.4 billion used for the 2007 election was TOO HIGH even for countries that are straight out of a war and recommended that going forward, this amount should be REDUCED!!! And what does our "smart" IEBC and their chair do? They double the amount!!!

And where does this money go? Here are examples:

1) Orders for 334 polling booths placed in January 1998, while elections had taken place in December 1997.

2) Sh110 million for T-shirts that were never used during the 2007 election - probably the T-shirts never existed to begin with!

3) Sitting allowance - One analysis showed there were claims for sitting allowance for 365 days in one year. That means the commissioners were meeting every day!!!

4) "Continuous voter registration process" - which figures show registers only 2% of voters.

We need to stand up as Kenyans and DEMAND for answers! When you have time just sit down and calculate how much tax you pay in a month - both directly and indirectly - and you will see why you should be ONE PISSED OFF KENYAN!!!

Link: Nchi ya Kitu Kikubwa
#2 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 3:05:25 PM

*sobs sobs*
Zenge
#3 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 3:52:08 PM

Just when we thought we had a very smart team to guide our electrol process.
Stealing from all corners at this particular period. I even wonder what will be left after the polls. We should all brace for the mother of all economic depressions after 2013 i tell you!
QW25091985
#4 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 4:02:41 PM

Zenge wrote:
Just when we thought we had a very smart team to guide our electrol process.
Stealing from all corners at this particular period. I even wonder what will be left after the polls. We should all brace for the mother of all economic depressions after 2013 i tell you!

i had also allot of faith in the team !
#5 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 5:28:09 PM

so sad.why are the hr activist?
#6 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 6:09:38 PM

Research has shown that Kenya has the highest per capita cost in the world by far. Below is a table showing the per capita expenditure for different countries in the world!

Kenya - $25 (2000/= plus per voter!)US & Western European countries - Between $1 and $3
Chile - $1.2
Costa Rica - $1.8
Brazil - $2.3
Ghana - $0.7
Uganda - $3.7

Judge Johan Kriegler and his commission stated that the Sh19.4 billion used for the 2007 election was TOO HIGH even for countries that are straight out of a war and recommended that going forward, this amount should be REDUCED!!! And what does our "smart" IEBC and their chair do? They double the amount!!!

And where does this money go? Here are examples:

1) Orders for 334 polling booths placed in January 1998, while elections had taken place in December 1997.

2) Sh110 million for T-shirts that were never used during the 2007 election - probably the T-shirts never existed to begin with!

3) Sitting allowance - One analysis showed there were claims for sitting allowance for 365 days in one year. That means the commissioners were meeting every day!!!

4) "Continuous voter registration process" - which figures show registers only 2% of voters.

We need to stand up as Kenyans and DEMAND for answers! When you have time just sit down and calculate how much tax you pay in a month - both directly and indirectly - and you will see why you should be ONE PISSED OFF KENYAN!!!

Link: Nchi ya Kitu Kikubwa

I thot once you are registered as a citizen thats it, What i understood was that there will be no additional cards apart from the National ID?
#7 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 6:11:12 PM

*sobs sobs*

Wazua admin should provide more smilies to express our sorrow .. smile
#8 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 7:41:35 PM

*sobs sobs*

Wazua admin should provide more smilies to express our sorrow .. smile

Dash
#9 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2012 8:16:03 PM

Seriously what more can be said? Kila siku something new. Vote new leaders sawa, what will make them different? I am really losing faith. The main change I know I can make is teach my children not to have insatiable (sp?) greed that I have noticed as Kenyans we have and lack of respect for law and order.It clearly starts with us.
faa
#10 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 7:30:53 AM

IEBC demanding 31B is outright theft. Even their simple maths do not add up.

That's why they revised it from 41B.

Shame on IEBC leaders. May they not get away with their dubious schemes
#11 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 12:26:18 PM

31B is outright theft. Even their simple maths do not add up.

I prefer calling it Diplomatic theft.This is how I suspect they do it.
First they come up with the right budget of say 25B. This covers all the costs.

But an'eating allowance' must be added thereby pushing the original budget up to say 31B.
Now they aren't stupid and know that people will make noise over this figure.
So they come up with a 'noise allowance' thereby pushing the budget to a high of 41B.

When the noise start,the budget is slashed back to 31B.
By so doing one is hoodwinked into believing they have done something worthwhile and we celebrate.
Truth is they have not lost a thing since the eating allowance still stands.

It is well with my soul.
#12 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 2:09:07 PM

31B is outright theft. Even their simple maths do not add up.

I prefer calling it Diplomatic theft.This is how I suspect they do it.
First they come up with the right budget of say 25B. This covers all the costs.

But an'eating allowance' must be added thereby pushing the original budget up to say 31B.
Now they aren't stupid and know that people will make noise over this figure.
So they come up with a 'noise allowance' thereby pushing the budget to a high of 41B.

When the noise start,the budget is slashed back to 31B.
By so doing one is hoodwinked into believing they have done something worthwhile and we celebrate.
Truth is they have not lost a thing since the eating allowance still stands.

It is well with my soul.

Nice one.

I know this is not a laughing matter because those are my taxes [and yours] but your take is funny but most probably true!

Why do we let these punks steal our money like that while we watch? When will we get angry enough? I hope it is soon!
#13 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 2:30:51 PM

but your take is probably true!

Why do we let these punks steal our money like that while we watch? When will we get angry enough? I hope it is soon!

I got no evidence but if you have done biz with greedy people you will discover their tactics.
Even when negotiating a contract,people have their asses *read extras* well covered first.
They will then proceed to top it up with a tentative amount, which they don't mind losing since they don't need it.
After all they have already taken care of themselves.
That 'tentative figure' is aimed at provoking you to complain so that they can slash it back to the former.*hoodwink* and you are left thinking that you have striked a good deal!
I don't know if reverse psychology works this way but it's my guess.
I throw something negative at you,stir up a negative reaction,that causes me to act in a way that will make you appreciate me more.

The speed at which they moved to slash the 41b made me suspect.

#14 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 4:19:10 PM

Their budget should be audited by a reputable firm and any numbers that don't make sense should be cut down.
#15 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 5:39:22 PM

Their budget should be audited by a reputable firm and any numbers that don't make sense should be cut down.

And those no.which don't make sense end up as payment to the reputable firm for services rendered.
Anybody investigating'stolen cash' ends up being a bigger thief than those being investigated.

It's a man eat man society we have created.
When one is exposed to too much scandal and corruption everyday,2 things happen.

1.They become immune and care less,developing a so what attitude.
2.They smell a rat in every deal/project/move.

I belong to category 2.Sad
#16 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2012 9:24:53 PM

The elections will be more expensive than Thika Road...do we really want this?
#17 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 10:54:00 AM

The elections will be more expensive than Thika Road...do we really want this?

We should be building a Thika Road every five years and then we get the Ugandans to manage our elections at 1/8th of what these fellows are proposing! And that's just because Uganda is our next door neighbour. We could save more if we wanted! There are countries which do it at only 4% of our cost. No other country in the world spends even 50% of what we spend per voter! If we pick ANY RANDOM country, we save more than 50%!!!
Dash
#18 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 11:01:04 AM

wilyum
#19 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 11:04:13 AM

n wot happens now tht treasurey promised only 17B?
Treasury officials have made their case for Sh17.5 billion, terming the IEBC request excessive.

rink
Sigiriri
#20 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 4:41:15 PM

how much are they spending on one ballot box for example?