wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

Where in Canada?
Mshindi
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 11:49:32 AM

Dear Wazuans,

I am in the final stages of processing Canadian Permanent residency and will be relocating with my family in near future. I am now thinking of where to settle down in Canada (not Quebec.

Anyone in Canada, which are the best places to live there? Better weather (not too cold),Low crime rate,availability of jobs are some of my priorities.

You constructive contributions are highly appreciated.Pray
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:07:55 PM

Mshindi wrote:
Dear Wazuans,

I am in the final stages of processing Canadian Permanent residency and will be relocating with my family in near future. I am now thinking of where to settle down in Canada (not Quebec.

Anyone in Canada, which are the best places to live there? Better weather (not too cold),Low crime rate,availability of jobs are some of my priorities.

Are u relocating as Miguna-Miguna did or u got some job there?

Thiong'o
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:13:32 PM

@Mshindi, @abroaduni -might know!
Atalaku
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:50:22 PM

Another factor you may want to consider is a place where your arse and that of your children will not be kicked every time by those white racists.
- And for God's sake why would you want to relocate? Kenya is so good. People are coming back home. Think again. You can go there for good education you/spouse and children's good education. Nyama choma huko haina ladha.
Mshindi
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 3:05:53 PM

@Atalaku, completely agree with you. Education for children is the main motivation. After that we are back home pap! The things we do for our kids!d'oh!

waiting to hear from @abroaduni and others...
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 3:18:06 PM

bure kabisa!!!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 4:06:03 PM

Mshindi wrote:

@Atalaku, completely agree with you. Education for children is the main motivation. After that we are back home pap! The things we do for our kids!d'oh!

waiting to hear from @abroaduni and others...

Kama ni masomo ya watoto inafanya wewe uhame Kenya then I ditto @Kingfisher above.
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 4:09:27 PM

@Mshindi, remember also that in Canada their are french-speaking and english-speaking regions...unless of course French isn't a problem.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 4:15:28 PM

try seschangwan
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 4:33:39 PM

digitek1 wrote:
try seschangwan

hii ni ile sachang'wan pahali watu walikuwa wanachota mafuta?????d'oh! d'oh!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 4:36:50 PM

chemos wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
try seschangwan

Its Saskatchewan!

Dash
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 5:47:50 PM

Mshindi wrote:
Dear Wazuans,

In Canada? Huwsmek. It is guaranteed.
QW25091985
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 5:54:00 PM

LOL> i thought @impnity was relocating to canada and kenya willnot have impunity again !
mwendiuthaka
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 6:13:49 PM

A good bet for jobs is alberta.more jobs than applicants.DOWNSIDE-----winter kali sanaSad .Good luck though and don't let weather discourage you.Kenyans can be found in even anchorage alaska(usa)where it gets even colder than alberta canada
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 7:06:20 PM

chemos wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
try seschangwan

ROFLMAO Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Canada is not a bad place if you can vumilia cold. There are racists everywhere just as we have tribalists in Kenya.

Wakanyugi
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 7:49:39 PM

There are no 'warm' places in Canada. But if avoiding the cold is top of your list, try Vancouver, BC - you'll get constant rain though.

For plenty jobs, Alberta and Saskatchewan are the places to go. For a multicultural mix, and where you'll find most Kenyan's, Toronto is the place.

If you want to raise a family, or to retire, Canada is the place. However if you want to make money and avoid high taxes go to the US.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 8:00:29 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
There are no 'warm' places in Canada. But if avoiding the cold is top of your list, try Vancouver, BC - you'll get constant rain though.

For plenty jobs, Alberta and Saskatchewan are the places to go. For a multicultural mix, and where you'll find most Kenyan's, Toronto is the place.

If you want to raise a family, or to retire, Canada is the place. However if you want to make money and avoid high taxes go to the US.

Please elaborate that red part, I thought low taxes are only found in the Middle East?
d'oh! d'oh!

mwendiuthaka
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 9:35:24 PM

Taxes in canada are VERY high so as to support the many social services they provide i.e almost free medical for all.
Mshindi
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 10:26:21 PM

A place with fellow Kenyans sounds good,Toronto is definitely on my list.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 8:53:07 AM

Toronto, Misissauga, Brampton, Scarborough...all good areas for immigrants.

There is nowhere warm in Canada.

There is also little to no racism there, given almost 50% of the population are immigrants.

Its a nice safe place to live, if you dont mind hard work and cold weather. The infrastructure works, all year round.

GST and other taxes are higher than the US though, but I think there is some medicare program so that balances it out.