wazua Sun, Jun 28, 2026

12 Pages«<23456>»
Kibaki's Legacy
#31 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 4:39:15 PM

kyt wrote:
unfortunately for the county comissioners, they were appointed and kibaki goofed big time. where will they even be situated? no offices, nothing. mavi ya kuku.

I thought he'd have learnt after goofing with the Kilokumi appointments etc...that would have been a turning point so that people are employed through vetted merit
#32 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 5:06:01 PM

@nostop Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so now the roads were not part of what Kibaki planned to do but were Railas original plan. Kibaki also never intended to have free primary education, vision 2030, revived parastatals etc. He just planned to have high inflation, corruption, tribal appointments etc? Laughing out loudly hii yako imepita ya Ababu na Aringo! Laughing out loudly
#33 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 5:32:39 PM

Tebes wrote:
faa wrote:
President Kibaki is a good president. He is the best Kenya has ever had so far.

The revival of key parastatals like KCC and KMC has really helped the rural folk

His style of politics is also great. You do learn a lot from him

The KCC???

They buy milk from the farmers at 25/= per litre and then sell at retail price of ksh. 90/=

NKTest!

Kwani you expect them to sell at a loss? Do u think the milk in packs is just like that which comes direct from a cow? Think
#34 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 5:36:39 PM

We can only judge kibaki on the terms that he said he had to deliver.

1. Free primary edu
2. Infrastructure (Roads, airports, fibre optic,)
3. Corruption - Here things are bananas
4. New constitution
5. i cant remember the 5th
kollabo
#35 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 6:22:15 PM

We can only judge kibaki on the terms that he said he had to deliver.

1. Free primary edu
2. Infrastructure (Roads, airports, fibre optic,)
3. Corruption - Here things are bananas
4. New constitution
5. i cant remember the 5th

His promise (joke) about the 500,000 ghost jobs per year. I think he fulfilled that..
slickyoz
#36 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 9:03:06 PM

Tebes wrote:
faa wrote:
President Kibaki is a good president. He is the best Kenya has ever had so far.

The revival of key parastatals like KCC and KMC has really helped the rural folk

His style of politics is also great. You do learn a lot from him

The KCC???

They buy milk from the farmers at 25/= per litre and then sell at retail price of ksh. 90/=

NKTest!

Kwani you expect them to sell at a loss? Do u think the milk in packs is just like that which comes direct from a cow? Think

Those who follow the crowd usually get lost in it
#37 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 9:38:24 PM

Will remember his sense of humour and name calling.
Moi was funny but you wouldn't dare laugh or make fun of his jokes.

chiaroscuro
#38 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 7:39:43 AM

Tebes wrote:

The KCC???

NKTest!

Would you have preferred that it remained dead?
#39 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 8:34:27 AM

I honestly think he was looking for merit in his appointments - his so called tribal appointments did a wonderful job, I would not mind if all positions were filled by a single tribe as long as they deliver.
For me the biggest failure is in his handling of the violence in 07 and 08

Just think of the dozens of well educated Luos, Kurias, Swahili, Borana etc being by passed as someone from Mt Kenya got a big job as PS or head of parastatal.

You cannot just ignore the impact of this on national unity. It easily gave fodder to the twin fires of ODM popularity and ethnic hatred that almost ground this country to a halt in 2007.

You cannot just be good on the economic front and hope people will be happy with whoever you give positions to. You've got to be fair or at least appear fair!!

We have Luo, Swahili, Luhya, Kamba ... PS's and heads of parastatals - its not as if all senior positions are heald by people from a certain community, just the ones that appear vital. All over the world those who win elections give the most important dockets to individuals they trust.
I would have an issue if those individuals were not qualified.
If RAO or Mudavadi or whoever becomes president gave vital positions to people he trusts as long as they are qualified, I woudn't see any big deal in that.

national unity is always messed by politicians not appointments.

Well I would rather have a good economy than appear to have fairness, coz there will always be complaints - If I have a market for my produce and I buy fuel at an affordable price, If my family security is guaranteed and my children have a good education ....
then I don't care about the tribes of the people making it happen.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 8:37:31 AM

kyt wrote:
unfortunately for the county comissioners, they were appointed and kibaki goofed big time. where will they even be situated? no offices, nothing. mavi ya kuku.

DC's offices, a good number of them are DC's.
12 Pages«<23456>»