wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

NMG Closes 'Daily Metro' is BD next?
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 11:48:00 AM

Finally,after months of losses,NMG closed down the Daily Metro last Friday. The paper could not keep up with the Nairobi Star.

Business Daily is also facing the same problem. My vendor stopped ordering the paper last month after the last regular customer stopped buying it.

In the face of global financial crisis,isn't it time this publication was also closed down? Or perhaps a re-think of the marketing strategy?

Same fate might follow NTV and Easy FM....they are also not meeting targets.
Here is an interesting research study for those undertaking MBAs:

NMG survives on the strength of it's flagship newspaper - without it,the company is worthless. The broadcast divisions are loss-makers.....

SGL survives on the strength of it's broadcast division,it's newspaper division is struggling to stay afloat.

Interesting contrast,isn't it?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 11:57:00 AM

I think NMG bought out The Weekly Advertiser and made it Daily Metro? The Weekly Advertiser concept was doing so well (why else did NMG buy it?) so why did they change the formulae?

Since the NMG and SGL are complementary,should they merge?

What about NMG's operations in Ug and Tz,are they struggling too?
Ruchwarsteve
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:00:00 PM

Heard that Daily Metro is no more. Kwa nini?

RUCHWARSTEVE -super surfing
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:10:00 PM

Yes; NMG bought the weekly advertiser many years ago. The previous owners were making good money running it as a strictly advertising paper with no stories.

Then NMG took it over and started running stories....advertising revenue went down,staff costs went up (reporters,editors etc) and in a few moths,it became a loss-maker.

The kept running it that way for a few years and then Pat Quarcoo started his Nairobi Star. Initially this was printed at the NMG printing press. They watched the print runs and realised there is money to be made.

In one week,they changed the Weekly Advertiser into the Daily Metro -same editors,same reporters plus some additions. Costs went higher,circulation came tumbling down..and with it advertising revenue disappeared all together.

And before they knoew it,Quarcoo bought himself a printing press....thus the printing revenue from the Star also dried up.
xtina
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:12:00 PM

Jammo wanted to launch an investment magazine. Is he reading this? I mean about the BD situation? Competition is struggling....

If that boy don't love you by now,then he never will-Ciara
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:14:00 PM

Wacha mchezo!

I posted an answer to your question 12 minutes BEFORE you asked it.

Kwani huangalii current threads?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:28:00 PM

Apparently,BD was started when NMG heard that South Africa's Business Day was planning to launch in Kenya....a strategic move,they said,to make life difficult for the South Africans. Now guess whose life is more difficult?

Nonetheless,I think I can turn that paper around!!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:39:00 PM

@Mukiha

I think they had the wrong target group or wrong material for their target group. For 20bob it targeted the low income earners and the content therein,one would be forgiven to think it was intended for the group not looking for anything serious in the newspaper. Now,the low earner will not waste his precious 20bob for useless info. he'd rather stand at the vendor's kiosk for an hour to read the DN or TS instead. If you now add color on all pages,you are just adding more cost into it which does not match the returns.

They just jumped into price war with the NS without proper strategy wit price being the only competitive advantage.

Problem with NMG is that they are reactors.
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
sheep
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:11:00 PM

With a p/e of 14 its still one of the most overvalued counters on the nse.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:14:00 PM

First step is to totally divorce BD from the [Daily] Nation....remove its office from Nation Centre to some leased premises,give it separate admin staff,etc. Then give some seed capital let it swim alone.

If it can survive,well and good. if it cannot,still well and good!
fantony
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:25:00 PM

Instead of encouraging enterprise. The bloody idiots are spreading panic everyday by telling people that there is a recession. Can't the bloody lazy writers (no journalists there) stop copy pasting american articles and attempting weak contextualisation of the Kenyan environment.

Close.

May you all at BD get fired. Thats the recession for you.
jammo
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 6:08:00 PM

...quit buyin the paper...at 50bob for news i knew a whole day earlier it was a reap off!

DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 6:48:00 PM

am I the only person living in Nairobi who never bought this 'magazine'.. saw it once and the cover page was all coloured with a picture of some 'cheap'idol..white ofcourse!!!!,i love the decision that i made never to buy the damn thing.

by the way,the local TV prog`..whats up?

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 7:20:00 AM

Second Step: Re-think the distribution process...it is hard to convince the customer to buy two newspapers at a go. So,come up with a new way of distributing that does not compete with DN - E.g.,via subscription.

But having said that...and remembering that BD was probably started as strategic move to bar SA's Business Day....it might make sense to leave BD in the streets. It's a classic Ries&Trout Marketing Warfare tactic...if you are the market leader and someone tries to enter your region,you introduce products that compete with your existing ones...that way the newcomer will be forced tp fight it out with your new product leaving your key product virtually unharmed....
xtina
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 7:21:00 AM

no offense eli,but hahahahahah!

If that boy don't love you by now,then he never will-Ciara
Sasha
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 8:11:00 AM

@mukiha

I'm no expert but I agree with step 1! Wouldn't it, though,be more prudent to first reconsider the target readership as indicated by Wendz as step 2? I was of the opinion that sales were bad because of the content of the paper.

@mlefu

We are many! I've never even opened that paper!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
sukuma
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 8:47:00 AM

Actually some analysts feel that the folding up of the Daily Metro was inevitable since it was founded for the sole purpose of countering Radio Africa’s Nairobi Star and forcing them out of publication. It is said that circulation marketers at the Nation felt that despite the fact that the Nairobi Star was targeted at a more specific audience it would eat up on the flag ship Daily Nation’s circulation considerably—if not immediately then definitely in the long term. Whether this is true or not,the fact remains that the Nation has remained at the top because of being highly sensitive to new entrants and possible competition. And the media house has never hesitated to play dirty whenever the need has arisen.

The demise of the Daily Metro has less to do with the current financial downturn and more to do with the way things are run at the Nation. Insiders insist that the giant company is facing a very challenging financial time that has more to do with how quickly the media industry in Kenya has changed. For instance a few years ago Daily newspapers carried the vast majority of advertising spend in the country. Today radio is king. Now this change is significant here because Nation’s flagship and main cash cow is and has always been the Daily Nation newspaper. And although the media group has a radio station or two,there are a number of new kids on the block who have a bigger market share and understand the medium much better. Top on this list is Radio Africa whose Classic FM and Kiss FM lead the roost for English listeners.

Added- on the pipeline KissfmDaily to be launched soon

sk lady
albertross
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 9:23:00 AM

Well reality is hitting them,this was a paper that was not going to last. About the only people who read it were the guys who stop at the vendors and read for free.

As for the Nairobi Star that is another paper that is headed the same way,once the novelty of the publication wears out.

Thinking is free...............so THINK!!
kizee
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 10:59:00 AM

yea...BD..those guys need to get a clue...theyve interviewed me a couple of times and totally butchered what i said...i ahd to resort to emailing my answers to them to avoid them from putiing words in my mouth...in addition they dont realy do any journalism but copy and paste articles......the storys they do actually cover are shallow...i think they need to get more seasoned business journalists on board
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 12:43:00 PM

...what do you expect when you poach editors from The Standard?