wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Zain Internet is on Steroids today!!!!!!!!!!
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:34:00 PM

Who gave the Zain internet connection steroids?

We; Inakimbia leo! Wacha tu
sheep
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:56:00 PM

@seles.....pimia hii watu bandwith asap!!!!!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Seles83
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 2:50:00 PM

I am on it!!

Failure inspires winners...winners are made not born
More monies, more problems...
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 6:03:00 PM

by the way iko poa!!
eli
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 8:06:00 PM

Thumbs Up Zain! I guess we should give a thumbs up to where its due,right?

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
deadmau5
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 9:08:00 PM

But jana (Tue) it was dragging,on and off etc!
Yenyewe leo its on Bolt mode!!
Jaguar
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 10:09:00 PM

just decided to test it out of curiosity... its jumping!! Its on fire!....its too expensive for the prepaid user!!
If they Introduce 500MB bundle @ KES 1000/,i'll dump my safcom data simcard in the 1st week of may>>>PS:to all zain marketers on SK,please do not recommend for me the unlimited postpaid package @4k because i can't afford it
reithi
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 8:37:00 AM

Allow me to burst the bubble.

The speeds have been great since mid March but starting last week,maybe due increased connections,it is now extremely slow.

Bandwidthplace.com test result before this post was 1.2Kbps.

reithi
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 9:56:00 AM

@reith; not in my neck of the woods. Last month was slightly below average speed. Then yesterday,some one gave it some steroids and it started hitting 15kBps...this morning between 8 and 9 I was downloading a heavy file...the thing was averaging 24kBps.....
daimyo
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 3:05:00 PM

u guys are unbelieveable......ati averaging 24kbps,this is soooo 1994...not that av been paid to advertise safcom,but why would u give up 3g to work on a lousy edge connection.....me i average 300plus kbps on the 3g modem...difference is that am on 3g...(really big difference!)..u need to stay with technology...seeing as u guys all look tech savvy..

hakuna kitu mpya chini ya hii jua...
Jaguar
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 5:57:00 PM

300KB/s can only be achieved at 3am in the morning if you climb to the top of the base station with your laptop or pc. The speed is usually between 50-60KB/s during prk hours and 120-180KB/s during offpeak. On edge the speed is 18-25KB/s
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 9:38:00 PM

Are you sitting on MJ's lap in safCON tower?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
kagz
#13 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 3:44:00 AM

is just me but my evdo speeds are fantabuluos.i mean very very fast

snk
adept
#14 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:19:00 AM

I don't think anyone disputes that safcom is faster. We all know about 3G and edge technology. But you pay for that 80kbps thru' your nose and ears.
#15 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:42:00 AM

safCON is running slow... 3G... no way,jose at the moment... and you also pay thru the a**e... lakini Zain missed out on the 3G aspect... by the time Zain gets in safCON will have amassed a huge clientele...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#16 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 5:59:00 AM

A few moths ago,some SCOM guys came to my office to do a demo of their 3G. It turned out as slow as Zain's EDGE at the time!!

They agreed with me that there was no need to change!!

I think that SCOM 3G is seriously over-rated.....just like those funny music systems that claim to produce thousands of watts of music,yet everybody knows that that is nonsense!
Mr Green
#17 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 8:39:00 AM

I have been on Zain for 5 months,i have been averaging 460kbps,actually this period you declare it been on steroids has been quite a drag,especially last week,infact as time goes by its getting worse.
But just a heads up on the advantage i have is that i am near a mast and lastly is that i use my phone as modem. Most phones have faster speeds that the zain modem.

When written in Chinese,the word crisis is composed of two
characters. One represents danger and the other represents
opportunity.
In every game and con there is always a victim and there is always an opponent. It’s good to know when you are the former so you can become the latter.
Seles83
#18 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 9:42:00 AM

Hi,Safcom 3 G is awesome....the max speeds is currently 14mbps...available in selected areas like safcom offices currently on tests...limitations being on backhauling and Transmission requirements...for stationary speeds 3.2mbps is max limit and 484 mbps for non stationary....again to achieve you need to ask safcom to the max speeds to your profile....

Achieving 460 kbps on any edge network is possible but most modems have limitation 230kbps on edge networks

Seles83
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 5:19:00 AM

My bad.....i meant 484 kpbps

Seles83
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 5:47:00 AM

@Aftermath:-

Currently Safcom can’t do 14mbps or 7mbps because they don’t have that license from the vendor,as far as I know they are evaluating the feature. Safaricom are charging crazy because they need to recoup their capex before zain or yu have their own 3G….on this part they are on track.

Biggest bottlenecks of 3 G technology:-

-Coverage/Pilot pollutions and Number of Data users- for those guys using 3 G you may find sometimes you are using EDGE instead of 3G simply because as the number of users increase,the coverage shrinks and decrease in speeds and quality for 3G calls.

-Transmission requirements,to achieve those crazy speeds transmission requirements are so high…..this means more monies to CCK or Fiber operator like KDN or Telkom.

-GIUs interfaces…Most users don’t know how to increase their TCP/IP window to achieve max speeds.

-Data cards- Most users blindly buy data cards without checking specs on data cards…Most Data cards in market now are based on RAN Rel 99 which 3.2mbps is max,to achieve 7.2 or 14mbps the same user has to buy another data card.

-License requirements from the vendor- addition of more resources is controlled by vendor at RNC level….the cheaper option is to optimise resources based user data requirements