wazua Sat, Mar 1, 2025

Traffic ammendment bill.....chida iko
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 4:02:57 PM

Please take note that the Traffic Amendment Bill 2012 (attached ) was Gazetted on 23rd March 2012. In brief, the amendments are:

* Number plates - When you sell your vehicle, you should surrender the number plates to the registrar of motor vehicles and when you fail to renew the insurance, remember to surrender the number plates to the registrar otherwise you risk being arrested and fined.

* Overlapping - Driving on pavement or through a petrol station to avoid traffic- You risk a fine of Ksh 30,000 or 3 months imprisonment or BOTH

* Over speeding - when you over speed- You risk a fine of Ksh 10,000 or 3 months imprisonment or Both

* PSV operators - Should adhere to the uniforms and Michuki rules

* Motor Cycle operators - ONE PASSENGER only and the passenger and driver must be in reflective vests and helmets- otherwise you risk a fine of ksh 10,000 and in default 12 months imprisonment

Kindly see the attached amendments with all the details.

1. Life imprisonment for persons convicted of causing death by dangerous driving - giving it the same status as murder

2. Road blocks are to be gazette prior to being mounted by the police

3. Driving licenses of speed limit violators shall be suspended for not less than 3 years if the person has exceeded speed limit by more than 10 kph and if offence is repeated 3 or more times.

4. Mandatory eye test every 3 years for licensed drivers. And if you fail the test the license is withdrawn.

5. All law enforcement officers are now effectively mandated to deal with traffic issues with the abolition of the Traffic Department under the Kenya Police Service Act.Â

http://xa.yimg.com/kq/gr...mentBill2012+%281%29.pdf
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 4:46:24 PM

If I overlapped through petrol station, then ask the attendant if they have fortified gas (Petrol+ethanol) which I know they dont have then proceed and exit ahead of traffick at the other end how will police tell that I was overlapping?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

livie
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 5:17:13 PM

when you fail to renew the insurance, remember to surrender the number plates to the registrar otherwise you risk being arrested and fined.

if i just want to park the car without using it,why should i give up my plates?

in any case i can only use it when it has insurance...
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
Blackberry
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 5:27:01 PM

If I overlapped through petrol station, then ask the attendant if they have fortified gas (Petrol+ethanol) which I know they dont have then proceed and exit ahead of traffick at the other end how will police tell that I was overlapping?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Applause Applause Applause Applause tru dat most of these clauses do not make sense. is it authentic?
one wonders who the architects of the bill are. do they even have a drivers license? ya miaka migapi? wapewe certificate of good conduct kwanza

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#5 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 5:32:17 PM

Blackberry wrote:
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Applause Applause Applause Applause tru dat most of these clauses do not make sense. is it authentic?
one wonders who the architects of the bill are. do they even have a drivers license? ya miaka migapi? wapewe certificate of good conduct kwanza

The laws were drafted probably by a fat cop while while having peer and watching football in a par!
Completely nonsensical if you ask me.
Shame on you

QW25091985
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 6:11:15 PM

Gai kwani are we in the arab emirates ? . what kind of laws are these ?
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 6:49:28 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
Gai kwani are we in the arab emirates ? . what kind of laws are these ?

What are some of the Arb Emirates laws you see awkward Mr?

#8 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 7:05:38 PM

they got those laws straight from massachussets. Just the fines were changed.
itz
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 7:58:25 PM

A good start with progressive ideas borrowed from US states.At least the conversation is taking place.I know that the final bill will not be close to the above recommendation,it will be watered down but this is progress in the right direction.Individuals have to start taking personal responsibility.It is the only way we can have sanity back on the crazy kenyan roads.
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 8:35:10 PM

@ itz the solution is not more laws but enforcement. even the ones we have. for example michuki laws. what we need is behavior change and proper enforcement.
you can legislate all you want but mats will still overlap and bribe
murenj
#11 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 8:54:44 AM

digitek1 wrote:
@ itz the solution is not more laws but enforcement. even the ones we have. for example michuki laws. what we need is behavior change and proper enforcement.
you can legislate all you want but mats will still overlap and bribe

most motorists are ignorant about the traffiic actt
#12 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 9:54:03 AM

[quote=McReggae]

5. All law enforcement officers are now effectively mandated to deal with traffic issues with the abolition of the Traffic Department under the Kenya Police Service Act.Â

http://xa.yimg.com/kq/gr...entBill2012+%281%29.pdf[/quote]

The policemen must be grinning from ear to ear. They will be leaving the OB desk straight to our roads to "enforce the law". Pray Pray Pray Pray

Kenyans now have more tummies to feed and sustain.
jamplu
#13 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 10:21:32 AM

what if a police just decides to book you for overlapping when you were not overlapping?
subzero
#14 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 11:46:21 AM

just as Jamplu put it,

In kenya, it doesnt really matter what the law says because

1. The cop can decide to charge you with anything and you don't have a choice
2. For now, the instant fine method (Bribe) is still the most logical way out for both cop and offender

We have only addressed one part of the problem, the prescribed punishments .
One day when we are sure that all offenders will follow the path of justice , this laws might start making sense
#15 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 12:10:04 PM

@McReggae - You forgot one.

6.) Being overtaken by a lady driven Vitz - Fine 25,000/= or 3 months driving a Probox or both!
#16 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 12:15:15 PM

@McReggae - You forgot one.

6.) Being overtaken by a lady driven Vitz - Fine 25,000/= or 3 months driving a Probox or both!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause
maligumu
#17 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 4:11:34 PM

The architect of this bill who i understand is Jackal Mdw could have done better than cut and paste . Wacha ODM wanyakue sirkal tutakipatapata .

Peace be with you
#18 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 4:52:28 PM

Has this thing been debated and gazetted yet.. coz am seeing most company HRs writing to their staff saying that this thing is already LAW.. mimi nimepotea..
Iganamagana
#19 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 9:08:04 PM

I believe that with the right set of laws coupled with proper enforcement, we can easily get rid of the absence of manners on our roads. Make it really painful to break the road rules and motorists will behave (suspended licences, jail terms, exorbitant fines and community service will do just fine).

I am almost agreeing with Mukiha that the money committed to Thika road was a waste - What with the "Akili punguani" driving on the wrong side, slow drivers on the fast lanes and a police service with no clue on what the traffic code says? Thirty billion was enough to do something more sensible than make half of Nairobi spend an extra hour on Thika road. Who is the Nairobi traffic commandant and why is he still on a payroll?

Earlier this week, I asked some traffic cops why they were letting motorists driving on the wrong side of the road get away with murder and they looked as lost as village boys in down-town New York. When I told them that the errant motorists should at the very least be charged with attempted murder, they looked genuinely bewildered.Sad
callaspade
#20 Posted : Friday, November 02, 2012 7:57:11 AM

....ok guys the CIC has appended his signature.
have nice friday.

.......Mc Reggae.....phombe.....10 years or 500k or both(wait till you stand infront of Ombija or the bruised judges)
....impunity,simonkabz.....reckless driving.....same as above

......iko chida