wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

Apostrophes & quotation marks
#1 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 11:39:00 AM

Every time I type an apostrophe in a post,it appears as a quotation mark after uploading.

Thus my punctuation is messed up and the name Njung'e looks funny.....
#2 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 11:40:00 AM

same problem here.......see how Njung'e now looks!!!

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
The General
#3 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 11:41:00 AM

Are you in Ministry of Finance?

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
holycow
#4 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 11:58:00 AM

@ The General
LOL. Seems the computers belong to the Treasury.
'
Kamaa
#5 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 12:08:00 PM

lets see how the name njung'e will appear when i use inverted commas...

NJUNG'E

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Kamaa
#6 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 12:10:00 PM

kubaff it's not working....

@ njung'e

Can you change your name to njunge...

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#7 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 12:31:00 PM

@Kamaa,

Changing it to Njunge alters the meaning altogether........Sounds like 'Can i doze?'.............Before i give up,lemme make one more try....Njung'e.......I give up...!!
God gives,mugikuyu takes.
#8 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 12:45:00 PM

@All....How comes Njung'e appears ok as a post originator but corrupted once typed here?I will not be surprised if this Njung***e turns out to be UK..!!!

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

The Real Shaft
#9 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:05:00 PM

try putting it before the word....

'njunge...

bure kabisa...

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
brav
#10 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:08:00 PM

Solution A: Address Njung'e as guka or johnstone
Solution B: Don't talk about,to or refer to him... oh yeah refer to him as HIM.

Usichoke kutafuta salary
The General
#11 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:20:00 PM

@ Brav,going by the way your posts were repeating,looks like your already at the reception

patosh
#12 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:27:00 PM

What about this Njung’e,ooops sh**T

Always looking forward to excel
patosh
#13 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:36:00 PM

The computer does nt understand the apostrophe instead it places a symbol similar to a question mark to cover up for the apostrophe,but to avoid this follow up these simple instructions if symptom persist seek help from B.gates the man behind this innovation kudos.Type the word in Word package.
save the file using the 'Save As' command instead of the 'Save' command in the 'File' drop down menu.At the bottom of the 'Save As' window,under the box where you type in the file name,there's a drop down menu that says 'Save as Type:Choose Text Only. (If you save it as a Word document you will get the question marks.)
Now here's the trick... Close the document and open it again! If you just save and then cut and paste into the webpage you'll still get the question marks. You have to close the file and then open it to actually be in plain text.

n thats what we call experts in IT

The General
#14 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:41:00 PM

Njung’e Njung’e Njung’e

The General
#15 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:44:00 PM

@ Patosh,very smart...

We are sending you a cab to go fix things at Treasury.

We'll even throw in a life time membership in KANU

Oh...HBC ni yako

#16 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:49:00 PM

Patosh,

Argghhhhh....!!...Sawa but that procedure is too long......what am i supposed to do?..Print the procedure and hang on the wall??........You mean this thing cannot be erased with an eraser...?-:)

God gives,mugikuyu takes.
patosh
#17 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 1:57:00 PM

4 the meantime lets work with that procedure,your problem has been solved?? but it sounded challenging.

#18 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 3:00:00 PM

@ patosh,

your statement 'The computer does nt understand the apostrophe instead it places a symbol similar to a question mark to cover up for the apostrophe....' may not be accurate from the electronics point of view.

each and every character be it numerical or alphabetical is represented by a combination of binary numbers (0 or 1). Any letter or number that we type on the keyboard is encoded and transmitted into the microprocessor,as binary equivalents. unless the the two characters (the apostrophe and the quotation) have their binary representations interchanged in the SK servers i dont see the reason why they should be different from what we send from our PCs....just a thought.

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#19 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 6:23:00 PM

Njung''e damn.. Wanyur''u..aih These must be brothers!
jerry
#20 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 7:25:00 PM

Njung'e. So simple with a nokia 3110c. Just insert as a symbol!

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.