wazua Tue, May 6, 2025

12 Pages<12345>»
Konza City featured on K24 all week this week
#41 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 5:05:40 PM

we are back to the land issue....where are these Konza guys to steer us towards ICT?

You win!!!
a4architect.com
#42 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 5:05:42 PM

@Laughing out loudly..true. The only thing changing is the 999 Year lease. Also, the concept of all land belonging collectively to the people of Kenya come into play as in Kenyans will now lease the land to a foreigner i.e foreigner cant own freehold.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#43 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 5:35:16 PM

Konza is happening whle your still yapping yapping around like market women. Ndemo knows what the investors want and he is keen in giving his part of the bargain. Keep yapping Kenyans, the majority here have mastered the art to perfection.
a4architect.com
#44 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 5:39:12 PM

@ murchr..i have asked Ndemo @bantigito on twitter to help us with the answers since some of these queries raised here can only be answered by someone from Ministry of Info.

Clarification from Ministry of Info will assist us understand the project with more insight.
#45 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 5:50:22 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@ murchr..i have asked Ndemo @bantigito on twitter to help us with the answers since some of these queries raised here can only be answered by someone from Ministry of Info.

Clarification from Ministry of Info will assist us understand the project with more insight.

I have asked you severally if you have attended any of the conferences that he has organised you have never answered. Any major player in the ICT industry is really looking fwd to Konza and the opportunities that it will provide in terms of cheaper taxation capacity etc.

Companies like Google, Huawei are operating below capacity and some of their Africa services are being handled by India...why should we export jobs when we can do it with the right infrastructure and environment in place?

I think its time Kenyans thought big. The purpose of I-hub I- lab and the rest...is to nurture talent and soon all these tec -people in I-hub etc will be running companies with big contracts like Seven seas and for that to happen capacity is needed.
#46 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 5:54:22 PM

I think murchr is one sad fellow with communication issues.

No one here is saying that Konza will not work. In fact, everyone on Wazua and in Kenya wants it to work. If it goes with what Ndemo has said, it will be a wonder to behold.

But if we who are in the ICT industry are confused, please don't hate us. We have been bitten too many times by gov't so being sceptical is prudent.

My only concern is simple. Where is the ICT component in this? a4's is about the need to bring in Kenyan professionals. If this is too hard to swallow then welcome to the internet. Where ideas are thrashed until a solution is found.

I'm 100% sure that these questions have been asked before. Maybe the ministry will do us a favour and educate us a bit.

The idea is visionary, but we have a duty as Kenyans to tear it apart until they make the best thing that the world has ever seen.

On a final note murchr, you will be surprised to learn that market women have better communication skills than you will ever have in your lifetime. Even if you occupied the penthouse at Konza.
#47 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:01:13 PM

No one here is saying that Konza will not work. In fact, everyone on Wazua and in Kenya wants it to work. If it goes with what Ndemo has said, it will be a wonder to behold.

But if we who are in the ICT industry are confused, please don't hate us. We have been bitten too many times by gov't so being sceptical is prudent.

My only concern is simple. Where is the ICT component in this? a4's is about the need to bring in Kenyan professionals. If this is too hard to swallow then welcome to the internet. Where ideas are thrashed until a solution is found.

I'm 100% sure that these questions have been asked before. Maybe the ministry will do us a favour and educate us a bit.

The idea is visionary, but we have a duty as Kenyans to tear it apart until they make the best thing that the world has ever seen.

On a final note murchr, you will be surprised to learn that market women have better communication skills than you will ever have in your lifetime. Even if you occupied the penthouse at Konza.

If as its true you are in the IT industry, then you must be one disconnected fellow. Do your homework. The last time we met the PS. he gave a full analysis on the benefits of Konza and asked everyone who doesnt feel that the city suits him to remain in Nrb if they feel contented in the city. Alma, you need to know that people have various needs that may be different from yours.
a4architect.com
#48 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:04:29 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

I have asked you severally if you have attended any of the conferences that he has organised you have never answered. Any major player in the ICT industry is really looking fwd to Konza and the opportunities that it will provide in terms of cheaper taxation capacity etc.

Companies like Google, Huawei are operating below capacity and some of their Africa services are being handled by India...why should we export jobs when we can do it with the right infrastructure and environment in place?

I think its time Kenyans thought big. The purpose of I-hub I- lab and the rest...is to nurture talent and soon all these tec -people in I-hub etc will be running companies with big contracts like Seven seas and for that to happen capacity is needed.

@murchr..if the Ministry of info can put up info on where and when they have their next meeting, i can consider attending.
Also, if the Ministry of Info can upload more detailed content on the Konza site, i can update myself from there.
Since they have done none of the above, i have asked Ndemo to give us answers on this through twitter.
Like the major players in IT you have talked about, we would also like to get more detailed info on this project.

True..its time we thought big-its also time we engaged/assisted our policy makers with detailed info .

A long time ago, Kenyans took all info from policy makers hook,line and sinker. With the digital age, we have forums to air our views and ask the policy makers for clarifications .

All these is eventually aimed to ensure the policy makers get the best decisions for us tax payers.
a4architect.com
#49 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:15:34 PM

If as its true you are in the IT industry, then you must be one disconnected fellow. Do your homework. The last time we met the PS. he gave a full analysis on the benefits of Konza and asked everyone who doesnt feel that the city suits him to remain in Nrb if they feel contented in the city. Alma, you need to know that people have various needs that may be different from yours.

@murchr..relax..breath in...breath out....good!

No use bursting a vein on this issue...

The Ministry of Info is the only one that can answer some of these very technical questions unless you work for Ministry of Info.

All we want are clear unambiguous answers that are scientific and based on research.

Once we get these, it will help us shape our understanding of this project. As i said earlier on, the LAPSET,Lamu, Thika road projects are easy for any one to see their viability and payback.

For Konza, we can only ask the Ministry of Info for further clarification.
#50 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:16:00 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

@murchr..if the Ministry of info can put up info on where and when they have their next meeting, i can consider attending.
Also, if the Ministry of Info can upload more detailed content on the Konza site, i can update myself from there.
Since they have done none of the above, i have asked Ndemo to give us answers on this through twitter.
Like the major players in IT you have talked about, we would also like to get more detailed info on this project.

True..its time we thought big-its also time we engaged/assisted our policy makers with detailed info .

A long time ago, Kenyans took all info from policy makers hook,line and sinker. With the digital age, we have forums to air our views and ask the policy makers for clarifications .

All these is eventually aimed to ensure the policy makers get the best decisions for us tax payers.

I have seen you active on KICTANET, he is more likely to answer you on that forum than on twitter. If you closely monitor the blog you shall surely get to know when the next meeting will be.

Again, as a player in the industry, you have to know what suits you best. If you feel you need more capacity then Konza will make sense. Tanzania ha Raphta city (just like Konza) if they get going first then we loose out big time.
a4architect.com
#51 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:23:04 PM

@murchr..my queries on KICTANET have not received an answer yet.

If you are in the know on where and when the next meeting will be, post it hapa hapa.

Also, i hope the Konza site can have more detailed info e.g minutes of previous meetings , date and venue for next meeting etc.

#52 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:24:12 PM

murchr..you are one funny guy. Ati disconnected? I'll take up your challenge and go for your shing dings. Lakini wacha matusi jamaa. Just tell us when the next one is on here on wazua. Some of us are too busy to follow PS's around like puppies.

I'm just a simple Kenyan trying to understand. I don't have an iHub card so I may be very misinformed and know nothing about IT. I apologise.
#53 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:26:18 PM

Allow me to post one of the answers from ICT Board

[The idea of a new city and in this case a tech city in Kenya, adjacent to the capital might seem like overkill, if not unwise. It is always prudent, certainly economical and plausible to start with a small initiative and then mushroom according developments and growth that come along. However, you would have to know the conditions and the true criteria surrounding this new city as to see the motivation.

The new city proposal in many respects is 'killing two birds with one stone'. Nairobi the capital is experiencing tremendous growth and its truly busting out of its seams. The population in that city is becoming a greater concern on a daily basis. The morning and afternoon commute average 2 if not 3 hrs each. Anybody in the U.S, particularly the eastern seaboard, is aware that a two hour journey will usually take you to another city if not state; a distance of about 100 miles give or take. The 2 hr commutes are movements from residences to work places usually 16 to 32 km or 10 to 20 miles. Traffic is horrendous.

The government is currently expanding on roads and perhaps new transport initiatives. The public transport system has been alive and kicking since the beginning. Perhaps a new shuttle or rail system might alleviate the issue. The underlying problem is that Nairobi host about 3 million residents with an annual growth of 4 to 5% all occupying a 685 km^2 area. Its not complicated then to understand that capital city as it stands will soon be inept to carter for its masses unless something is done. This new city is thus a solution to population growth.

Now technology, education, youth, entrepreneurship and zeal are lending to the second and more exciting venture for the new city. Kenya hosts a burgeoning technical community as can be observed at http://www.ihub.co.ke . The start ups and ventures that are sprouting all over the city, and the access to new telecommunications and computing technology is evidence of an eager and educated young population, though concentrated in and around the city limits. The scale is nowhere near Silicon Valley, but surely the two cannot be compared.

While silicon Valley pioneered several innovations and the growth of IT, Kenya is at a juncture where it is assimilating all this technology and knowledge, using it and developing organic solutions to its own issues and transcending them to the globe, e.g Ushahidi. Konza City, hence can be compared to HITEC city in Hyderabad, India. So not only is the new city a population solution it has a purpose of harnessing the nations technological resources.

Now if you took the time to analyze the governments plans for the new city (www.konzacity.co.ke), it would be clear that there will be foundations and phased construction of the city. It can be expected that after the city foundations (infrastructure and amenities) and the first phases have been laid, occupation will commence, allowing for a start in ROI. You can expect adjustments to come about as a result of accommodating new residents.

The barrier that Kenya as a whole would have to overcome is the ever surrounding and infiltrating society 'impoverisher' known as graft. Right now this idea is observed with beloved curiosity, yet history won't allow us to hold our breath. Kenyans will have to call upon and really demand accountability. It will be incredibly sad if this project is marred with corruption and swindling schemes.

Paul]
#54 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:42:51 PM

That was too long and still didn't answer my questions. I had to get a dictionary to know how to spell impoverisher

Please read these short and to the point views from your own kenyan techies.

http://www.kachwanya.com...ty-about-tech-in-kenya/

http://www.mbuguanjihia....kenyas-technopolis.html

http://www.mghendi.com/t.../the-problem-with-hype/

http://www.techmtaa.com/...a-very-fraudulent-idea/

Please please please. Before you abuse us non-IT guys here, give us straight to the point answers to what we've challenged. Calling us market women is really unfair and I'm crying right now.
a4architect.com
#55 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 6:50:04 PM

@ murchr..as a real estate project,Konza is perfect. Infact i have done a few real estate feasibility studies in that area and I can assure you this is the perfect location for Nairobi city extension.
As an ICT Hub, its also a very good location in the future once Universities move in there and create a sizeable population.

As a real estate project done using tax payers money, i need clarification.

Ministry of info has bought 5000 acres costing kes 1 B of tax payer money.

Ministry of Info leases the same land to potential investors/Kenyans.

1. Is it proper for Ministry of Info to buy and lease land using tax payer money or will it end at Khalwale's table in PAC?

Is Ministry of Info allowed by law to invest in real estate i.e buy and lease land? Does it have the necessary technical capacity to develop and manage a city as a Ministry or will it outsource to Ministry of Lands/Local Govt/Private sector?

2.What is the net effect to the economy when a ministry uses tax payer money to buy land then lease to its citizens?

3. What is the procedure for anyone to lease the land?
How much is the lease?
AG Muigai raised issues regarding procurement.He said the procurement should be open to all and the highest bidder gets the lease as opposed to selective leasing.
Have these issues been taken care of so that tax payers dont loose money to large international corporate/corrupt deals who have been corruptly selected?
4. Why are London based architects /engineers being used instead of Kenyan?
5. How come Worldbank/IFC is the lead financial advisor yet we have not seen the money it has put in so far? So far what we are seeing is the KES 1 B tax payer money in play.Are there Kenyan financial advisors with the same skill who can advice Ministry of Info?

6. EAPCement has 14000 acres next to Konza which could have been used to accomodate the city hence free the kes 1b for ICT infrastructure.Was this considered?
#56 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 7:02:35 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@ murchr..as a real estate project,Konza is perfect. Infact i have done a few real estate feasibility studies in that area.

Ministry of info has bought 5000 ac costing kes 1 b of tax payer money.

Ministry of Info leases the same land to potential investors.

1. Is it proper for Ministry of Info to buy and lease land using tax payer money or will it end at Khalwale's table in PAC?

Is Ministry of Info allowed by law to invest in real estate?

2.What is the net effect to the economy when a ministry uses tax payer money to buy land then lease to its citizens?

How much is the lease?
AG Muigai raised issues regarding procurement.
Have these issues been taken care of so that tax payers dont loose money to large international corporates?
5. How come Worldbank/IFC is the lead financial advisor yet we have not seen the money it has put in so far? So far what we are seeing is the KES 1 B tax payer money in play.

6. EAPCement has 14000 acres next to Konza which could have been used to accomodate the city hence free the kes 1b for ICT infrastructure.Was this considered?

Same old story that you sing about. Pls go knock Ndemos door and schedule an appointment
#57 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 7:05:55 PM

That was too long and still didn't answer my questions. I had to get a dictionary to know how to spell impoverisher

Please read these short and to the point views from your own kenyan techies.

http://www.kachwanya.com...ty-about-tech-in-kenya/

http://www.mbuguanjihia....kenyas-technopolis.html

http://www.mghendi.com/t.../the-problem-with-hype/

http://www.techmtaa.com/...a-very-fraudulent-idea/

Please please please. Before you abuse us non-IT guys here, give us straight to the point answers to what we've challenged. Calling us market women is really unfair and I'm crying right now.

I read this from one of the links "For the techpreneurs the final take was, do your thing; focus on building a great service or product and figuring out who will pay you for it in Africa. “Konza” is where your market is."
#58 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 7:08:51 PM

I think murchr you should read that sentence and understand what it means. By the way, you really should tone down on abusing guys on this forum. It's rather crude.
a4architect.com
#59 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 7:10:01 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@ murchr..as a real estate project,Konza is perfect. Infact i have done a few real estate feasibility studies in that area.

Ministry of info has bought 5000 ac costing kes 1 b of tax payer money.

Ministry of Info leases the same land to potential investors.

Is Ministry of Info allowed by law to invest in real estate?

How much is the lease?
AG Muigai raised issues regarding procurement.
Have these issues been taken care of so that tax payers dont loose money to large international corporates?
5. How come Worldbank/IFC is the lead financial advisor yet we have not seen the money it has put in so far? So far what we are seeing is the KES 1 B tax payer money in play.

Same old story that you sing about. Pls go knock Ndemos door and schedule an appointment

@murchr..hehehe..relax..ati same old story..no need to burst a vein coz of this..i have knocked on his twitter door..i hope he will answer me.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 7:10:20 PM

I think murchr you should read that sentence and understand what it means. By the way, you really should tone down on abusing guys on this forum. It's rather crude.

Who have i abused?