Market
Wanted
Stylus wanted
So does Muhadhara sound better on one of these thingies than Jimmy himself?
@ Mukiha Pole for busting your bubble but I feel relieved that am not alone when it comes to appreciating sound excellence. I simply had to google your components. Your setup sounds pretty good. I have a soft spot for Marantz products cause I once had Class A Marantz amplifier (though at higher power it would switch to Class B) that really made me appreciate Class A amplifiers. Eventually,I sold it ot this chap who went to use it to play mobile gigs Had I known,I would never have sold it. By blocking the ports,aren't you losing out on bass extension? Resonance was also a big issue for me at the beginning but I managed to sort it out with a heavy floor carpet,and re-positioning/locating some furniture. Have you hooked up your system in home theatre or music only configuration? @ GG I guess we will never know...if only Muhadhara comes in a 12' single ;-)
@reith: With young kids in the house,I have to compromise between safety (for the kids) and enjoyment (for me). The speakers used to sit on AVF wall brackets (1m above the ground to be in line with ears in sitting position); then one day my son grew too tall and was hit on the head while playing. I removed the brackets and put the speakers on the bookshelf....then the resonance started! Tried trimming down the bass control below 0db and lost the warmth. Then blocked the ports with old socks and raised bass control to almost maximum and voila! Good enough performance was restored. The speakers will go back to their brackets when the second kid grows taller! Incidentally,my son is developing a very good ear for music...perhaps he will remember me for that in the future!! Home-theatre? No! In fact my DVD is nothing to write home about...picked up on a discount offer at Uchumi a few months ago! I'm not much of a movie fan. So I've connected the DVD in stereo mode to the Marantz.....the sound staging blows many people out of their socks making them think it sarround while it's simply stereo. Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
How do you guys handle power issues?
I have some Hi-Fi gear that I am yet to hook up since I do not have a power conditioner.
Yaani I fear say the Yamaha amp getting blown up
@ Mukiha
Makes a lot of sense with young kids in the house.
I watch movies as long as the picture and sound effects are good. Enter Blue-ray technology which is now the industry trend sending DVD and HD-DVD technology into oblivion. A single layer disc has 25Gb capacity,resulting in amazing picture quality especially on a Full HD TV i.e. 2 mega pixel,with 100Hz or even better 200Hz Motion Flow for high speed action scenes.
I have watched several Blue-ray movies which simply knocked me out because of picture detail and sharpness. My favourite is 'Crank' starring Jason Statham where you can clearly see the pores and even imperfections on his skin. At one scene,you can see the guy spitting saliva as he speaks. The sound effects are gripping.
The reason for building the sub mentioned earlier is for watching movies. With Dolby Digital,you miss out sub-bass in some action scenes. For example,if you are watching a movie with earthquake,explosion scenes,you will literally feel it with a sub (assuming it can produce frequencies as low as 20Hz).
@ Chaka
You can get a Sollatek SVS,an automatic voltage regulator,which is available at Nakumatt,Tusky's. Price is about 7K. Alternatively,you can buy a Hi-Volt Guard or Automatic Voltage Switch (AVS) at about 3K. The difference is the SVS regulates power without switching off while the latter switches off for about 1 minute when there is a fluctuation.
reithi
@Chaka; I've been plugged directly to KPLC for a very. very long time....close to 20 years now,and have had no over-voltage problem. The only problem is under voltage (below 200VAC) and mains frequency fluctuations. These lead to poorer sound quality....one day you system sounds crisp,the next it's a bit dull.... Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Thanks reithi,
I will go check out the SVS next time am at Nakumatt.
I got the stylus on the Net.....asked a friend who was visiting from USA to bring it. Fitted it and tested it with Pat Metheny's 'Letter From Home'....Woi!!! It's all I can say..... Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
I wonder if you have Spyrogyra too.....
@G-G; yes,'Rites of Summer' Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
.....then last night I caught a glimpse of the London Chamber Orchestra's Under the Eye of Heaven......I am still recovering..... Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
I will just have to do with Spyrogira's 'Morning Dance' (on Maxell Chome Oxide tape)
Tonight,I have date with Beethoven's 'Ode to Joy'....I just love the way the Cello introduces the theme of the chorus......wacha tu! Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@mukiha Sori took long to get back. Bout the stylus you can get in touch with nicko 0733760798 should be able to sort you out. If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
@ Mukiha,Reithi,Chaka...
If there is one topic that got me totally lost in SK it i this one,I am just a clueless spectator. What of other SKerians ???
Chunga mali yako...
@mukiha,The 9th Symphony. The only one I have ever attended - at the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra....
Who said SpyroGyra.... ? It's their kind of music that inspired me to buy a saxophone..... yet I can't play it! Motobex.
@ reithi et al
Audiophiles? On SK? Amazing stuff. And where do you get all your equipment from? Coz all shops in town just stock crap the likes of sony,jvc etc. Never seen any shop selling serious equipment. Am especially looking 4 good quality front speakers.
@wachiras,you just have to import directly. One time I thought about opening a serious Hi-Fi shop in town.... @G-G; which Maxell - UD-II,XL-II,or XL-II-S? My choice recordings are on Metal (MX-IV). Yes,the 9th Symphony,I have it both on CD and Vinyl,you can guess which is the killer.... @livie; thanks,but I already got one delivered from USA @JKMwatha; that's a good one....yana you bought the sax for watching! Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@ Wachiras
It is difficult to come across high end equipment in Kenya unless you import,mainly because it is expensive and the market is small.
For my stuff,I must say I was very lucky. I was in the US on a visit and a catalogue was dropped at the place I was staying. The discounts were just unbelievable. E.g. The Vincent SV236 was retailing at US$ 1,799 but got it for US$ 699. The speakers were also discounted.
All the same,you can try Samchi Electronics,Barclays Plaza. I would not say they stock high end stuff but have decent equipment as well e.g. Infinity (JBL),Jamo,Nakamichi and Wharfedale. The prices are OK but negotiable.
reithi
Market
Wanted
Stylus wanted