Equity HY Results
adept
#21 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 9:31:00 AM

Kweli. Haya brace yourself in 5,4...
The General
#22 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 9:44:00 AM

@ Adept,

Lets give them time. Apparently,waiting for figures from Uganda.

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
Bashka
#23 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 9:49:00 AM

am told sufuria iko juu ya moto...............
The General
#24 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 9:51:00 AM

@ Bashka,

Sufuria iko juu ya moto,au,Akamba iko Naivasha?

adept
#25 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 9:54:00 AM

Hii naona ni kama smoke signals ndizo zinatumika ku-communicate kutoka Uganda.

And you know how the wind can act up sometimes. A small gust can convert a smoke signal of 3 to 300 especially when viewed from afar.
The General
#26 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 10:51:00 AM

The Broth will be so sweet no one will be interested in the ingredients,nor the preparation

Kausha
#27 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 12:06:00 PM

The uganda business introduced additional time requirements for reporting. Whereas Kenya is able to report ahead of other banks,the uganda business is taking sometime and this means there is also additional time for consolidation. The uganda business is 41 branches and doing very well implying additional work pressure. Now consolidate that with Kenya,obviously you can't be expected to report at the same time with KCB who is consolidating 2 branches in Sudan,3 more in uganda and 5 in tz which are much smaller businesses compared to EB Uganda. Be patient,results zaja.
Soko tele
#28 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 12:38:00 PM

The Fact of life is, HY results will drop compared to same time last year.

.............We can compare notes next week

If l cannot make the money why should l loose it
e_kijana
#29 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 5:08:00 PM

@Kausha,

Are they reporting manually??? Why should there be a difference in reporting 3 branches and 41 branches if they use information technology as we have been informed previosly that they have the best systems?

Excuses are being made for them and they will have o announce results at some point and we will get our answers
e_kijana
#30 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 5:13:00 PM

Agree with @Soko tele 100%... But then again,if we had Enron in a country with sophisticated laws like the US,whats stops Kenya from haveing its own? Watch out for a declining provision for bad loans,depreciation treatment and any accounting changes on account of 'including the Uganda operations'
#31 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 6:21:00 PM

I do hope the 'delay' is bcos of Uganda & not anything else. They still have 3 more weeks lakini when you go from being #1 (since they listed) to report to #10 (KCB,BBK,many smaller unlisted banks,SCBK,etc)

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
AmHere
#32 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2009 4:02:00 AM

If KCB reports fast because of 4 or 5 branches in Uganda,EB takes longer because of 41 branches in Uganda,how long should Citigroup Inc take with multiple branches in more than 100 countries and over 200M accounts? Si kuna technology ya kufanya hizi vitu chapchap siku hizi ama? If and I say if the delay is deliberate,it would not be a wise move. The longer the wait,the more the scrutiny the results will attract and the harder it is for them to report growing or flat results without drawing suspicion. Always good to report a huge drop quickly. The organisation will always be the better for it. Read perceived integrity. But let us wait and see.
sheep
#33 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2009 5:51:00 AM

Ngojeeni kidogo,the stone soup is almost done
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Mainat
#34 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2009 6:14:00 AM

A trivia issue. Interims can be reported anytime between end of June to end of September.
Go and do something else. Like hoe your garden...

EB will struggle to find Ksh1.5bn in Q2 too match H1 of 2008.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
The General
#35 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 1:49:00 PM

Read this article and was left wondering,what makes a Blue chip company at the NSE?

Foreigners flock to NSE..

dsktop
#36 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 10:52:00 AM

Strangely with people expecting poor or negative report by EB,if they report earnings growth of only 1% then the stock will rally to the high heavens......such is the nature of the stock most love to hate or is it hate to love!
bert
#37 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 11:50:00 AM

My patience is running out.

Do I sell my stake or buy more of this memmber shares.

We need to see the results.
stonemimi
#38 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 5:41:00 AM

I hear it is today at 3 PM
adept
#39 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 5:58:00 AM

3PM today? Something had to give. This will be interesting.
mtaalam
#40 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 6:33:00 AM

I predict between 10 and 20% drop in profits.

ili iwe funzo...