wazua Thu, Apr 23, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
LETTER TO THE CHIEF JUSTICE
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 8:02:00 AM

Elder wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
This is ridiculous; No. This is PLAIN STUPID!!

Why is an accused person not allowed to pay his own fine? What if you are a transit driver just passing through from Kisumu to Mombasa? You have no friends in Nairobi. It's just STUPID!

In earlier days, the accused would be called out and those would "kubali" the charges would be huddled to one corner of the courtroom. Then a cashier would come to the court room (escorted by an AP) collect all the fines and then all would pay papo-hapo and go home.

It is the way the system is set. Due to among other things the 'disappearing' of money in between the time it is paid and the time it is banked the Judiciary decided that amounts over 1k, I think, had to be paid direct to the bank. This effectively means that a traffic 'convict' cannot pay for his/her fine.

Agree with you that it is nonetheless stupid and the system ought to be changed.

So this is like another Konza. Instead of dealing with the problem you come up with SUPER duper ideas.

The problem is not that money is disappearing from their coffers. The problem is that they have HIRED untrustworthy officials. The money will still disappear at the bank or under the mattress if you hire thieves.

So as the chief hirer, it is Mutungas problem.
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 10:37:04 AM

chemos wrote:
@Bwana bwenyenye.. nice piece.. spot fines should actually be done kwa barabara ama police station.. hi maneno ya kuigisha kila mtu korokoroni haijengi nchi.. just wasting time and taxes.. by the way are the state visitors given any lunch while waiting for all this issues to be sorted?

Sasa hata mimi bado nangoja fine yangu iripwo rakini sina madugu wa kuniripia.. ure arikuwa rafiki yangu sana Magigi pia yeye aritupwo huku dani..
Naoba bwana wirry asomeee hiyo twity na atuhurumie... huku tumeteswa sana na bibi admin na hataki hata kusikia pore zetu..

@Chemos.. The guy tells me they were not given anything the whole time he was there.... over 8 hours boss.

@Alma.. I agree, the public should not bemade to suffer thieves in the court system.

Another surprising announcement I read was at the registry...' BEWARE OF PICKPOCKETS'

I know it was put there in good faith after a few incidents so I actually reached out to feel whether my wallet was still there.... But then again I thought to myself, how can pick pocketing be allowed to thrive in such a secure environment where almost a fifth of the people are uniformed policemen and I am sure many more in civilian clothing...

Yet again, the systems of paying fines in cash has created an environment of people carrying around a lot of cash as well as create opportunities for currency to disappear between the judiciary and the bank. It is amazing the impact of policy decision.
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 12:03:00 PM

I thought the law was amended for instant fines (like they do it in the first world) during the finance bill of 2010. Why have the police been slow in implementing this changes?
Dash
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 12:14:54 PM

[quote=chiaroscuro]This is ridiculous; No. This is PLAIN STUPID!!

Agreed. It is called thinking harder not smarter.
#15 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 9:53:22 AM

Who saw @mukiha's liner in the Cutting Edge on Saturday on this matter?
#16 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 9:56:12 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Saw it... Cutting edge have soft spot for this Wazua Elder..
#17 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 9:58:55 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Saw it... Cutting edge have a soft spot for this Wazua Elder..
#18 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 10:02:55 AM

chemos wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

I did not, exact words used?
#19 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 10:24:35 AM

This is serious and backwards.Sad
Just wondering how far that bank is from the court rooms plus the two and fro zigzag movements kenyans make daily.
The Kenyan system loves queues knowing very well it wastes so much time and results in backlog of work.

Queue to enter premises,queue to be served,queue to bank,queue to wait for ur name to be called out,queue on your way out, then meet jam.

Why kenyan officials love crowds knowing they pose a security risk amazes me.Even the environment suffers.
Nway.
#20 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 10:29:13 AM

chemos wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

I did not, exact words used?

Yeah, exacts word used but summarized to fit into the cutting age, the message was clear.
Applause Applause Applause Applause

5 Pages<1234>»