wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

Counterfeit Liquor
#1 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 9:11:55 AM

Beware when you buy Viceroy, Johnny Walker, Famous Grouse, Richot and the rest from some of the outlets around, there are so many fake bottles out there. Its usually very hard to differentiate counterfeit bottles from genuine ones hata the taste is almost the same....only difference is that you would have wasted a lot of money on some cheap colored Chang'aa. Ever wondered why sometimes you wake up with a really bad hangover yet the type of drink you took the previous night is what you've been taking all along!I think the only safe place to buy genuine liqour is the Supermarkets.....atleast for now.
#2 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 9:20:39 AM

I know viceroy is the most affected, ndio maana siku hizi I prefer Gin at times, so @TAZ, how bad is the hangy????
#3 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 9:27:42 AM

@ Mc Reggae......Its really bad, i can only imagine the ingredients that were used! Viceroy imekuwa Viceboy.
Um Sayala
#4 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 10:10:13 AM

@ Mc Reggae......Its really bad, i can only imagine the ingredients that were used! Viceroy imekuwa Viceboy.

@Taz, Pole sana. Hope u wil be well soon enough to watch and analyse the Gunners mid week fixture.all da best, but ukiona macho imeanza kuwa blurred rush to Nairobi Hospital, hhahahhahha
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
Burning Spear
#5 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 10:30:36 AM

I know viceroy is the most affected, ndio maana siku hizi I prefer Gin at times, so @TAZ, how bad is the hangy????

Tuko pamoja
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Kwanini
#6 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 10:54:28 AM

hahaha! u mean Kariobangi Light industries entreprenuers are now master brewers? last time i heard of them they were manufacturing colgate!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#7 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 12:54:11 PM

Was forced to abandon my favourite brandy after a series of unexplained major hangovers...Sad

Manyala
#8 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 1:08:07 PM

Beware when you buy Viceroy, Johnny Walker, Famous Grouse, Richot and the rest from some of the outlets around, there are so many fake bottles out there. Its usually very hard to differentiate counterfeit bottles from genuine ones hata the taste is almost the same....only difference is that you would have wasted a lot of money on some cheap colored Chang'aa. Ever wondered why sometimes you wake up with a really bad hangover yet the type of drink you took the previous night is what you've been taking all along!I think the only safe place to buy genuine liqour is the Supermarkets.....atleast for now.

@TAZ, was only aware of the Viceroy. Had to switch to Richot. Have then now also landed on this? As for JW and FG, I don't think they can manipilate these, cause of the 'valve'?

Any Chemist who can advise on how to differentiate the fack from the genuine?
keraka
#9 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 1:58:53 PM

Hehe was imbibing my favourite Viceroy brandy at Latitude Buru about a month ago.Then the ka half appered diluted from the way it was taking tike to bring exitement to me.After making lots of noise i pulled a waiter and confidentially demanded an explanation to which he bluntly but honestly told me.''Sio siri maliza hiyo basi ndio nikuletee orichino''.Since then i take beer or buy a mzinga from uchumi.Its no secret all those brandies around are coloured and flavoured changaas ama yokozuna.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#10 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 4:13:24 PM

Kwanini wrote:
hahaha! u mean Kariobangi Light industries entreprenuers are now master brewers? last time i heard of them they were manufacturing colgate!

They are also making soda and airtime. I guess they will start manufacturing babies.
#11 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2012 5:09:46 PM

I think I have also been a victim of this,last week I bought aka half which looked rather light in color the guy told me its coz of the lighting at his shop and something about oxidation the next day I felt like I was on fire its like I drunk a whole 20 litre of that stuff,I have been thinking all along that brandy isnt my preffered poison kumbe its something else nimekuwa nikikunywa...wapi KEBS???
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 2:22:21 AM

Euge wrote:
[quote=Kwanini]

They are also making soda and airtime. I guess they will start manufacturing babies.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....

Poleni nduguzanguniLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....I'll stick to frothy water.

@Mcreggae,
Trust Kenyans.....They just cooked your grouse and now you have Famous Goosesmile
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 11:30:11 AM

It happened to me at Buffet Park about a month ago. Got there kidogo tipsy. The guys said they did not have my choice drink so I took the JW Red bottle. After two sips nikaskia mwili inakataa... Some guys I was with continued to kunywa saying eti I was drunk... The next morning, we had to rush guys to hosi... Guys be careful... I don't know if the bar owners know that they are stocking fake liquor
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 11:59:07 AM

@Bwenyenye am sure the said bar qwners know they are buying fake liquor but why should they care if there profit margins are increased this thing will blow up when a couple of guys die thats when it will come to light some t.v station should do a feature on this so that every one knows whats happening....
@Njung'e ngoja tu its a matter of time till they start producing the frothy substance.
TiggerTiggy
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:00:33 PM

even the ladies in the bars could be as fake as the fake spirits
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:06:45 PM

They are using industrial spirit laced with methanol, the kind used in making surgical spirits, cosmetics etc but packaging in common premium brands. People are being paid to collect empty bottles of viceroy, smirnoff vodka, JW, KK, KC, ritchott etc at average of 10 bob a bottle.

Welcome to Kariobangi light Ind. Sad
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:24:33 PM

Normally whisky's have that scotching taste and are not easy for these fellows, brandy's:drink at your risk, especially kwa locl!!!!
Burning Spear
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:38:16 PM

Euge wrote:
[quote=Kwanini]

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....

Poleni nduguzanguniLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....I'll stick to frothy water.

@Mcreggae,
Trust Kenyans.....They just cooked your grouse and now you have Famous Goosesmile

kutoka leo nitafuata Mzee. The only hard staff I'll ever take will be from the supermarket or AFCO.

It will take time before the Kariobangigets into the business of brown bottles from EABL.

"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:43:59 PM

@ Mc Reggae.....Famous Grouse and Johnny Walker are also on their list. They usually target brands with many consumers lakini Viceroy is the most affected.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:56:56 PM

As long as its man made this guys can counterfeit anything (read drink) with graduates who are jobless and have done courses like industrial chem etc tuna shida...sasa ni oude meester kabla wapate formulasmile