wazua Sat, Mar 21, 2026

safcom the real story
#11 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2008 2:17:00 PM

to all those who keep asking what the future for this company holds..process this +ves and -ves that keep being thrown your way. there goes one huge +ve.

There is no path to peace. Peace is the path.
yekeyeke
#12 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2008 3:48:00 PM

Guys. the info below is incomplete. pls check this site out : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teams

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
steve.m
#13 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2008 4:57:00 PM

kwani whats wrong people cant accept the truth we will make money mtake msitake.Look at this maths wananchi Telecom 10% +Kenya Data network and celtel 10% + France Telecom 10% +Econet 10% +Jamii telecom 4%+ Access kenya 1.25% + safaricom 20% TOTAL 65.25% .SO ITS SAFARICOM SHARE IS NOT 20% OF 65% AS YEKEYEKE IS TRYING TO SUGGEST.

http://en.wikipedia.org/...Teams#Ownershipwnership

Ownership of the cable will be as follows:

Kenyan Government - 20%

Emirates Telecommunication Establishment Etisalat - 15%

Private Investors - 65%

lie is a tragedy to those who feel while to those who think its a comedy
jammo
#14 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2008 5:36:00 PM

Interestin to see how much sentimental value is attached to this counter. At the end of the day its just that... A counter! Not everyone is as smart as to understand teams n implic to safcom.. Even So..the number of shares in safcom..make earnings per share roughly around shs0.40 per share? ..with supernormal profits? How sustainables is the supernormal?..on 40billion shares of 5cents per value? No matter how rosy a future the company has..apparently people really do not understand stock market behaviors. Sameer may hold small stock but overall impact per share by holding in TEAMS is far much greater than safcom share. When it comes to TEAMS..i go with sameer..n Access..i can't get into it right now but will explain soon. Don't let sentimentality n grand dreams cloud ur vision..or reasoning.

'..and it came to pass..' so did we!
This market will probably outlive us. Wacha pupa!!u can't have it all.
gkchege
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2008 5:11:00 AM

Thanks for the lesson.

The share I repeat,is good in my own opinion. But dont get in expecting 50bob next year as some pple are touting here! Ati TEAMS will land like leo and the 40billion heads safcom way!

Sisemi musinunue - Let the pple decide!!
semaj
#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2008 3:54:00 AM

This shareholding arrangement is not a done deal http://www.nationmedia.c..._id=25&newsid=125543
steve.m
#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2008 9:58:00 AM

semaj the reporter is right that the project is not a done deal meaning it hasnt been completed,but to say that to say that share division between the eleven compaies hasnt been completed look at this section
[ According to the arrangement,the next stage will be for the companies to sign a shareholders&rsquo; agreement with the Government committing them to pay the full amount of the shares they have been allocated.]
Obviously since a lot of billions will come out of it the losers will not go down without a fight.
Also look at this statements used - I gather,In my own view,I say so because / There are a lot of personal views and facts mixed in the story .
If you remember just before the Ipo a certain reporter said that no retail investor was allowed to apply for more than 500,000 worth of sacom shares and si kibaki applied for 5 million worth of shares.
I also dont think the privatistion commission is going to reduce sacom share in the deal considering the uproar caused by the allocation it will be like stealing from the mwananchi again.
Guys I also heard in last nights news Michael Joseph saying that they will raise some cash for expansion through the stock market some time nextyear I dont know what they are planning but lets be prepared.

lie is a tragedy to those who feel while to those who think its a comedy
#18 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2009 3:39:00 AM

This safcom,real benefits just about to be seen.
Buy! Buy! Buy! at anything below ipo price!

Hata chui ana mkwe!
Alchemist
#19 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2009 3:06:00 PM

I,on the other hand think that SFC's 20% interest in the fibre optic points to a possible entry into an untapped area of telecommunications. That of bundled cable tv and internet. Expect surprises.
mwanahisa
#20 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2009 4:14:00 AM

@jammo,kindly note as per discussion elsewhere on this forum that Sameer Africa has no share in TEAMS hence there SHOULD be no impact on the Sameer Africa's share price arising thereof,other than perhaps out of misinformation. As for Access,that is a different story. I am otherwise in agreement with you regarding the effect of TEAMS on Safaricom share price. Too many shares means it is diificult to get a meaningful increase in EPS and the excessive supply will always come in to kill off any build-up in the price. For traders,Scom however is still quite a good share for trading - on BIG volumes and with discounted commisions,one can make money out even out of a 10 cents change in price (at a price of Kshs 3 or below) - and the beauty is that you can practically do this almost every week.

Opportunity calls but few respond.