wazua Thu, Jan 1, 2026

ICC Lubanga Case ruling
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:28:14 PM

Going on live now, the Ocampo 4 must be following this one keenly!!!!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:31:48 PM

Si utuwekeeko updates hapa!
Kihangeri
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:35:16 PM

Do you by chance work for a media monitoring outfit? Nothing passes you from the media especially live broadcasts.

If not, that must be some serious initiative on your part. Anyway, Bravo and keep it up.

Update us also accordingly.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:38:53 PM

Lubanga to remain in custody:

1st verdict: Lubanga guilty of conscripting and enlisting children under 15 and using them to participate in hostilies!!!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:53:24 PM

He has since been found guilty and now jailed.
it couldnt get tougher for Ogambo-4!!!

#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 2:32:14 PM

i thought that muganda fellow had predicted on the bench that lubanga would go free. the ogambo 4 should really be worried if that ugandan is their advisor on icc matters. for all you know, he might be working for rao. lol
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 2:38:03 PM

He has since been found guilty and now jailed.

Next in line....
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 2:44:28 PM

Finally Ocampo succeeds in something, prima facie - those generals in Congo have questions to answer and the ICC's involvement has not been political. however, the Kenyan cases especially the Uhuru and Muthaura case....MAMBO BAD!!

I cannot make a new comment
Admin - what is this?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 2:47:38 PM

masukuma...that's exactly the same thing that ugandan said...all the way from no jurisdication to lack of evidence...mambo kweli ni bad!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 2:51:17 PM

i thought that muganda fellow had predicted on the bench that lubanga would go free. the ogambo 4 should really be worried if that ugandan is their advisor on icc matters. for all you know, he might be working for rao. lol

The guy is actually called Matsanga, Jeff Koinange's darling on the bench!!!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 2:54:03 PM

reggae man....i have a habit of forgeting the names of people i don't trust.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 3:01:06 PM

reggae man....i have a habit of forgeting the names of people i don't trust.

LOL,
By the way Lubanga was arrested in 2005,it means hii hague haichukui 90 years as some people alleged earlier!!!!

......it now takes 3000seconds to post in wazua. jeez!!!!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 3:05:12 PM

If am not wrong statements from 13 witnesses was scrapped off by the chamber as the prosecutor was found not to have done his job properly and still the guy is found guilty...something to think about hard for the ocampo four they should look at the case deeply and work something out with their legal team and be well prepared.
hoodrat
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 4:05:05 PM

This should wake up some people.Truly this ICC is not a tribunal but a system!
http://www.rnw.nl/africa...le/lessons-lubanga-trial
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 4:25:12 PM

@hoodrat...true kabisa

"It’s a trial--some witnesses withdrew, their testimony won’t be retained – this happens. The court will go on.”"

" “Criticizing the everyday workings of the proceedings is normal, but that’s not the lesson we should bring away from the Lubanga trial,” she says. “The ICC is a system, not just a tribunal. How do we ensure that the Lubanga case helps to prevent war crimes, furthers the United Nations’ work to demobilize child soldiers, contributes to the peace process in Sudan?"

When I see arguing that the ICC is political, I wonder what point they are trying to put through. Everything, even the price of gas in an election year is political. So what is the point. In fact you should be extra scared.

Witnesses disappearing, dying, changing their minds is inevitable.

The question is always the big picture otherwise they'd be tried at the magistrate's court in Kibera

1. Were there crimes against humanity?
2. Did those who are charged have the tools to either commit or stop these crimes?

The first was answered in the pre-trial chamber...the appeals chamber ain't gonna change that.

The second is slowly being proved by prayer meetings and KKK's plus all the tribal comments by their emissaries on this forum, newspaper pieces and other forums.

As lubanga has learned. No amount of support saves you, even 10 yrs later. The system will catch you in the end.

Those women who were burned in Kiambaa, the people who lost their property, the IDP's being thrown all around the country, the people killed simply because they were in the wrong tribe are crying to God. And their prayers will be answered mumu humu, wapende wasipende.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 4:38:45 PM

Precedence. Has been set.

Before the court, Lavigne testified that “there were no investigators on the ground to go in families’ homes to gather any information whatsoever”

During the trial, the defence pointed out that one of the child witnesses had “all of his expenses – room, board and medical care – taken care of during nearly two years, as well as school fees for an entire academic year.”

The defence denounced the prosecutor’s case as “gangrenous through and through, due to the investigative methods used,” including “fraudulent dealings.”

Yet the guilty verdict was arrived at.

We have heard similar things before here in Kenya too.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 5:21:24 PM

Uhuru and Ruto are set to hold prayer rally for Lubanga throughout the country this weekend and blame RAO for his misdemeanour.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 6:15:40 PM

dossy7 wrote:
Uhuru and Ruto are set to hold prayer rally for Lubanga throughout the country this weekend and blame RAO for his misdemeanour.

And pastor Paul Nganga has bought a 20 litre Elianto cooking oil to drench the desperate [leaders] in, yeah leaders in [] coz we know the type of their army!!!