wazua Sat, May 9, 2026

Obama is LUCKY!
SiriKali1
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 10, 2012 2:44:29 AM

It never ceases to amaze me how much things go his way, even when the situation seems most helpless. When he announced his candidacy in Feb 2007, I admit nikiwa na aibu I was one of those who never believed he had a chance.

Here's why:

He was polling 50-plus percentage points behind Clinton @ that point.

He hadn't finished a single term in the US senate (by the way, his senate win is a story in itself of things falling in his favor).

He was very young, just barely into his mid 40s.

He had no national profile.

In Feb 2007, he had no money.

And of course, whisper, whisper, ni mweusi, jameni.

Well, we know how that story ended. He was Political Superman to me by Nov 2008. Nothing this guy couldn't do.

Yet just 6 months ago, he was left for dead. A badly limping economy, a hugely unpopular healthcare bill and high unemployment. A one-term president? Republicans were salivating. BHO was out. I was in the dumps.

Funny thing is, the economy is turning around, strongly. Watu wana ajiriwa, unemployment has fallen, people are optimistic and Obama is getting some credit for the economic recovery. Every week, poll numbers show the gap between him and the Republicans increasing.

What has me shaking my head is how at JUST THE RIGHT MOMENT, the economy started improving. If this improvement had started just 3 months later, the sense that things are improving might not have caught up with the electorate in time to give Obama the boost he needs. It would have sucked big- time for the economy to start improving too late to save Obama's job, only for the Republicans to take credit for his recovery.

Funny how the same thing could happen hap a nyumbani. Kibaki struggles mightily to lay the infrastructure and other public goods that facilitate rapid growth but divisive politics holds us back - not saying Kibaki was innocent, just so I'm clear. Then the next president inherits a much more functional state and goes on to achieve 6 - 7% annual growth for 10 years and in doing so doubles the size of the Kenyan economy.

At the end of his 2nd term, he is declared the Greatest President in Kenya's History. Dunia kweli wakati mwingine haina haki.

mkeiy
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 10, 2012 2:39:15 PM

A lot of what is happening in US, economy-wise, is coz of the economic stimuli packages Obama initiated which were so unpopular with the Republicans,hence all the credit to him.
With the Jews going nuts about Iran, the last thing the US and the world at large doesn't want is a Republican at White House.
Wakanyugi
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 10, 2012 5:11:20 PM

@Sirikali, I was thinking the same the other day. That if things hold up, this time next year Obama will have a new name: Lucky Barrack.

You forgot something else playing into Obama's luck. The Republicans are competing to hand him the most beatable candidate they can find find in their ranks. Rick Santorum and Newt Gingrich are so toxic they could not win if they were running against themselves. Mitt 'robot' Romney is not much better. Obama must be salivating.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
SiriKali1
#4 Posted : Saturday, March 10, 2012 7:34:13 PM

mkeiy wrote:
A lot of what is happening in US, economy-wise, is coz of the economic stimuli packages Obama initiated which were so unpopular with the Republicans,hence all the credit to him.
With the Jews going nuts about Iran, the last thing the US and the world at large doesn't want is a Republican at White House.

You may very well be right. Unfortunately, the thrust of the stimulus argument, that had it not been for it millions of jobs would have been lost, is very hard to make politically. Proving that jobs were saved is an academic exercise for which relatively few have patience for.

The more accessible argument, and therefore one that is much more politically devastating, is that INSPITE of the hundreds of billions of stimulus, millions of jobs had still been lost. Now that is a point most people going thru hard times can wrap their heads around.

That is what BHO has been struggling with.

Iran presents major problems, and anyone with a conspiratorial bent of mind could argue that Israel is rattling sabers (sp? I don't want to be Drunkard misspelling everything in sightSad ) to derail both the US recovery and Obama's reelection chances by spiking the price of oil. Afterall, Obama has not been the friend to Israel that Bush was.

Finally, a Republican president will almost never wage a full scale war on Iran. Maybe targeted strikes. Elective wars costing trillions of dollars have drained the US treasury and the country is sick ot them.
SiriKali1
#5 Posted : Saturday, March 10, 2012 7:44:28 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
@Sirikali, I was thinking the same the other day. That if things hold up, this time next year Obama will have a new name: Lucky Barrack.

You forgot something else playing into Obama's luck. The Republicans are competing to hand him the most beatable candidate they can find find in their ranks. Rick Santorum and Newt Gingrich are so toxic they could not win if they were running against themselves. Mitt 'robot' Romney is not much better. Obama must be salivating.

It is true that Republicans are presenting such a weak field, a fact made even more remarkable in that they have stronger candidates among their ranks. Still, the election might not be a rout for Obama. Assuming Mitt is the Republican nominee, he will be backed by sponsors raising unlimited funds and is well placed to match Obama's fundraising. McCain couldn't in 2008, and that was a decisive disadvantage. Lakini Barack more than likely wins (I hope) but not with the 10% margin some polls are showing. More like the typical 4%, improving economy and all. I'll even settle for 1%.
#6 Posted : Saturday, March 10, 2012 9:51:36 PM

seriously what's so special about Bho..his eloquence or exoticness wont help him this tym round
he could have done so much more but in the end chose to be ordinary. Sad
Drunkard
#7 Posted : Saturday, March 10, 2012 11:26:34 PM

@Sirikali1
Look at who's giving political analysis! Did you find that in your new I pad?