wazua Mon, Feb 24, 2025

A man's viewpoint needed
Spendthrift
#21 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2009 3:00:00 PM

This Tina amekatalia details! Was it a first date?

@extrablessed,if you and your girl both pleaded for mercy with thugs. It could go both ways depending on where you were attached and how daring the thugs are.

If in an open place where there is likelihood of a vehicle of somebody coming past in a few seconds,perhaps you may be lucky but if you were attacked by armed robbers at a secluded place it is better if the man ran away (if sensibleto do so because no man is faster than a bullet) and run for help. What would most probably happen afterwards is the thugs will scan the girls for valuables and also run because they don't know where the man went. In such a situation if the man stayed,rape is certain to just humiliate the man.

Sometimes,knowing what our society has degraded into,it is better to run because the attack could very well be a set up to rob you,especially if you do not know the girl very well.

Everyday!
#22 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2009 3:08:00 PM

@Chic20

I would say the same thing - the guy did the right thing to escape from the scene BUT,only if he went to seek help. running home and hiding to save his dear life leaving his friend makes him a rolling Kenchic right there. isnt it absurd that you can leave someone you love or even just a platonic friend in danger and only apologise later after confrontation? shouldnt he have sort help even from the men around? or with the security guards around? Would any man leave his sister with the thugs and run home only to say he woudnt have risked his life? Hapo,if you are looking for a friend,he aint a very very reliable friend... if you are looking for a husband in him - well,i would leave that for you to judge.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
mv ufanisi
#23 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2009 3:47:00 PM

scenarios of different reactions in a similar situation

1. Useless guy: if the guy ran away till home and didn't even try to find you until the following day (big time coward)

2. Normal guy:
if he was outnumbered he should have run but stayed within distance,got help & come back to the scene

3. Starring (Otero):
he would have stayed there and kicked *ss,big time and left the thugs in a heap.

4. Crucial man:
Thugs would have seen him and fled

5. Smart man:
if he was smart,he'd avoid taking you to risky places - (unless it was a carjacking) where you could be in grave danger of getting attacked. Would have kept to the safe part of the hood.

his 'make up' behavior is coz he knows he acted like a wuss
Mkimwa
#24 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2009 9:01:00 PM

The last time I was accosted by thugs,i had my sister and my girlfriend with me.. The thugs came for me because i was the man... It is hard to judge a man because he ran,unless we understand the circumstances. They robbed us of everything,and let us go.

It would be hard and difficult to leave my sister and my girlfriend and run,even i had a chance.. It would also have been hard to see sister/girlfriend being assaulted,when there is a sharp panga on your head.. do you become the hero,while you are dead? Or watch an assault on people you love yet you can do nothing? what happens if negotiating is not possible?

Lessons:
1. Avoid situations where you put yourselves at risk,even if it means not going for that date,unless you have a vehicle/taxi all the way.
2. Being a man is hard..
Sasha
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 5:25:00 AM

This story is half told! If I was a guy, and I was going out with a girl who is bigger than me (hihihihi), and that girl is overpowered by thugs, then what the hell can I do other than run for safety and then seek help? The guy did nothing wrong unless he was the husband.

@Guka: 'Would die for ended a long time ago'! I doubt there's a man who would die for his girlfriend (note not wife) around!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
mkristo
#26 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 5:48:00 AM

was he man told by the thugs to leave or did he flee?

anyway,I think the man shoul dhave stayed and pleaded. being man is not just about fighting,it is also about being wise,calm in crises and thinking quickly how to safely get out of such a situation.

i think the lady got her answers rigth there; this is not quite the guy to be with. besides,i can bet it is the guy who proposed that they go out on a date. he should have stayed and bear the consequencies.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
#27 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 5:56:00 AM

This is the same girl who would later on dump you because you forgot her birthday.

life is too short to blend in
PONDI
#28 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 6:00:00 AM

these are all side issues...we are not like those comic book heroes ati superman,spiderman. if it was yours truly,the lady would have seen a cloud of dust as i did a Usain bolt out of there!
the lady should base her decision on one thing and one thing alone .... ako na mchezo poa ama ni futhu futhu? if he knows his way to migingo then he should be scolded for running like a pussy,then the matter put to rest.... how else but by some mind blowing xxx..... its hard to find a 'good' man so might as well keep any good one you come across

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
stonemimi
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 8:30:00 AM

@xtina: Just ask yourself why you need this man,particularly after he abandoned you at the hour of need. now that there is no danger,he is playing nice. Ask him what he will do were the same event to recur. Anyway............. forget that pumbavu.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 9:12:00 AM

Pondi,

Eti you would Bolt....??....Sasa wewe ni mwanaume ama ni long'i.....??......-:))

Yombo dhier....!!
The Real Shaft
#31 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 9:15:00 AM

xtina* ...

dearest one....

get a real man... a real mohine....

not an excuse of testosterone....

am sure he has manicured fingernails....

smells of roses.....

and talks with his pinkie.....

when you walk together in town...

does he get as many lusty looks as you....???
wachana mtoto wa wenyewe...

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Blackberry
#32 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 9:49:00 AM

He is a coward Period! this guy is as fake as hell. he should have stayed they face the music tohether as a normal person would do.... even he was with a fellow jamaa...surely. bogas Kabisa. @Xtine,tell your friend amwambie apotelee Makindu!

Opinion is free,truth is sacred.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

Djinn
#33 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 10:03:00 AM

He is a yellow,lily-livered,chickenesque wuss...all the gifts and nice things cannot erase that moment. he could have stayed,not necessarily to fight,but to reason out,negotiate and be diplomatic at least - we are not all supermen but our wits can score more points than brawn can.

@extrablessed,my eyes are watering after reading 'knife stub or a gun short '.....clearly spoken English is easy,SMS-ese even easier and the next thing you know,spelling goes out the door.... 'knife stAb or a gun shot'

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#34 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 10:13:00 AM

I have had the misforunate of falling into the hands of thugs twice,at one time,it was a group of us in a house. I tell you with all sincerity,with thugs,you do not want to rush to negotiate....unless they expressly tell you their mission is to kill you and you have no choice.....otherwise thugs want total control of the situation and they will do anything to get the point through.....at this one time,we were at a relatives house in an upmarket area...the mathee of the house started trying to mbembeleza the 'boyish' thugs....ati 'mimi ni kama mama yenu tu'....the guys became so agitated to the point of beating her up and holding up her son and saying they will shoot him.....it was such a tense moment and if anyone said one more word or tried to be a hero....someone would have died...i think the smart thing in a thug situation is cooperate....and stay alive...there is no space for heroics when dealing with thugs....in any case....how will she know the next 'ndume' will not cower in such a situation.....you are better off with a smart guy with survival insticts....than a thick ndume.....i am just giving this as an observation to anyone who may get a notion here that you can take your chances with thugs.

Ninajua Yote!
Meru Holiness
Mr.Tea
#35 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 10:49:00 AM

@Xtina,
Keep your man.Amid the chest thumping and the noise there exists a small voice of reason. Wait until some of these bold characters are accosted by some hapless benighted youth who is armed to the hilt.His threatening bloodshot eyes telling it all. I doubt how many will have the presence of mind let alone sharp wits to tell jokes in that situation. Be glad that both of you lived to tell the tale.Only a few survive. He may be a coward,be he has both of you happy at home. There is more to a good man than sheer bravado..

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
sheep
#36 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 11:22:00 AM

@mv ufanisi...you have made ma day with your analysis...ati starring a.k.a rambo na crucial man a.k.a man danger...weeee!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
The Real Shaft
#37 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 1:48:00 PM

xtina baby..

is that a slip of the fingers....???

The Real Shaft
#38 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 1:59:00 PM

pole...

leave the chicken.....

is he anyone here in SK...???

was it muscle ripped... Kizee.....???

or...

N'j'u'n'g'e the burekenge.....

or...

mlefu..... the tall one...
Jacy26
#39 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 1:59:00 PM

@xtina,cheer up gal and sorry for that horrible incident.

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
chi20
#40 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 2:01:00 PM

@mkristo,

the idea of negotiating with thugs isnt plausible. these are guys high on various drugs and probably primo dropouts. two things arise; they are not sensible to what you may say,neither could they reason with you,as their reasoning capacity is low and blurred.

again,a thug wish to maximise on the shortest time possible to clean you of anything and everything you could be having,negotiating just denies him/them the chance,which you could pay dearly if you wont push you negotiation through. the longer a thug stays with the victim just exposes him/ them which may turn bloody and which they avoid at all cost.

mwana wa kahii. . . . .