wazua Wed, Jul 1, 2026

KISUMU MOLASSES PLANT
Jaluo
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 3:52:45 PM

WR has been philanthropic enough to return 100 acres of land to an IDP. Should RAO also begin ‘cleansing’ some of his skeletons?

What is the truth about the Kisumu Molasses Plant; does anyone have the accurate dossier on its history, status and ownership?

Mr. Google tells me so far:

BACKGROUND

Originally proposed in 1977 by the Madhvani Group as a joint venture with the Kenyan government to create jobs and generate revenue in a poor area, the Molasses Project looked to build a plant near Kisumu to produce alcohol and other products from raw molasses.

Work on the project began in 1981 but by 1983 the Kenyan Chemical and Food Corporation, the government’s special purpose vehicle set up to partner the Madhvani Group was insolvent and the Kenyan government was forced to stand by loan guarantees made. By then the cost of the project had reached $119 million against the original total project projected cost of $61.4 million.

Over the next four years various proposals were put forward to revive the project but all required funding from the Kenyan government which had adopted the firm policy that no funds were to be made available and any future revival of the project would have to obtain external financial support.

In 1986 President Moi at a rally in the Moi Stadium, Kisumu, said that the Kisumu ‘Molasses Project’ was going to be revived and Dr Ouko, in whose constituency the plant was sited, would be placed in charge of its revival.

1. When Ouko was eventually murdered after committing suicide, Troon had a theory that he believed there had been a dispute between Robert Ouko and Nicholas Biwott over the cancellation of the project; that Biwott and others, through an intermediary, had sort to extract ‘kickbacks’ from the project; and that Dr Ouko, at the time of his murder, was writing a ‘corruption report’ to go to President Moi exposing the scandal. It could have been in an attempt to stop this exposure, according to Troon, that Dr Ouko was murdered.

2. Around 1996, Raila went around Luo Nyanza collecting money to revive the molasses project. A total of Ksh. 58 million was collected locally and Ksh. 20 million collected from Kenyans living abroad. At one time Orengo mounted pressure on Raila to explain where the money went but Raila did not come up with any good explanation except saying that the money was safe in a bank account

3. In an interview with the Nation (kitambo) Raila said:

Nation: Last week the leadership of the Democratic Party revisited the issue of the Kisumu Molasses Plant and accused you of collecting money from the public ostensibly to revive the project, but which did not happen. The DP said you should be held to account. What do you say?

Raila: First, I think the record needs to be put straight. I was never a member of the Kisumu Development Trust. I am not one of their trustees. However, I was and still am supporting the revival of the Kisumu Molasses Plant. Other facts ought to be made clear here. This project was conceived, initiated and began at the time when most of those in the leadership of the DP today were in government. As a matter of fact, the Minister of Finance at that time was the DP leader (Mwai Kibaki). It is him who owes us a lot of explanation over what happened to the billions of shillings that were sunk into the project. We are trying to clean up the mess created by these individuals now in the Opposition.

What is the truth (debate)?
'' The European condemns the Africans for having two wives yet he keeps two mistresses'' - Jomo Kenyatta
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 5:17:48 PM

utajitetea ukiwa pande gani?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 5:45:38 PM

@Jaluo, are you implying that The Finance Minister then was controlling the account?
pariah
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 12:32:48 AM

@Jaluo kudos for always researching for your posts, i d like to know more on this too
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 1:17:12 AM

Jaluo wrote:
WR has been philanthropic enough to return 100 acres of land to an IDP. Should RAO also begin ‘cleansing’ some of his skeletons?

What is the truth about the Kisumu Molasses Plant; does anyone have the accurate dossier on its history, status and ownership?

Mr. Google tells me so far:

BACKGROUND

Originally proposed in 1977 by the Madhvani Group as a joint venture with the Kenyan government to create jobs and generate revenue in a poor area, the Molasses Project looked to build a plant near Kisumu to produce alcohol and other products from raw molasses.

Work on the project began in 1981 but by 1983 the Kenyan Chemical and Food Corporation, the government’s special purpose vehicle set up to partner the Madhvani Group was insolvent and the Kenyan government was forced to stand by loan guarantees made. By then the cost of the project had reached $119 million against the original total project projected cost of $61.4 million.

Over the next four years various proposals were put forward to revive the project but all required funding from the Kenyan government which had adopted the firm policy that no funds were to be made available and any future revival of the project would have to obtain external financial support.

In 1986 President Moi at a rally in the Moi Stadium, Kisumu, said that the Kisumu ‘Molasses Project’ was going to be revived and Dr Ouko, in whose constituency the plant was sited, would be placed in charge of its revival.

1. When Ouko was eventually murdered after committing suicide, Troon had a theory that he believed there had been a dispute between Robert Ouko and Nicholas Biwott over the cancellation of the project; that Biwott and others, through an intermediary, had sort to extract ‘kickbacks’ from the project; and that Dr Ouko, at the time of his murder, was writing a ‘corruption report’ to go to President Moi exposing the scandal. It could have been in an attempt to stop this exposure, according to Troon, that Dr Ouko was murdered.

2. Around 1996, Raila went around Luo Nyanza collecting money to revive the molasses project. A total of Ksh. 58 million was collected locally and Ksh. 20 million collected from Kenyans living abroad. At one time Orengo mounted pressure on Raila to explain where the money went but Raila did not come up with any good explanation except saying that the money was safe in a bank account
3. In an interview with the Nation (kitambo) Raila said:

Nation: Last week the leadership of the Democratic Party revisited the issue of the Kisumu Molasses Plant and accused you of collecting money from the public ostensibly to revive the project, but which did not happen. The DP said you should be held to account. What do you say?

Raila: First, I think the record needs to be put straight. I was never a member of the Kisumu Development Trust. I am not one of their trustees. However, I was and still am supporting the revival of the Kisumu Molasses Plant. Other facts ought to be made clear here. This project was conceived, initiated and began at the time when most of those in the leadership of the DP today were in government. As a matter of fact, the Minister of Finance at that time was the DP leader (Mwai Kibaki). It is him who owes us a lot of explanation over what happened to the billions of shillings that were sunk into the project. We are trying to clean up the mess created by these individuals now in the Opposition.
What is the truth (debate)?

This man is avoiding the question as usual and beating around the bush. where are the monies collected?
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 1:56:31 AM

@jaruo, naona unazima sigara kutumia petroli kama maji.
Haya tungoje RAOmanics to take it up!

Jaluo
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 8:44:45 AM

@kingfisher

''utajitetea ukiwa pande gani?''

Sina haja ya kujitetea, kilu mutu abebe mzigo wake, au sio? I am shopping for THE 2012 candidate, lazima we look at all the ‘’front-runners’’ equally without bias and analyse all the skeletons in their closets…..hii maneno ya ku-vote tribe all the time is not helping us.

@nostoppingthis

That is what RAO said verbatim. My opinion is that makosa ilifanyikana lakini because of his ‘’leader’’ status in Luo Nyanza, no one will speak out about it or challenge him Shhh ....I am also in the dark and looking for the accurate dossier Think ; For starters, the money that was ‘’safe in a bank account’’- was it invested, reimbursed or is still in the said account?....Maswali mengi

On another tangent, isn't RAO turning into Vasco Da Gama, always out of the country ?
'' The European condemns the Africans for having two wives yet he keeps two mistresses'' - Jomo Kenyatta
Kihangeri
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 8:56:10 AM

pariah wrote:
@Jaluo kudos for always researching for your posts, i d like to know more on this too

@Pariah.........Jaluo must have surprised you. It is called unbiased debate.

@Jaka.....The said molasses plant is today owned by the Odinga family. I doubt those who initially contributed to its purchase ever got a coin. Remember Moi gave consent for Odinga family to acquire the plant and the land it stands on for political consideration.

Sometime ago, the plant was said to be planning a float at the stock market in order to return it to the owners.

Hiyo ingine, jijazie.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#9 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 9:00:21 AM

Kihangeri wrote:
pariah wrote:

@Pariah.........Jaluo must have surprised you. It is called unbiased debate.

@Jaka.....The said molasses plant is today owned by the Odinga family. I doubt those who initially contributed to its purchase ever got a coin. Remember Moi gave consent for Odinga family to acquire the plant and the land it stands on for political consideration.

Sometime ago, the plant was said to be planning a float at the stock market in order to return it to the owners.

Hiyo ingine, jijazie.

@Kihageri, legally?
Kihangeri
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 9:13:52 AM

@Jaluo, this might give more questions than answers but we have to start somewhere.

There are so many unanswered questions, Raila

During the struggle to reintroduce multi-party democracy in Kenya, Raila Odinga flooded the media houses with calls on Kenyans to shun the draconian one-party state and agitate for pluralism.

Unlike Ngugi wa Thiong'o, Onyango Okello and Adhu Awiti, who went into political exile in America, Canada, and the Netherlands, respectively, Raila chose to fight for change from home. His fight for this noble cause, together with Masinde Muliro, Oginga Odinga, Paul Kibugi Muite, among others, bore fruit. It saw to the repeal of section 2(a) of the Constitution, allowing multi-partyism.

They were later to be joined in their struggle by Mwai Kibaki, Kenneth Matiba and Oloo Aringo to criticise the very regime under which these three gentlemen had so obediently and loyally served.

But, looking at Mr Odinga today, sitting in the Cabinet of the very Government he had so vehemently opposed, one question lingers in the minds of most Kenyans: Why the sudden about-turn?

But even as he sits in his spacious office in the powerful Ministry of Energy, critics still question what became of the money collected to buy shares to revive the stalled Kisumu molasses plant.

The sugar factories in his political backyard are in an economic quagmire. A national fish-processing factory is yet to be put up in Nyanza. The problem of the water hyacinth is yet to be completely solved. The Kisumu airport is yet to be upgraded to an international status.

A teaching and referral hospital is yet to be established in Nyanza Province. Need I say more?

JARED V. OLUOCH,
0yugis.

Raila's Record
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.