wazua Tue, Jun 23, 2026

14 Pages«<7891011>»
This is Your "Leader"
#81 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 8:55:22 PM

Why should we take your word as the truth?
pariah
#82 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 9:51:14 PM

wa P wrote:
B.Timer wrote:

Do we have it on authority that Mzee Kenyatta allocated himself land or are we relying on hearsay and mythycal folklores.

Ok, how else could he have acquired all the land? In any case, all others (the commoners) were allocated their lands after the mkoloni... The out-roar from the freedom fighters said a lot! If it was a fair distribution, we'd expect say Kimathi to have had similar if not larger piece of land than the kenyattas, not so? All the politically connected and the home guards benefited the most....

@Laughing out loudly - it may not be ALL, but most of it. Its the only way you can have such vast pieces of land without having to "displace" anyone! Which means, it was allocated before the others left the concentration camps!

This world is not fair. But it will by orders from @kyt, @pariah, @wendz et al who sagely decree what kenyatta should do with his land. My unwanted advice is, spend time buying or grabbing yours if you must. Dont covet your neighbor's.

I thought @Wendz is a learned friend? Law is not about morality - that is in the domain of religion. No land will be returned on the basis of your preaching - find evidence and present to court.

There is so much hatred dispensed in this thread towards UK, WR and to some extent RAO. Needless. Would have thought that supporters of UK/WR would be seducing supporters of RAO with nice smooth words and vice versa.

I like wazua.

at Wa P I do not covet the homeguard's loot and I do not pretend to advise your prince on what to do with his loot. All I am doing is pointing out the hypocrisy in stealing from a people then turning around to claim to save them.
pariah
#83 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 9:53:45 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Kenyatta was the president with powers to allocate public land. He allocated himself huge swathes of land. The least UK can do is start attempting to correct his father's misdeed. His siblings are not on Tv every night talking of "building a just,prosperous" Kenya for all. It's UK i see on UK, it's UK to start walking his talk. The reason why some people in Taita are squatters is coz the land they would have owned,belongs to Kenyatta.
UK got to start "correcting" his dad.
Otherwise all is hypocrisy perfected.

Nobody wanan listen to that, the prince must be protected yet we the IDP's want their RV land back!!!!

very true, no one want to reason beyond their nose, whenever the prince comes up people jump to defence mode and pointing fingers at others like RAO even if the issue had nothing to do with RAO in the first place
pariah
#84 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 9:55:43 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

I am not a big fan of Kenyattas, but reading through the posts here there is no way one can accuse him of having taken anybody's anything!

It is pointless to go to great lengths to find some feeble shade of an alleged wrong committed by Uhuru.

Unfortunately, I can say the same for Ruto!

for starters Ruto should hand back the land pronto, to its righful owner with some huge compensation and apology.

you conveniently forgot to mention the law and thousands of other people that were dispossessed following the 'hustler's' example
pariah
#85 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 10:05:07 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

I am not a big fan of Kenyattas, but reading through the posts here there is no way one can accuse him of having taken anybody's anything!

It is pointless to go to great lengths to find some feeble shade of an alleged wrong committed by Uhuru.

Unfortunately, I can say the same for Ruto!

for starters Ruto should hand back the land pronto, to its righful owner with some huge compensation and apology.

you conveniently forgot to mention the law and thousands of other people that were dispossessed following the 'hustler's' example
#86 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 10:30:06 PM

kyt wrote:
@hairdrye he grabbed public land, its called abuse of power, that is what happened my guy. dont try to act a fool

what public land dude? All those chunks in Gatundu are not in public land? Ruiru and the likes. I want evidence of someone claiming his land was grabbed by Kenyatta. Just because people were not interested in land then and kenyatta was smart and saw it might be of use in the future doesn't mean he grabbed your land. I want to see someone provide evidence his/her land was grabbed. muache fitina.

#87 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 11:06:10 PM

Jaluo wrote:
@ bepari said...

.....“ what old jomo did was morally wrong but absolutely legal.he had the power to allocate any person(s) land(katiba mzee), only tha he chose to allocate himself entire districts.morally reprehensible but still legal.’’.....

Very good point! Just to fafanua a little, here is an excerpt from Ogiek Link

Jennifer Widner explained in her 1992 book, The Rise of A Party-State in Kenya: From "Harambee!" to "Nyayo!" that KANU urged central control of all regions in an effort to forestall local majimbo legislation restricting land transfer to those born in the area, and to maintain the foothold of the party's Kikuyu supporters in the Rift Valley land market".

Many settlers were returning to Britain. Kenyatta and his cronies quickly formed the Settlement Transfer Fund Schemes (STFS) and asked the British for a loan to the Kenyan government, to buy off land from colonial settlers returning to Britain. Good idea up to this point.

Britain, having been reassured by Kenyatta that those settlers still wishing to stay on in Kenya would not have their land repossessed, advanced the money. This money was used to buy settler land which was officially sold into the Kenyatta initiated Settlement Transfer Fund Schemes (STFS).

Next, Kenyatta began to give away and sell for peanuts, these government (STFS)-acquired, former colonial land parcels, to himself, his family and cronies around 1964 and 1965. This is the point when the rain started beating Kenya.

jaluo, this is being a businessman. it doesn't mean a president can't do business. They formed a scheme, obtained loan and bought the land from the colonialists. of course this loan had to be paid back!! I don't see why people are crying oooh our land our land, why didn't they join the scheme in the first place? kwani mlikuwa mnataka cha bure!!! gggrrrrhhhh. i still insist nobody's land was grabbed these were just smart people. am sure Wazuans here would do the same
pariah
#88 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 11:29:39 PM

Jaluo wrote:
@ bepari said...

.....“ what old jomo did was morally wrong but absolutely legal.he had the power to allocate any person(s) land(katiba mzee), only tha he chose to allocate himself entire districts.morally reprehensible but still legal.’’.....

Jennifer Widner explained in her 1992 book, The Rise of A Party-State in Kenya: From "Harambee!" to "Nyayo!" that KANU urged central control of all regions in an effort to forestall local majimbo legislation restricting land transfer to those born in the area, and to maintain the foothold of the party's Kikuyu supporters in the Rift Valley land market".

Many settlers were returning to Britain. Kenyatta and his cronies quickly formed the Settlement Transfer Fund Schemes (STFS) and asked the British for a loan to the Kenyan government, to buy off land from colonial settlers returning to Britain. Good idea up to this point.

Britain, having been reassured by Kenyatta that those settlers still wishing to stay on in Kenya would not have their land repossessed, advanced the money. This money was used to buy settler land which was officially sold into the Kenyatta initiated Settlement Transfer Fund Schemes (STFS).

Next, Kenyatta began to give away and sell for peanuts, these government (STFS)-acquired, former colonial land parcels, to himself, his family and cronies around 1964 and 1965. This is the point when the rain started beating Kenya.

jaluo, this is being a businessman. it doesn't mean a president can't do business. They formed a scheme, obtained loan and bought the land from the colonialists. of course this loan had to be paid back!! I don't see why people are crying oooh our land our land, why didn't they join the scheme in the first place? kwani mlikuwa mnataka cha bure!!! gggrrrrhhhh. i still insist nobody's land was grabbed these were just smart people. am sure Wazuans here would do the same

harry, the govt was given a loan to buy land for its citizens, then kenyatta allocated it to himself and other cronies....... now you can go on lying to yourself
#89 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 1:12:06 AM

pariah wrote:
Jaluo wrote:
@ bepari said...

harry, the govt was given a loan to buy land for its citizens, then kenyatta allocated it to himself and other cronies....... now you can go on lying to yourself

why the hell were we buying back our own land? kwani we had sold it to them in the first place? Mwafrika needs to style up...sometimes I admire one Robert Mugabe.
pariah
#90 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 1:45:12 AM

pariah wrote:
Jaluo wrote:
@ bepari said...

why the hell were we buying back our own land? kwani we had sold it to them in the first place? Mwafrika needs to style up...sometimes I admire one Robert Mugabe.

sasa wewe umesimama pande gani? unatetea muthamaki na babake from a point of information ama unamtetea tu juu ni prince? ati u want we be like Zimbabwe? you are the one that needs to style up
14 Pages«<7891011>»