wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

HIV Test
Lamcy
#21 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 3:15:00 PM

For someone to request for HIV test for both of you means she/he is not only taking both of your lives seriously but is wise,and this would boost up my trust in him/her. I would ofcause appreciate my privacy and do it by myself first and then later on I can gain the confidence to do it together. Go for it buddy,there is nothing as good as knowing your status.

LIFE IS FOR THE LIVING,DEAD MEN TELL NO TALE.
Mainat
#22 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 4:40:00 PM

A couple of xmas ago,we made a pt of telling everybody in the extended fam to get tested. One of the few who was shy passed away this yr and left two orphaned kids.
AIDS/HIV is real so don't bury your head in the sand (or elsewhere) and hope for the best.
My first time to test.
It was a few yrs back when I was single and busy. Mimi nilikuwa nahara this one week. As you know,that is one of symptons.
So I just walked down to that VCT near Karbanet gardens. I had a chat with the guy. Then he took my blood and gave me the results.
Turns out some manyake I ate at Kenyatta market had played me...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Ms. Investor
#23 Posted : Saturday, November 22, 2008 5:16:00 AM

I think getting tested is the best option&hellip;No doubt about it. When my husband and I first met,we went together and got tested before anything else&hellip;.I&rsquo;m talking first week of meeting. And we went back together to pick up the results.

I find it interesting some of the responses that I&rsquo;m reading here. It&rsquo;s amazing the stigma that is still associated with HIV in Kenya. I live in the west now and getting tested has become almost part of a regular doctor&rsquo;s visit. The HIV percentage continues to rise but because many know their status,they are able to manage and lead almost normal lives.

I get tested at least twice a year. Of course the period between taking the test and getting the results is always filled with lots of prayers and many questions run through my head but it gives me peace of mind to know what my status is.

Now that you agree that getting tested is the best option,I would say just pray and pray really hard and hope for the best. Whatever your status is,it will help you know how to handle your future. Good luck and hope it works out well for you smile

Trading financial instruments involves substantial risk of loss. Please seek the advice of an independent financial advisor if you have any doubts.
Silk
#24 Posted : Saturday, November 22, 2008 7:18:00 AM

it is not only employers who will request your status. Life insurers conducts the tests themselves or their designated clinics.

Life is too short.
ngwono
#25 Posted : Saturday, November 22, 2008 10:33:00 AM

I first carried HIV -TEST mid this year when a group of trainers/Counselors came to our Orgn.to offer talk to employees.I have never ever,the reason was just that i fear injection.So this was an opportunity that i couldnt let go.It was hard but atleast i got a nother lady who was also a coward like me & we encouraged.Can u imagin that only the two of us were tested.The rest just couldnt imagin knowing their status.How i wish these pple come up with another way that they do not have to inject anyone............hmmmmm.Coz of that i will not do it again till the day i will be crossing over since it will be a must,as in in our Church.

But those who have know problem with injection,i would encourage you to be tested always and know your health status.Mostly when you have a partner,you might not know what do happens behind the scenes.It is bad to invest in stocks ar carryout all manner of investments so as to become rich but you do not invest in your health.

@Liv

How much does it cost to do a full medical check up??? I think this is a way to go.I hope the do not have to inject anyone.....Hii mambo ya cindano ni stress.Most of the time we have heard of pple collapsing and being promoted to glory just like that.This is because there was something eating then silently from within.So we should not just carry out HIV TEST but one should go for a full medical test once a while.

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
ngwono
#26 Posted : Saturday, November 22, 2008 10:50:00 AM

May be you are already positive already and thinking that the world has come to an end.There is hope.God can heal.He is a healer and if you trust and believe he will heal you.Last sunday an Usher who has been +ve for 8yrs testified in our Church that she has received devined healing from above.You might doubt this but it do happen but just for them that belives.With God all is possible

If you are -ve but your ways are not strait,plse be faithfull to God and to your Partner.If you continue living in immorality,you will definately get the reward or reap it.You know God is faithful and will give you what you are seeking for.Utavuna chenye unapanda.Just remove from your mind this notion that pple do say that a man(or woman of course) cannot be satified with one partner.It is possible.

And if you are still single.Please be faithful to God.It is possible to be young and live a holy life for God.If you cant survive a lone,then marry one wife and stick to it.like appostle Paul is saying that it is better to marry than to burn with passion.

It is never easy but lets ask God to give us the grace to be able to live a holy life and remain faithful.

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
Jacy26
#27 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 10:53:00 AM

ZZE,did u finally overcome ua fear?

and it came to pass
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
beaugenious
#28 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 12:37:00 PM

@ZZE..

its just a test that will enable you make contegency plans for your life.

take courage man.
#29 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 2:28:00 PM

God is great&hellip;.. Just came back from the VCT @ ICC msa rd&hellip;.they have an excellent counselor&hellip;.. driving there was easy - all I did was say a prayer,but walking from the car to the VCT office was impossible,I did not know my body could shake that much&hellip;.. then the 15min wait for the result is worse&hellip;. Staring at the strips&hellip;.sweat was flowing&hellip;.

Now am off to take some summit to cool dem nerves&hellip;. and thanks all SKerians for the support..

Forgive your enemies but never forget their names…
PONDI
#30 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 2:43:00 PM

good for you. however i hope you all know that someone who has been infected recently or is on anti-retrovirals and is healthy can have such a low viral load that an ordinary HIV test would not pick it up? a close relative of mine shows up negative on the simple finger-prick test which tests for HIV anti-bodies only. in short just because you and your partner get tested and are negative does not mean you can now 'skinny dip'.... unaweza chomeka mbaya!!
slykat
#31 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 3:22:00 PM

Everyone who has ever had unprotected sex,a blood transfusion,dental work in dubious places and suspect injections or cuts (eg. by Wagangas or traditional circumcisers) might be +ve,and has probably anguished about to test or not to test!

I would suggest to those thinking of testing,do not do it before you educate yourself thoroughly about HIV. This helps u deal with the anxiety and the results much better. When u r informed,the fear is far less and courage far more (my own experience)!

For example,u can sleep with a +ve partner unprotected and not contract it. The chance of getting infected is 0.2 - 2% and is highest if the +ve person was infected in the last 3-6 months (non-symptomatic) of your having sex,or is in the AIDs stage (u r unlikely to have sex with this one),so just coz u found out that one of your lays has died of it doesnt mean you have it! And just coz ur lay looked perfectly healthy doesnt mean,they dont have it!

Another point is to determine why you r doing the test! eg,

a) i think am -ve and want to make sure i dont get infected by my partner,b) i think am +ve and do not want to infect my partner or others,
c) i think am +ve and just want to change my lifestyle and seek treatment so i can live a long,near normal life (living positively)
d) i think am +ve and want to find out and prepare for my quick exit from this world with as little shame as possible (death wish) and probably go with as many others as i can.

If u take route d,in two yrs u will have picked all manner of OIs,guilt,shame and u will be way beyond treatment.

If u take route c,it might be 5-10yrs before u even need to be put on treatment! And can look forward to another 30 yrs on earth (and who knows what medication will come out before then)

I have lost an uncle and an aunt who took route d,i have a close friend who cant decide if they r c or d,and isnt doing very well healthwise because his mind is not made up.

My first HIV test taught me something we do with shares and biz,get the fundamentals right before you start going for the test. this makes u know what next after the test!

But still the tests have been scary but less so because i know what to do with my life in either eventuality!

When buying shares,ask yourself,would you buy the whole company?
kishtash
#32 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 4:19:00 PM

@ ZZE.... woie...i cant control myself but laugh until i cannot laugh anymore....machozi tu...you prayed before you tested..then headed where after the test? mmh..Africans! Jehovah?
It happened to me when i was getting married. Before we went naked with my partner,she really insisted on a do the test or never... my fred,it took me sleepless nights to accept her proposal. Grave was so near...then she insisted we had to go together! she thought i can bribe my way to +ve..wanawake.....now we had to visit a clinic in corner house. I cant believe i was shaking that much waiting for the lifts to open..and again..telling the receptionist the purpose for our visit ! oh my God,i was sweating blood ! I could not admire any single lady that time..my small head was so shameful...then counselling which was excellent...but the 15 mins wait....i sneezed enough times,felt like to collapse..then the beautiful nurse called us inside.. i could hardly raise my legs..i was glued to my chair...i could feel me dead and in sheol...but she announced -ve... i hugged the nurse so hard until i realised she was too beautiful for a kiss but i did do it.. i took away my bribe to my cube in buru and had fun all the night.. from then i decided to stick to her alone.. btw she was a v**gn! Hey men,we have gone through it and now we are living a happy life after the episode&gt;&gt;&gt;

tash
mickey
#33 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 7:33:00 PM

I believe in getting tested - knowledge is power. As someone mentioned,getting the first negative result does not mean you are negaitve still need to go back for further testing especially if you suspect you might be infected or participate in risky behaviour. Return at 3 wks,6wks and 3 months. Play safe and go back again in another 6 months. I have taken care of patients with a 27+ yr history of HIV. Here in the developed nations HIV is beginning to be viewed as any other chronic disease eg diabetes or cardiac disease. The trick is to know your status early and to get on a treatment plan right away. You let your viral load pile up in denial and the earliest OI takes you out.

Courage. Go get tested.

Whichever way you will still find out early enough while you are still healthy and can do something constructive about it,or when the OIs set in.

You decide when you want to know.

mickey
ngwono
#34 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2008 4:58:00 AM

HIV NOW SPREADS FASTEST IN MARRIAGES.Read DN pge 42 for the reasons.Bad news

Wacha mpango wa kando.EPUKA UKIMWI

MARREX
#35 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2008 5:56:00 AM

@ ngwono

people who are on the last stage test negative...coz there are no antibodies in the body.That usher in your church who got healed may be lacking antibodies and thinking all is good.

its like a child may test positive due to the mothers antibodies in him....but later on tests negative when he makes his own antibodies..and you know what....its the pastors who take the credit......ati aliponya ukimwi.

stocksmaster! am back!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2008 8:40:00 AM

@Pondi,it&rsquo;s too early to spoil my party&hellip; I have a king size hangover&hellip;.. Are you guys saying that the two strips used (different types) that gave similar results could be wrong??

and guys its better to be safe than sorry&hellip;.. Get tested now!!-

Forgive your enemies but never forget their names…
jitetee
#37 Posted : Monday, December 22, 2008 5:02:00 AM

I am going for one today...always thot I could hack this without breaking a sweat. But am I tense or what?

Time and chance happen to all.
ngwono
#38 Posted : Monday, December 22, 2008 7:30:00 AM

Dear friend,if you are a victim or housing a victim,kindly let me know the right diet that a patient should be under.There is a life that i need to prolong.Or if you are a doctor or an HIV councellor,please help

jaheim
#39 Posted : Monday, December 22, 2008 5:00:00 PM

Early 2006 did ma first test,i had been very promiscous,i had like 3 stable chicks but i still henya on the side,man i have an appetite. Got a job overseas and before i travelled had to take a full medical including HIV,i was so stressed for 3 days waiting for the results.Theres a HIV test called LIZA in nairobi hospital sio ati mambo ya stripes which could be there or not,this is an international one. Those 3 days were the most agonizing days of my life i cant forget,i had a fever and i hardly ate. They came out clean i'm telling you that was the end of promiscuity,once you know your status you cant play around,even with a condom. Now i'm hitched and i'm having my fun with mamaa i dont even think of kuhenya. So please go get tested man and take control of your life,you will value your life more and be more responsible

Jay
Samoran
#40 Posted : Wednesday, December 24, 2008 12:52:00 PM

@ngwono,I know what your are supposed to do to take care of a victim. I have been working with an organisation that does research HIV for some 10 years now. A victim of HIV suffers from many afflictions but majourly they are psychologically affected. As a care giver there is alot that is required of you,I may have to send you some stuff that will be helpful to you. A good blanced diet is very important fo the victim plus also good medical care (seeking treatment and recieving good treatment when sick) are paramount. Pliz contact me @kasibo1@yahoo.co.uk for more details

If you are the big tree,
we are the small axe.........