wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

HIV Test
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 20, 2008 2:21:00 PM

Would you take a HIV test??

How would u react if your partner (not married) says that you take the test together?

Forgive your enemies but never forget their names…
JkMwatha
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 20, 2008 3:09:00 PM

Whether asked or not.... I think if you have concerns it's better to know than not to.

Due to the stigma involved,I would go and have a test without informing my partner and if +ve..... I would not announce it (despite whatever I do after that )... If I have to lie, I would but I certainly would not go about spreading it.

Assume you contracted HIV and did nothing about it ... becoz u did not know. How long would you live without treatmnt.?

' HIV is a chronic disease just like diabetes,hypertension or asthma. Just like other chronic conditions,HIV is highly treatable. In fact,HIV is less deadly than heart failure or many cancers. There are millions of HIV positive people working,raising families,spending time with friends and family; enjoying life.

The key to HIV treatment is early detection and sticking to the regime of medicines that your doctor has prescribed.

One day there will be a cure. We have made remarkable progress fighting HIV. New medications are coming out all the time. HIV is not the death-sentence it was 10 or 15 years ago.'

http://www.coreynahman.c...Vdrugdatabase61499.html

..the queens language came with a ship and some of us.... picked the wrong container.
#3 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 5:16:00 AM

@JKMwatha,thanks… very informative piece…but isn’t it better when u don’t know hence you don’t get stressed about it??

JkMwatha
#4 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 8:11:00 AM

I'm sure it's stressing... there are several other thing that stress us...including NSE.

Anyway seroiusly... I have burried relatives who have died of diabetes related illnesses,hiv and so on.... They would be alive today (some even more than 10yrs later) had they known and treatment was administered.

..the queens language came with a ship and some of us.... picked the wrong container.
Jacy26
#5 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 8:42:00 AM

By all means get tested. Its worse not knowing ua status,everytime you get a small ailment you start thinking .....oh my God I am HiV +. But once you get tested you will have a clear idea of how u want to manage ua life. Ignorance is no defence.

and it came to pass
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
extrablessed
#6 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 9:08:00 AM

Easy.......Just agree with your partner that each gets tested separately then,at a later date,you both do a test together. There is a high probability that,both of you will come home excited and with a big smile,or both of you will come home dejected and wishing the earth would open its mouth and swallow you whole... Either way,you will live life thereafter..

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
Merry May
#7 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 9:11:00 AM

Let me tell you my friends,am poz and got infected by a partner who knew they were poz! I assumed since we had been dating for a year b4 going 'naked' and our history was even longer than this and we kept talking about how we have never had OIs (opportunistic infections) that we were OK? well,the sad story is that all that is now history and I have to deal with the reality!

In short, please,please get the ELISA test before u engage in unprotected sex. It is quick and accurate. The RAPID test is not as accurate as it does not detect a new infection.

Good luck & take care... there are serious liars out there!

Better safe than sorry!

msafiri...... on a journey!
Silk
#8 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 9:19:00 AM

As Jacy said,you'll still get stressed by not knowing. you will carry a daily burden that can wear you out. Weka hii mzigo chini by getting tested. For how long are you going to use condoms? you don't miss going naked?

You might be very negative for your information.

Had to do one once i decided to marry but much more for my kids whom i was hungry to sire. hugged the nurse when she pronounced,negative.

Life is too short.
Gideonboots
#9 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 9:59:00 AM

@ZZE123

Imagine this,This is not even about your partner but about you.

3 scenarios,

You go to test and you find you are -ve,You will have reduced your stress drastically,You will feel that you have a second chance of organising ua live,You will comfortably tell your partiner 'GO FOR TEST' and be more willing to tell your partner 'THEN LET US GO TOGETHER'

If you get you are +ve,still you will realize that you can live positively,check on your diet,make some medium 5-10 yrs plan and be on the check out.

If you do not go,You will always have stress about your status.

My 3 cents

Hand that Giveth Receiveth
ngwono
#10 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 11:01:00 AM

@ZZE123,plse change your topic to HIV test,you know i thot ur teeling us dat ur having an examination -this ......school/colle thing.

My opinion is one should know his/her status.If good sing halleluya and remain faithful,if its badnews,plse you can still live for 15 and a bove.The earlier the better.I feel bad when some pple die btwn 1-3yrs coz of ignorance even when there are some org giving free meds.I know of a person who has been tested twice and still to not want to accept the reality.I just do not know how to help the dude yet am sure therez some hope.

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
JkMwatha
#11 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 11:14:00 AM

agree with Ngwono... @ZZ....3 edit the topic to 'HIV Test' & you will get more attention/responses.

Mbuga Man
#12 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 11:22:00 AM

Telling ME to go for test??? it definately means he/she is not faithful and I will Say a big No and start a commitee to invetigate her/his conduct as well as put her/him on indefinate probation for atleast 4 months. during this period of 'NO TALKING OR CALLING',I may give her/him a surprise call and dedicate her a song by celine Dione,' ....It must have been love,but it is over now....'. The market has been liberalised........

If All Men were to remain on Planet earth and women taken to Planet Mass or Pluto,then men will not be tempted...as easy as 1+1
Liv
#13 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 11:26:00 AM

I go for full medical check up every 2 year. I see a dentist at least once a year. This is the way it should be if you can afford. It is very refreshing once you are declared 'in Good Health'.
#14 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 11:27:00 AM

While i so agree with your concern of getting tested,i must say it is very very very important to get tested. If it is your first time,you will be nervous,sweaty,and damn scared. but you will come over it once you get the results!! The first time i went,my partner had already gone and showed me the results. I had declined but i knew i would do it anyway. i waited till they travelled out of town and i went for the test. Of course i passed pastor Muiru's church on my way but when i got my results,i entered in the next bar for celebrations!!!! Human beings?????????

This week,a friend of ours - high flying,young,earning 1m+,with sexy bima,living in beatiful apartment and recently promoted was admitted to hosi. we knew he was sick but we really didnt know what he was ailing from. Only this week we learnt he was +ve and he knew it!! and dint tell anyone!! this denial is what is killing him,not the disease itself. So,even if you get to know,let the most important people in your life know because they will help you. We live with people who are +ve and they lead a healthy life so it is not a death sentence....

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#15 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 11:47:00 AM

@all,thanks. From the responses it’s unanimous that testing is the best option…. But how does one get the courage to go??

#16 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 11:57:00 AM

ZZE,

Eti courage.....??...You are too suspicious of yourself.Kwani umekuwa kama Ruto na bahasha ya Waki....??

Guka wa bijuti...
#17 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 12:13:00 PM

@Njung’e,Wee wacha…. Unless am high on summit,I can’t just walk to a VCT and say 'pima!!!'

#18 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 12:29:00 PM

Hey people,

there is no bad news with a HIV test. If negative,good. If positive,it also good coz either way you end up knowing and living better. coincidentally,today a good friend of mine is being buried just because he did not know in time. It is very painful.

My experience was wierd. just like wendz,I let my family go out of town then went looking for a VCT centre. Imagine out of all there are,I ended up at Forces memorial hospital. oh my goodness,i had never come so close to military fatigue. they gave me good counselling then ran the test. She ( yes it was an army dada) kept me talking before she asked' so what do you think is your status? After staring at her for ages the says.. Just go on and check!!. I rose up went and bent over.to see whether it was one line or two..

Oh by the way,now that i speak about the event,she was stunningly beatiful but a soldier all the same.( I am stil perplexed todate). The first thing you should do though is see a good counsellor.. that is the secret. do not just walk into a clinic and get tested.
ali
#19 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 1:02:00 PM

I remember some time back after colle when a girl I was dating wrote me an sms and told me to visit a vct soonest possible. I didn’t sleep a wink that night. I was awake the whole night. what amazes me is that I tested negative

On checking why the lady was telling me to do go for the test,I realized that her previous BF had passed away cos of HIV. Mimi,haiya,hata sijawahi cheza na maisha tena.

I am more than a conqueror in Christ Jesus
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#20 Posted : Friday, November 21, 2008 2:11:00 PM

The only time I took a test was in 2003 when,after an interview,my would be employer told me i have to do a full medical check up,which included HIV test. It was either the test or I die of hunger. I chose not to die of hunger after tarmacking for 1 year and as Wendz puts it I prayed and read many verses be4 the test. But on that night I drove thrice along K -street,just viewing as they unleashed... Vile tu rais anakagua gwaride... I did not do anything,dont get me wrong. But reading these posts I feel I should pay another visit for a test.