wazua Wed, May 6, 2026

7 Pages<12345>»
Hardtalk: state funerals
luttz
#21 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 3:10:13 PM

@ Masukuma, I agree with some of your sentiments but largely disagree on the role of the state in growth of the economy.

There is a strong convergence of the roles the state has played in the older developed economies and the newly industrialized economies like Singapore. Let us take Singapore as an example:

They gained independence in 1965, after Kenya. The govt embarked on an aggressive role in the development of the economy under the leadership of Lee Kuan Yew. Lee's government opened doors to FDI (with incentives), freed port operations, created an export oriented policy which encouraged labour intensive manufacturing and built a very strong infrastructure- both Human and physical. At the same time, Lee retained some level of democracy through the one party (People's action Party)while at the same time regulated the political dynamics. His government focused on a strong social system that saw the labour unions as part of the governance while at the same time declared strikes for essential services illegal.

Now, while this was happening, Kenyan leadership was allocating itself land, Njenga Karume was running with motions to bar Moi presidency in case Mzee died, the governemnt was promoting corruption while killing those who opposed it. 1974 economic blue print was stuck somewhere in the shelves etc. I can write and write

30 years down the line, you cannot expect the two nations to have anything in common.

What we are demanding as Kenyans is leadership that is focused on the right priorities not according state funerals to the political class.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#22 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 3:22:07 PM

I have heard many say that Hon. Michuki transformed our transport sector. Did you know that he was on a monthly salary to do that?

Let's give credit where it's due, Michuki did an exemplary job. All of them are paid but how many get the job done? We need to find ways of recognizing and rewarding (although Michuki is dead) otherwise why should you even work harder at anything? I'm in support of a State funeral for Michuki because at least I get to see where the money is going. Most of the money is stolen behind the scenes anyway.

#23 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 3:42:40 PM

Why do people have to start counting at independence? Who said that's when any kind of metric deserves to be taken? South Africa was granted independence in 1910. Ethiopia was never colonized. some people like mozambique were properly colonized their grand parents are still named carlos do santos
#24 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 8:16:54 PM

Masukuma amewasukuma kweli. Should anyone get a state burial? By all means Yes. People who have made a mark in the country ought to be honoured this way and in many other ways. Not because they were perfect but because they played a prominent part in building the nation. We cannot please everyone. If u ask magigi, he will say inyaa magigi is the only hero who should be honored with the 21 gun salute. You may be making a mark wherever u are, please go on. Great will be your reward in heaven. Here on earth we honour those with big names more prominently than ordinary people. Thats life!
#25 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 9:28:48 PM

The government will be involved in the burial preparations for the late veteran politician and entrepreneur, James Njenga Karume, who succumbed to cancer on Friday at Karen Hospital.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/moufsb/-/index.html
...This is a government that has its priorities upside down...
#26 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 10:25:52 PM

The government will be involved in the burial preparations for the late veteran politician and entrepreneur, James Njenga Karume, who succumbed to cancer on Friday at Karen Hospital.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/moufsb/-/index.html
...This is a government that has its priorities upside down...

people think a government is run like a kiosk! ati just because you have money, you can divert it midstream into some other project at will.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 10:59:59 AM

people think a government is run like a kiosk! ati just because you have money, you can divert it midstream into some other project at will.

The government is me and you. Do something about it.

B.Timer
#28 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 11:04:51 AM

I am a firm believer that Uhuru was granted by the Brits - no such thing as winning it through armed struggle.

If anything, the Mau mau business actually served to delay uhuru.

Most other African countries got their independence smoothly and swiftly without as much bloodletting.

This is not to justify colonization and the attendant atrocities by the Brits on us.

Having said that;

I share the opinion put forth by @Chicascuro
That we afford the President some leeway to decide whom to accord state funeral.

Again that is not to mean he couldnt be biased here and there!

I am persuaded that Michuki deserves a state send off, but Njenga Karume!! - That was PM's idea anyway!
Dunia ni msongamano..
#29 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 11:25:57 AM

B.Timer wrote:

I am persuaded that Michuki deserves a state send off, but Njenga Karume!! - That was PM's idea anyway!

Did Raila say Karume would be given a state send off? I thought he only said that gvt 'would be involved in the funeral arrangements' which could even be provision of security which is granted anyway since govt big shots will be there.

Please note that while we had flags flying half mast for Michuki, there was no such recognition for Karume.

GOK has been involved in the funerals of sitting ministers for as long as I remember.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 11:55:53 AM

The government is me and you. Do something about it.

who told you?
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly that's another myth Liar ...ukiwekwa ndani ni wewe umejiweka? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
7 Pages<12345>»