wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

The truth about 14 seater Matatu phase out
murenj
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 6:51:47 AM

Amos the root has finaly confessed: the phase out has nothing to do with traffic jams, but to keep the local motor vehicle manufactures in business. The guy seems not to appreciate that mama mboga is indirectly employed by the matatu sector: with technocrats like these, who needs vision 2030?
Lucid_Iam
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 8:07:47 AM

His statement about 'hawker economy' may have been arrogant but makes sense. I support the phase out especially for intra-city commuting. 14 seater matatus owned by 'husband and wife' as he puts it lack any organization. We must also be a country that has long term vision and plans. This short term concerns like loss of jobs should not make us lose sight of where we want to go.
QW25091985
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 8:43:24 AM

murenj wrote:
Amos the root has finaly confessed: the phase out has nothing to do with traffic jams, but to keep the local motor vehicle manufactures in business. The guy seems not to appreciate that mama mboga is indirectly employed by the matatu sector: with technocrats like these, who needs vision 2030?

what does he mean ...even those 28 seater or whatever can be imported from japan or asia !
Burning Spear
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 8:46:50 AM

I am in support for the phase out of the 14 seater matatu. Look at all the major cities worldwide and tell me which one is served by 14 seater.
Though jobs may be lost, we need to appreciate the fact that we need to achieve congestion free city.We can only do that by employing buses with bigger capacities eg 50 and above. This one together with better train services will mean that traffic will ease on our roads.

The ministry should also look at the Tuk Tuk menace, even in Tanzania, Tuk Tuk and motor bikes are not permitted to ply in the CBD off Dar.
sometime you need tough decisions which may impact positively in the long run.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 9:59:26 AM

I support the phase out. I don't know what the operators are complaining about. They were given a lot of time to get themselves organised. They still have something like five years and then the 14-seaters will be totally banned from the roads.

Nevertheless: the process can be improved by, for example, cutting taxes on larger PSVs and increasing tax on smaller ones.

The reason why PSV operators have preferred 14-seaters is that the cost per seat for a 14-seater is about that of a 23 or 33 seater. So you get much greater ROCE from a 14-seater...
alustaadh
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 10:13:18 AM

now on kenyatta avenue. lots of private cars and busses. lots of traffic jam but no matatus
It is humiliating to be associated with thieves and murderers.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:25:47 PM

Me thinks we need to move from 14 seaters. However, the country is at different stages of development. I think we should ban all 14 seaters from Nairobi by july this year. However, they can still be used huko machinani where there are not many people.

Eventually though, Bw kimunya and co should set up a Public Transport Reitz company.. where investors can pool money and form companies that buy the buses required. These buses should be regulated by Govt and run like a listed company.
subaru
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 5:18:56 PM

i think the business should be left for the common mwananchi so about forming companies will not solve the issue of jams
eboomerang
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 6:01:41 PM

First, I agree that 14seaters should be phased out.

Will that solve our traffic problems? NO it will not solve the problem at all.

Do the larger minibuses create similar chaos? YES they do

So why do we have traffic jams and a high roads related death toll?
Substandard driving schools. Private car owners are even worse when it comes to traffic rules, see this video.

What is the way forward? regulation regulation regulation.

Regulate driving schools and public sector transportation and if possible nationalize them with a private-public funding structure.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 7:49:09 PM

80% of traffic jam is caused by lack of common sense. I see people blocking each other as if they have nothing between their ears. makes me sick. Let there be working traffic lights and everyone should follow the law. add a litle common sense and traffic jams will be a thing of the past. With the 14 seater mats, true they should go to shagz and some can convert to other businesses like mirraa. This will promote local business as Kimunya says like the local GM assembly and also for environmental reasons. The larger buses should also be required to run on clean fuels
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 8:29:49 PM

@Burning Spear, I have had the fortune of traveling to some of the cities of the world. I have seen 14 seaters do a fantastic job in J'burg, I have seen tuktuks do a splendid job in Mumbai. I have also learnt that a mass transit system must inherently be a loss maker run or heavily subsidized by the municipal council.
mozenrat
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 8:50:01 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
I am in support for the phase out of the 14 seater matatu. Look at all the major cities worldwide and tell me which one is served by 14 seater.

I believe New York is served by 2 seaters (the yellow cabs)
murenj
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 9:38:41 PM

80% of traffic jam is caused by lack of common sense. I see people blocking each other as if they have nothing between their ears. makes me sick. Let there be working traffic lights and everyone should follow the law. add a litle common sense and traffic jams will be a thing of the past. With the 14 seater mats, true they should go to shagz and some can convert to other businesses like mirraa. This will promote local business as Kimunya says like the local GM assembly and also for environmental reasons. The larger buses should also be required to run on clean fuels

This is the major problem here...people prescribing medicine for others, which they themselves are unwilling to take. A ban in importation of second hand saloon cars will boost the sales of local manufactures substantially. Private motorists consists 40% of traffic in CBD, and have an average occupancy rate of 30%. Compare with 14 seat PSV's which compose 25% of the traffic but have an occupancy rate of 75%
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 10:00:04 PM

the only way ease traffic jam is do away with private vehicles in nairobi. but who can dare propose that?
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 6:00:54 AM

mozenrat wrote:
Burning Spear wrote:

I believe New York is served by 2 seaters (the yellow cabs)

and they are worse off than our 14 seater mats. trust me.

#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 6:03:03 AM

kyt wrote:
the only way ease traffic jam is do away with private vehicles in nairobi. but who can dare propose that?

the simplest way is to hike those parking fees. charge by the hr and nobody will bring those junks to town. The reason people commute in big cities is the high cost of parking and the tolls charged to enter the city. For example it costs $8 every 30 minutes in NYC
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 6:04:41 AM

murenj wrote:

This is the major problem here...people prescribing medicine for others, which they themselves are unwilling to take. A ban in importation of second hand saloon cars will boost the sales of local manufactures substantially. Private motorists consists 40% of traffic in CBD, and have an average occupancy rate of 30%. Compare with 14 seat PSV's which compose 25% of the traffic but have an occupancy rate of 75%

who has refused to take medicine? me? am a very professional driver. keep the ideas coming

#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 8:53:40 AM

kyt wrote:

This, unfortunately, is the truth.
mnjoro
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 9:22:37 AM

kyt wrote:

the simplest way is to hike those parking fees. charge by the hr and nobody will bring those junks to town. The reason people commute in big cities is the high cost of parking and the tolls charged to enter the city. For example it costs $8 every 30 minutes in NYC

Very true.But Matatus must go cause even with the senseless driving we see on our roads,90% involve Matatus.
mmarto
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 9:43:36 AM

the simplest way is to hike those parking fees. charge by the hr and nobody will bring those junks to town. The reason people commute in big cities is the high cost of parking and the tolls charged to enter the city.

Commuting in such cities is easy and possible because there is a working transport system. Do we have any here? We should not attempt to copy what works elsewhere without considering all the factors.

The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.