wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

swimming lessons for Kids
#1 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 10:17:00 PM

Im looking for a place with a swimming pool plus an instructor who can be able to teach my son how to swim.
Any ideas of a good place, prices and contacts??

#2 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 10:22:20 PM

chemos wrote:

Im looking for a place with a swimming pool plus an instructor who can be able to teach my son how to swim.

Drool Laughing out loudly ...Now we know.Go home and look the kids in the eyes and tell them the truthLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#3 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 11:50:10 PM

chemos wrote:

Drool Laughing out loudly ...Now we know.Go home and look the kids in the eyes and tell them the truthLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Daddy can't swim. Daddy can't float either. smile
#4 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 12:03:04 AM

jguru wrote:
chemos wrote:

Daddy can't swim. Daddy can't float either. smile

Or daddy uses floaters in the bath tubsmile
#5 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 12:06:00 AM

It has been a while now since I saw them but I hope these guys are still there.

At Nyayo stadium there is a guy called Nzuki. He is an old guy experienced and will take the kid step by step getting the hand and leg movements right for each stroke.

The best however has got to be Wainaina at YMCA. He is also the acquatic director at the international school. He will make a plan for the kid, teach them all the strokes correctly and keep a log of their progress. If you want the kids to learn not just how to swim but also the discipline it takes to be a competitive athlete this is the guy to go to. He is a nice guy and if you talk to him he can help you push your children beyond their comfort levels to discover something special in themselves.

Remember to learn how to swim correctly is an investment in time. I would say plan something like 2 or 3 hours a week for 12 to 16 weeks consistently. Sio kuangalia nje, see it is sunny then say lets go swimming, then the next time you go is 3 weeks later then one month later, Noooooooooooooo hiyo ni katapatapa majini and not swimming.

There are also guys at Kasarani who are good instuctors. Bei ndiyo sijui but I can imagine it is something that is negotiable with each instuctor.

Go for it Chemos. It is a good thing you are doing for your kids.
#6 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 12:08:02 AM

@Kusadikika,

He teaches daddies too?smile
#7 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 12:11:40 AM

@Njunge

I have seen them teaching daddies and mommies too.. By the way swimming is one of those things you can learn at any age. Usiogope Guka!! Go for it.
#8 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 12:14:26 AM

@Njunge

I have seen them teaching daddies and mommies too.. By the way swimming is one of those things you can learn at any age. Usiogope Guka!! Go for it.

Forget it but thanks for the encouragement.Wainaina has two more potential customersLaughing out loudly ....but wait,the last time i tried,i found myself lying at the bottom of the pool like a silver coinsmile
#9 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 8:57:29 AM

Kusaidika true to ur name asante sana...
Will try those guys out. Does YMCA have a swimming pool and directions please...

Guka and the rest chekeni tu... Mimi nimeamua mambo ya karai imesisha .... Mombasa siendi tena kama sijui kufloat... Plus hio kuchekelewa na junior ndio nataka kumaliza kabisa imagine wananiita bouncing castle yenye haiwezi kufloat...
Plus its something we can do tog with chemos jnr...

sa
Bree
#10 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 11:26:30 AM

Additionally google African swimming academy & register. The owner has been coaching my daughter since she was 3. At 9 now, she has won several trophies in national galas & she enjoys the sport. It keeps her fit & sober even in academics.

@guk, am a mistress of this game...holla
#11 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 6:04:34 PM

@Chemos, YMCA has a 33 metre long pool. It is located here:

http://maps.google.com/m...,+Kenya&t=m&z=16
luttz
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 1:47:47 PM

Any body with telephone contacts for YMCA trainers?
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 2:44:45 PM

@ Bree,

Thanks alot for the help. called the guys at the Academy and we(chemos and chemoslet) are going for our first lesson this wkend..

@ Luttz,
Am told the pool at YMCA has not been good for the last 1 month and no signs of repair..
Check out this link provided by Bree and contact the guys. Turns out they are the same guys doing most trainings at YMCA when the pool is functioning.

http://africaswimmingacademy.org/contacts.php

The contact Guy Paul is the Swimming Director at Makini School and lessons are currently being held there..
QW25091985
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 3:02:44 PM

want your kids to learn swimming well. take them to doof mpararo !
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 3:13:55 PM

QW25091985 wrote:

wapi?? kwa sewers??? na Nairobi river ilichafuka after michuki augue...

Mduf pararo only applies to ushago... lakini sis maskwota wa nai tutafanyaje?
Dash
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 4:30:18 PM

QW25091985 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause
vin
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 6:02:51 PM

@Njunge

Forget it but thanks for the encouragement.Wainaina has two more potential customersLaughing out loudly ....but wait,the last time i tried,i found myself lying at the bottom of the pool like a silver coinsmile

I have been taught and coached but whenever i flap my feet,i forget the hands and results is a tummy full of chlorine,so mimi i can only take the kids for lessons.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
luttz
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2012 7:32:14 PM

@Chemos, Shukrani, will get in touch with them. Swimming for the kids is a must but not me. I only know how to float in River Nzoia.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."