Review
Are the British trying to copy MPESA?
we cannot hoard technology. This being the sixth year of mpesa in operation, other countries have been sluggish in adopting it and replicate its success in their countries. We have embraced paypal, visa, mastercards, moneybookers, and a host of other technologies developed by others. I would personally be happy if mpesa or its derivatives were adopted across the globe. It would sigify that we can also technologically change the world, without crying foul that we are being copied.
I think it is different platform from the mpesa and very localized, Mpesa is designed specifically for developing world where there is few banks few ATMs and a large need to send money. This market profile is unique to developing countries, therefore deploying this technology to a market like british is not going to work.
I can deposit a check via a smartphone that is not the same platform as Mpesa, I can also tranfer money online which is exactly similar to what British bank is trying to do but via smart phone app.
Trying to copy MPESA from who? Is MPESA Kenyan?
Drunkard wrote:I think it is different platform from the mpesa and very localized, Mpesa is designed specifically for developing world where there is few banks few ATMs and a large need to send money. This market profile is unique to developing countries, therefore deploying this technology to a market like british is not going to work.
I can deposit a check via a smartphone that is not the same platform as Mpesa, I can also tranfer money online which is exactly similar to what British bank is trying to do but via smart phone app. But I have been transfering money online for ages using my phone among other things as a BBK customer using Hello money. See the following info about the service. With Hello Money, you will be able to: Check your account balance and mini-statements. Transfer funds to your accounts, to other accounts within Barclays and to accounts in other banks. Pay for your electricity and water bills. Order for your account statement. Order for your cheque book. www.barclays.com/africa/...roducts/hello-money.html
@Jaggernaut so what are you saying? are you agreeing with me or disagreeing?
jaggernaut wrote:Drunkard wrote:I think it is different platform from the mpesa and very localized, Mpesa is designed specifically for developing world where there is few banks few ATMs and a large need to send money. This market profile is unique to developing countries, therefore deploying this technology to a market like british is not going to work.
I can deposit a check via a smartphone that is not the same platform as Mpesa, I can also tranfer money online which is exactly similar to what British bank is trying to do but via smart phone app. But I have been transfering money online for ages using my phone among other things as a BBK customer using Hello money. See the following info about the service. With Hello Money, you will be able to: Check your account balance and mini-statements. Transfer funds to your accounts, to other accounts within Barclays and to accounts in other banks. Pay for your electricity and water bills. Order for your account statement. Order for your cheque book.www.barclays.com/africa/...roducts/hello-money.html at wat cost? If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
@livie The service is free. You just have to pay for the SMS.
Even the BBC has acknowledged that Kenya has been at the forefront of mobile money technology and Britain & the developed world are trying to catch up. www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-17057570
jaggernaut wrote:Even the BBC has acknowledged that Kenya has been at the forefront of mobile money technology and Britain & the developed world are trying to catch up. www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-17057570 Mpesa, will and has been succesful in Kenya mainly because of our profile, the Mpesa technology is unique to us, developing countries, but can you pitch the Mpesa technology to an American or British firm? Yes you can but they're not going to implement is because of the regulations that goes with doing business involving tranfer. The technology describe above is very simple, it is an app that is linked to your account it is very much like online banking. Mpesa Technology on the other hand is more complex from the business structure perspective that just creating an app.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
I don't really know what is required to make mobile money a success. Kenya is in my opinion the most successful mobile money transfer country in the world. But it seems mobile money success is a chicken and egg situation. you need agents to assure customers and you need customers to assure agents. multiple countries even in africa are trying it and cannot seem to get hit the sweet spot as Safaricom did. Another country mobile money seems to be picking up in is Afghanistan (m-paisa). All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Drunkard wrote:@Jaggernaut so what are you saying? are you agreeing with me or disagreeing? With Hello money I have basically linked my account to my mobile and this has enabled me to pay bills such as Kplc, Nairobi water, DSTV, pay even my pub and supermarket bill etc and move funds from my account to mpesa and other people's accounts. So what the British now want to do is something I've been doing for ages. What they are doing is just combining mpesa and hello money. They are late adopters.
@jaggernaut, you have a minor but very important fact wrong.
Your BBK mainly uses the mpesa interface to make transactions outside of the BBK system i.e. You transfer cash to mpesa then transact.
The British system links your account to a mobile no, and you can send cash to any other phone whose no is linked to a bank account. Hence to use the British system, you MUST have a bank account, something mpesa doesnt require.
The closest we have to the British plan is the Elma system, developed by Craft Silicon and is just in its nascent stage. Once all banks allow access for Elma, then you will be able to do inter bank transactions, effectively making cheques and RTGS obsolete.
@jaggernaut, you have a minor but very important fact wrong.
Your BBK mainly uses the mpesa interface to make transactions outside of the BBK system i.e. You transfer cash to mpesa then transact.
The British system links your account to a mobile no, and you can send cash to any other phone whose no is linked to a bank account. Hence to use the British system, you MUST have a bank account, something mpesa doesnt require.
The closest we have to the British plan is the Elma system, developed by Craft Silicon and is just in its nascent stage. Once all banks allow access for Elma, then you will be able to do inter bank transactions, effectively making cheques and RTGS obsolete.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
a kenyan architect Mr Ikunu has come up with the mother of all mobile payments that will rival Mpesa completely :Tangaza http://www.tangaza321.com/tan/
He has already done KES 800m biz without any significant advertising and marketing. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
see the video here http://www.youtube.com/w...maE&feature=youtu.beAs Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Mpesa is a Vodacom project implemented successfully in Kenya. Most of the profits from Mpesa go directly to the mother company. Hence you can easily say mpesa is UK. BBI will solve it :)
I agree with @For Sport and @2012. For Sport wrote:Trying to copy MPESA from who? Is MPESA Kenyan? Though Kenya made M-Pesa known globally, system is owned and was created by Vodafone at the behest of DFID. Much credit to Michael Joseph for investing 30m USD in a dream (not forgetting Bitange Ndemo's Prof Ndungu's support)MPesa was not the first mobile money transfer service in any case. That distinction goes, in 1999, to Smart Money from Philippines and to NTT DocoMo's i-Mode from Japan. Note though that 2 years before in Finland, the first sale via mobile of soda/ ringtones/ banking service had already taken place.
@ Muganda, only the one who first came up with the Mpesa idea can tell us its history. I remember reading about an mpesa look-alike way before the kenyan mpesa in asia. The notion that large institutions e.g World bank,DFID have sole custody of truth is slowly being eroded. I had a personal experience with World bank/IFC where i discussed with them an idea then suddenly the same idea was repeated in other countries including kenya, with them owning the rights to the commercial venture. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
@a4architect your argument on the scruples of some large organizations in some cases is fair but not with MPesa.
Success has many fathers - I have personally met at least 5 people who claim to have had the idea stolen from them. On the other hand even before its 2007 commercial launch, it was a lack lustre pilot at Faulu from 2004 and nobody was none the wiser. Even Celltel's Sokotele was launched around MPesa time then failing soon thereafter, but no one claims to have had this idea stolen.
Market
Review
Are the British trying to copy MPESA?