wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

34 Pages«<1819202122>»
Champions League - 2011/2012
#381 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 10:14:55 AM

When I read posts from arsenal fans as above.....Then am unable to throw any jibe.

I used to be happy when asenane loses but not any more.
#382 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 10:17:46 AM

Wenger Wenger Wenger why do you forsake us?
Crap crap crap display from my team yesternight
#383 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 10:24:12 AM

"At 80 minutes, when we were desperate for a goal, Rosicky mis-hit a shot so badly at the edge of the area that it literally hit the corner flag. I don't mean that in the Jamie Redknapp sense of the word 'literally'. I mean the ball actually hit the corner flag."

Another possible reason why we lost..

Arsenal fans and a pile of empty beer cans in front of Milan Cathedral before the match

#384 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 11:46:19 AM

Hopeless team.That Wenger idiot deserves this and many more.Twanga hao kabisa....Bure!
#385 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 12:23:47 PM

mwenza wrote:
When I read posts from arsenal fans as above.....Then am unable to throw any jibe.

I used to be happy when asenane loses but not any more.

You and me both...
Buster
#386 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 1:23:11 PM

Marty wrote:
jguru wrote:
Well, we can safely say, Arsenal are OUT of the Champion's League. They played mediocre tonight and surely deserved to lose.

The Gunners were never in the game from start to finish. At some point I wondered whether I was watching a different team altogether. No excuse for such a performance. Mediocre is an understatement. We made Milan look too good but the fact of the matter is we played s*&t

That has to be our worst performance of the season.....hata we played better in our 8-2 defeat to Man Utd. As early as the 10th minute you could see there was a problem with our players.....no urgency in their play and no one was willing to go forward with the ball. Where was our midfield, what kind of strategy did Wenger have if they was any at all!

I think at the end of the season we need to thank Wenger for what he's done for the club and let him go. For how long will we continue complaining about him. This was clearly an issue to do with wrong tactics because Milan were not that good. I'm sure Swansea would have had a better performance.

TAZ, This has been your problem for this and last season. You keep on saying that you have the players to win the league but I say no. The reason being Arsenal has only one or two players with a 'winning mentality'. I agree the whole squad is full of talented players. But Arsenal players are just content with playing football, period. When you see them on the pitch losing or drawing a game... do you see anger, determination, intensity? Nothing! So long as they are playing football, all is ok. This kind of mentality wont help Wenger. Wenger need not go, Just get three players with the Keane/Viera mentality and you are good to go. Talent alone is not enough. You need players with hunger for trophies. most Arsenal players are only hungry to play football.

Also let your British players be at the core of the team. This is England and without their driving force you will continue with mediocre performances.
#387 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 2:40:45 PM

@ Buster.....First of all how can you be hungry for trophies without the desire to perform well on the pitch??? I don't believe you need a winning mentality against teams like Wolves and Birmingham just need to use a different approach on the pitch because they've probably figured out your style after thrashing them for two or seasons....that's how we lost the Carling cup last season. Let me also say I'll always disagree with anyone who suggests we must have British players. Right now Daglish is being criticized so much on putting a lot of faith on "home-based" players who have failed to lift the team....IMHO i think singing Carroll, Henderson, Downing, Adam & co was a total waste of 100m pounds. Take a look at Chelsea, Man City and Spurs who are their most important players and how many of them are British. From Man Utd's point of view who's their best defender, between Carrick and Anderson who would you prefer. Hata when we used to win the league and other trophies we never had British players "at the core" of the team. Btw players such as Viera/Keane can't be replaced, hata Man Utd still have problems at the midfield

The reason why most Arsenal fans blame Wenger is because he's too stubborn on using one style of play even when there's need to change. Marouane Chamakh was one of the best players in Ligue 1. He actually scored 11 goals in his first season at Arsenal (in RVP's absence), look at him now....shattered confidence and weak in front of goal mainly due to Mr. Bean's stubbornness in playing with one sole striker. Arshavin always performs well for Russia, IN A MORE CENTRAL ROLE like he did at Zenit. He's complained so much about being used as a winger lakini wapi. Arteta used to be so lethal at Everton sasa he's just there to supplement our midfield.

The problem with Wenger is that when things are not going well on the pitch he just sits down looks for something or someone to blame instead of looking into a change of tact or players. Btw i don't believe in "winning mentality", i think its just a matter of having quality players (read Barcelona). How many of our top players have we sold. If we maintain this current squad for at least 2 seasons without selling anyone and sign one or two player where we are short we'd be very strong. Anyway it hasn't been all bad we've had some really good performances this season but when it goes wrong the team is clueless because there's no plan B. We need to be consistent and that can only happen if the manager is willing to accommodate new ideas. Sasa why did he give Djourou a new contract last week? Maybe what we need is a strong assistant Manager someone who can challenge Wenger's decisions....well maybe we'll get that soon because Pat Rice will retire at end of the season.

http://www.joe.ie/footba...kable-offence-0021022-1
Marty
#388 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 3:43:16 PM

@ Buster.....First of all how can you be hungry for trophies without the desire to perform well on the pitch??? I don't believe you need a winning mentality against teams like Wolves and Birmingham just need to use a different approach on the pitch because they've probably figured out your style after thrashing them for two or seasons....that's how we lost the Carling cup last season. Let me also say I'll always disagree with anyone who suggests we must have British players. Right now Daglish is being criticized so much on putting a lot of faith on "home-based" players who have failed to lift the team....IMHO i think singing Carroll, Henderson, Downing, Adam & co was a total waste of 100m pounds. Take a look at Chelsea, Man City and Spurs who are their most important players and how many of them are British. From Man Utd's point of view who's their best defender, between Carrick and Anderson who would you prefer. Hata when we used to win the league and other trophies we never had British players "at the core" of the team. Btw players such as Viera/Keane can't be replaced, hata Man Utd still have problems at the midfield

The reason why most Arsenal fans blame Wenger is because he's too stubborn on using one style of play even when there's need to change. Marouane Chamakh was one of the best players in Ligue 1. He actually scored 11 goals in his first season at Arsenal (in RVP's absence), look at him now....shattered confidence and weak in front of goal mainly due to Mr. Bean's stubbornness in playing with one sole striker. Arshavin always performs well for Russia, IN A MORE CENTRAL ROLE like he did at Zenit. He's complained so much about being used as a winger lakini wapi. Arteta used to be so lethal at Everton sasa he's just there to supplement our midfield.

The problem with Wenger is that when things are not going well on the pitch he just sits down looks for something or someone to blame instead of looking into a change of tact or players. Btw i don't believe in "winning mentality", i think its just a matter of having quality players (read Barcelona). How many of our top players have we sold. If we maintain this current squad for at least 2 seasons without selling anyone and sign one or two player where we are short we'd be very strong. Anyway it hasn't been all bad we've had some really good performances this season but when it goes wrong the team is clueless because there's no plan B. We need to be consistent and that can only happen if the manager is willing to accommodate new ideas. Sasa why did he give Djourou a new contract last week? Maybe what we need is a strong assistant Manager someone who can challenge Wenger's decisions....well maybe we'll get that soon because Pat Rice will retire at end of the season.

http://www.joe.ie/footba...kable-offence-0021022-1

Pat Rice is a yes guy and can never challenge wenger. We need a better assistant manager. We also need players to be drilled to perform. I remember when the defenders were being drilled by Martin Keown, we really performed well with very average defenders (read Senderos, Toure, Clichy) and we reached Champion's league finals. We need Wenger to be complimented with some other tough no nonsense backroom staff.

The board also needs to admit that we need at least 3 world class players to complement the existing talent. We are very good at scouting but the players end up in other clubs promising more money. We also keep losing our best coz we can't keep up with the top teams. Decisive action must be taken and pretty soon.Failure to do so will mean the worst, RVP will leave, we'll end up number 6 so no champion's league then we'll slowly slide into a mid table mediocre team.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#389 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 4:08:46 PM

http://www.espn.co.uk/fo...136463.html?CMP=OTC-RSS

I think that article pretty much sums it up for my dear Arsenal...

"how long, given current circumstances, until Wenger is heard championing the importance of the Europa League - another lowering of the standards?"
#390 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 4:24:39 PM

http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport/story/136463.html?CMP=OTC-RSS

I think that article pretty much sums it up for my dear Arsenal...

"how long, given current circumstances, until Wenger is heard championing the importance of the Europa League - another lowering of the standards?"

Very on point article

#391 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 5:31:03 PM

The problem with Wenger is that when things are not going well on the pitch he just sits down looks for something or someone to blame instead of looking into a change of tact or players.

I've said it before that Wenger is a poor tactician compared to Mancini, AVB, Mourinho or even Ferguson. He never seems to realise soon enough that plan A is not working and to switch into plan B. He never wants to buy quality players. And then at the end he blames everyone else but himself.

On a lighter note, did you notice that the San Siro had been ploughed all along the ends of the pitch? The turf was aweful! Was it a deliberate effort to kill Arsenal's wing attacking play, and foster Milan's central attacking play? d'oh!
#392 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 6:13:20 PM

.......late but I gotta laugh at asenane, better to be a king in Europa than a mouse in UCL, what a spanking!!!
#393 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 11:27:16 PM

i dont think there is a surprise in arsenal losing, any football fan, ANY FOOTBALL FAN, was realistic after milan drew arsenal that arsenal were out. player for player except maybe JUST MAYBE the goalkeeper milan has superior quality to arsenal at the current squad. i was not surprised and to hear kiss tv analyst say that the best milan would get would be a draw!! that was laughable. i was not surprised at all AT ALL
TiggerTiggy
#394 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 11:55:07 PM

i like winding up man u fans. wanaringa sana
#395 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 8:30:11 AM

kyt wrote:
i dont think there is a surprise in arsenal losing, any football fan, ANY FOOTBALL FAN, was realistic after milan drew arsenal that arsenal were out. player for player except maybe JUST MAYBE the goalkeeper milan has superior quality to arsenal at the current squad. i was not surprised and to hear kiss tv analyst say that the best milan would get would be a draw!! that was laughable. i was not surprised at all AT ALL

Almost all football analyst had predicted an Arsenal win at the San Siro and i think the game was there to be won but our players just didn't turn up on the pitch. Like someone has said we really made Milan look good. I think the best thing for Arsenal would be to miss out on CL next season, we need time to regroup....btw did you watch the game ama tu ni analysis za gazetti!

@ Mc Reggae...Are you by any chance trying to champion the "importance" of Europa Liga?
#396 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 10:15:50 AM

i watched the game and i knew even in december that arsenal would lose no question abt that. the only reason why "analysts" had predicted arsenal would win was because of age difference, the forgot about experience.
#397 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 11:22:00 AM

kyt wrote:
i watched the game and i knew even in december that arsenal would lose no question abt that. the only reason why "analysts" had predicted arsenal would win was because of age difference, the forgot about experience.

Isn't this the same Milan side that lost 2-0 at the San Siro against a very young Arsenal Side and was also beaten at home by Spurs last year? Anyway we are as good as out of the CL no need to dwell too much on what could or should have happened.
#398 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 12:43:07 PM

kyt wrote:

False prophet. Shame on you

Arsenal simply did not give a hoot when they played that match. Manager, players and all. Milan were average. Arsenal were dirt ridiculous.
#399 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 1:59:12 PM

jguru i may be liar but arsenal lost and that's no lie, as i said player for player Milan have far better quality that arsenal and again that's no lie
#400 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 2:03:35 PM

kyt wrote:

Isn't this the same Milan side that lost 2-0 at the San Siro against a very young Arsenal Side and was also beaten at home by Spurs last year? Anyway we are as good as out of the CL no need to dwell too much on what could or should have happened.

its may be the same Milan but its not the same arsenal, right now arsenal have no play-maker. a team without a play maker is dead. ask France after exit of zidane