LOOKING FOR A 7-SEATER CAR
chiaroscuro
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 9:13:40 AM

My family is growing and we can no longer fit in a 5-seat saloon car. So I am looking for a 7-seat s/wagon.

I have seen the Toyota Wish but I'm not keen on Toyotas...

I have seen pictures of Mazda Premacy and MPV, but I haven't seen them "live-live". I've read a few good reviews of Mazda right here on wazua.

Has anyone seen these cars? Are they the same size (physically) as the Wish or are they smaller? (there is a 5-seat premacy that is quite small; I talking about the 7-seat version)

Please some one; help!
chiaroscuro
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 10:34:28 AM

yani hakuna mtu anojua? @mukiha, you are the Mazda guy; what say you?
Djinn
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 10:52:13 AM

Get a 504 Peugeot station wagon - I did.
chiaroscuro
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 11:32:55 AM

@Djin: where do I get one from? What is the newest age I can get?
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 12:39:22 PM

Nissan Liberty..........Mits Grandis.
chiaroscuro
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 3:08:49 PM

Nissan Liberty..........Mits Grandis.

Thanks @Njung'e. Which one do you use? Ama your family is small enough for a 5-seater?
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 4:01:13 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
My family is growing and we can no longer fit in a 5-seat saloon car. So I am looking for a 7-seat s/wagon.

Please some one; help!

What happens when they again grow more than 7?

Anyway a Toyota Spacio also comes with 7 seats.
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 4:13:43 PM

@Chiaroscuro,

Mimi iko clan!

Mits Chariot at one point but i didn't like it's sura though i had no problem with it's perfomance....Changed to you know what.BTW,i am selling it should you change your mind.Has served me well since Nov 2008 and is in mzuri condition since it only goes out when the kids are around.

@Tebes,
You gotta have a ka-small one for you and mama.....1000 cc maybe...Pray ....BTW,hii mtu yako iki sida gani?Pray Pray ...umempa mbangi?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 5:08:39 PM

Probox can do you 14 seats... na space hapo juu ya kubeba viazi..
chiaroscuro
#10 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 8:54:39 AM

chemos wrote:
Probox can do you 14 seats... na space hapo juu ya kubeba viazi..

I'm not planning to go into the matatu business!
#11 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 9:18:24 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

I have seen the Toyota Wish but I'm not keen on Toyotas...

I have seen pictures of Mazda Premacy and MPV, but I haven't seen them "live-live". I've read a few good reviews of Mazda right here on wazua.

Has anyone seen these cars? Are they the same size (physically) as the Wish or are they smaller? (there is a 5-seat premacy that is quite small; I talking about the 7-seat version)

Please some one; help!

Mine's a Familia saloon. I've seen the MPV and Premacy on the streets but not really inspected them.

A quick web search revealed that a Premacy is about the size of a Wish;

#12 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 9:22:37 AM

.... and the MPV is about the size of an Ipsum..

QW25091985
#13 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 9:33:56 AM

buy a probox , lol.....i heard it can fit a small cow at the back !
Djinn
#14 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 12:39:45 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
@Djin: where do I get one from? What is the newest age I can get?

You have to be on the look out but the newest you can get (locally assembled only) would be around year 2000-2001 - but CAVEAT - NEWER is not necessarily BETTER.

There is an old lady I sometimes see on Lower Kabete Road with a KJ-something 504 (i.e. much older than me) - that 504 is in IMMACULATE condition. I have seen some 504s with KAP, KAN registration that look like they have nyeri wives...totally beaten up.

So, the idea is to be on the look out - follow classified ads, go to www.cheki.co.ke (I have sold two cars and bought one from there so I know its popular and worth it), ads at places like Sarit and Yaya - might be lucky to get a good one (either from a Peugeot lover/enthusiast, company maintained, ex-Parastatal (might be badly driven but maintained with original stuff), etc.

Other +++s - no one will steal your car, parts are just as affordable (and more durable) than Japanese car parts, no one will pinch your side mirrors, other motorists with "tusker can" cars will think twice about getting near a 504...
otienosmall
#15 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 2:25:30 PM

Honda Stream similar to wish and not overpriced like ‘wishes’. Comes in either 1800cc or 2000cc. the RSZ version is quite stylish. Good consumption and space.

http://www.google.co.uk/...mp;biw=1054&bih=796
For Sport
#16 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2012 2:26:48 PM

Tebes wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:

Please some one; help!

What happens when they again grow more than 7?

Anyway a Toyota Spacio also comes with 7 seats.

Two of them are fake.
kamundu
#17 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 10:35:31 PM

Ipsum? Mimi ni Toyota damu. Noah? Voxy? Alphard ? Hiace custom type?
Otherwise Nissan serena si mbaya. Have my reservations on the mazda
Peace in our Homeland.
#18 Posted : Sunday, February 19, 2012 1:07:45 AM

Just go for the Toyota Noah. The wish is too low for a MPV.
chiaroscuro
#19 Posted : Sunday, February 19, 2012 3:51:00 PM

kamundu wrote:
Ipsum? Mimi ni Toyota damu. Noah? Voxy? Alphard ? Hiace custom type?
Otherwise Nissan serena si mbaya. Have my reservations on the mazda

Why do you have reservations? Is it because you are Toyota Damu?
chiaroscuro
#20 Posted : Sunday, February 19, 2012 3:54:36 PM

Just go for the Toyota Noah. The wish is too low for a MPV.

I find the NOAH boxy and ugly.