wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

KAPS ticketing... Thieves on steroids
tom_boy
#1 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 11:35:34 AM

Someone complained on 'watchman' once that the Kaps parking ticket system in a shopping area in Lavi was set at 15min behind when you drive in but was right on time when you drive out. Decided to check with other places and I am shocked.
At Upper Hill Medical Center its 9min behind on entry and 1 min ahead on exit. Thought it was coincidence and have complained twice lakini no change. At Eldoret tuskys its the same storo. I am begining to think its a calculated move to fleece kenyans.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
The Merchant
#2 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 12:08:12 PM

wawawawaawaalaalalalalaalal!!!!!!! That explains alot. I once paid my ticket at the junction and the ticket stated that I had 30min. to exit. After 25 min(my watch) while exiting I was told to PAY AGAIN!! I scratched my head till some hairs fell off but paid all the same. Oh well, now I know...
#3 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 12:24:30 PM

Village Market is the most expensive parking. 50/- for the first hour. At this rate I will stop visiting malls. I find Junction parking exploitative. Tenants in these malls are powerless and in this day of inflation, their business must be hurting. It looks like the mall owners have ganged up to freeze motorists.
jimmy1
#4 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 12:40:15 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
Village Market is the most expensive parking. 50/- for the first hour

was there 4weeks ago on a saturday & i only paid 50/ after staying there for 4hours or more, you mean they have now changed?
jimmy1
#5 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 12:42:02 PM

the parking system in jkia is shows the correct time, however i've always suspected someone can come up with such a con scheme
#6 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 2:28:03 PM

jimmy1 wrote:
FundamentAli wrote:

was there 4weeks ago on a saturday & i only paid 50/ after staying there for 4hours or more, you mean they have now changed?

New charges effective 1st February 2012. That would cost you shs. 300/- now
tom_boy
#7 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 7:04:38 PM

In as much as the high charges for parking are not acceptable, what I find to be outright maddening is when they say the first 'x' minutes are free but in actual fact its the first 'x-10min' or 'x-15min' are free.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#8 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2012 8:38:32 PM

capital centre recently started ...1st February 2012, what have they realized? why should someone pay if they are going to spend money in their premises?...their should be a different way to weed out persons who park and go to town...
#9 Posted : Saturday, February 11, 2012 10:33:29 AM

jimmy1 wrote:
FundamentAli wrote:

I think at the village its 50 bob once and flat no matter how long you gonna stay in there?
I was there in December just before a nose was pinched (for 3 hours) and didnt pay more than 50 bob, and I didnt see the parking meter at entry or exit!
Ama they were just installed after the nose pinching saga?
@Ali please come clear!
Sad Sad

#10 Posted : Saturday, February 11, 2012 10:59:03 AM

@Impunity,

Things have changed starting beginning of this month. Paypoints have been installed. You will not get a disc like you used to
tuvok
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 2:31:34 PM

Try the intercon parking for the true meaning of expensive...
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 3:10:48 PM

I had a similar issue at sarit. Went to meet someone at Sarit but once I entered the parking and even before I could park got a phone call from my friend that he was actually at westgate. So I immediately decided to exit. However at the exit I was told to pay for parking despite them saying the first 20min are free. Was surprised since I had spent just like 1min at the parking. Kumbe they tamper with the clocks. Now I know.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 3:48:05 PM

What is the problem with us? This is a business model that's becoming common here:- You set up a good business, goes through the struggle, stabilizes, makes a lot of money, greed sets in, customers get annoyed, competition sets up and you're wiped out.

ruby
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 4:09:05 PM

I was in Village market on Saturday for like 4 hours and paid 50 bob.
tom_boy
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 9:37:43 PM

This is unbelievable guys. Now we can even come up with a list of shame, establishments that seek to steal from Kenyans with the help of KAPS ticketing: so far we have,

1. a shopping mall in Lavi - can someone confirm which one
2. Upper hill Medical centre
3. Tusky's mall in Eldoret
4. The junction (probably)
5. Sarit Centre (probably)

Incidentally, another thread here on 'wazua' talked of the guys behind ZIMELE FUND being the same ones behind KAPS. This begs the question, do they use the same integrity yardstick in ZIMELE as they use in KAPS. No wonder my money never seems to grow in that fund!!!
Dash
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 11:53:15 AM

This thread explains alot!! I thought I was the only paranoid one. I was a victim of Upperhill medical center scam
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 4:33:03 PM

ruby wrote:
I was in Village market on Saturday for like 4 hours and paid 50 bob.

Was there today. Paid through the machine. New tariffs already in place
tom_boy
#18 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2012 10:55:03 AM

Was at Eldoret Tusky's Mall this last weekend. Situation was the same despite my earlier complaint. Raised alot of noise about it untill they finally adjusted the clock on entry to read the same as on exit.... wonder for how long it will remain that way. Is there any place one can lodge an official complaint about such underhand practices? Do we have a "consumer watch" organisation in Kenya? Can I sue Kaps for reaping off Kenyans?
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2012 12:17:22 PM

The one at UHMC is the mother of all when it comes to fleecing. Checked in there just after 5PM & was at their Java for about 3 hrs max sometime in Feb. My bill stood at 210, more than wat u'd pay Kisia for a whole day at his parking places!
@SufficientlyP
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 10:24:29 AM

The Village Market must have felt the heat from their high charges. Parking reduced to Shs. 50 for first 3 hours down from 150. Silly mall owners are driving business away