wazua Mon, Mar 23, 2026

4 Pages«<234
‘Michuki Rules’ costing economy billions of shillings,says Githae
Jangwa la Jangili
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 10:52:00 AM

kenyans need to snap out of this inferiority complex you hear in conversations day in day out. is it because our collective psyche has been so battered over the years that we are never comfortable with anything we do? just because something is being done overseas does not mean we should ape it in toto.

hata hivyo,if standing passengers are to be reintroduced,one issue that will need to be tackled is how to handle their numbers i.e. ensure that each vehicle has not breached the maximum passenger numbers. you cannot trust passengers to do that because all it takes is the tout shouting kumi tao! and everyone will be willing to hang on for dear life. matatus won't either because it is in their interest to make maximum profit.

which brings me to my last point that there needs to be a culture change within the institutions that are responsible for enforcing the rules i.e. hawata taka kitu kidogo. that way they will not look the other way when a matatu imebeba mpaka kwa carrier. actually this culture change is required whether we go the 'standing' route or not.

jeers

Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:06:00 AM

We dismiss the idea of standing passengers just coz of our inability to control our pine trees and maintain body hygene!!!!!.....rotten society this ours is!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Fundaah
#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:10:00 AM

Mcreggae ..not only that......

Introduce the rules for city vehicles and upcountry buses will go to court to plead selective application of law........then michuki rules will be struck off by our incompetent courts ....then we shall die in droves thro road accidents ....(we including private motorists )

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:42:00 AM

@brav

dont even probe...... its a story and a half... I dont love being hated but his case was exempted.

@Mcrg
I didnt realise that!! I hope you now believe me i wasnt at the previous mbuzi ;-)).... I might have grown taller if we wait for RTS and Pondi's mbuzis..... - if they come before 2017.... Those are the major issues,others we can handle - like purses disappearing and the squeezes etc.

@leona
sounds like just yesterday! Those stories were all too common............ and this dude says we go back to that........ hey,asha weee.... afadhali nikule panya.....

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:45:00 AM

@ leona,

LOL!!!!aaaaiiiiii how many balls did you deflate with that divider???? Githaes should have had his deflated so that he could know the pain of standing in a an overflowing mathree!!!!

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
Spend.thrift
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 8:57:00 PM

I still vividly recall the day when a traffic police intercepted an Eastlanda bound matatu at Pangani police station. The policemen counted 86 heads + 2 touts and a driver as they stepped out of the 25 seater NKR matatu.

Simply put,those rigs from GM are not safely designed to carry standing passengers. At Fiumicino,Heathrow and many other airports,you will find buses which are safely designed with the centres of gravity being so low that the chances of overturning are almost nil. Or reintroduce the ERF buses like the kind formerly operated by KBS. Some lunatics from two of our lunee bins tried in vain to overturn them on two occasions.

Back to pines,tents and bla blah. One woman,noticing that her behind was being pined asked ' Hai mzee,kwani hiyo ni nini?' and the mzee went ' Si hiyo ni sehemu ya mwili kama ingine!'. The whole matatu burst into uncontrollable laughter.

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
4 Pages«<234