wazua Thu, Jan 1, 2026

Saitoti pees on joint candidate scheme
B.Timer
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 29, 2012 12:40:47 PM

Last evening news on TV.

Saitoti sounded so uncompromising.

He put it plainly, he is running without regard to anybody else.

Did the G7 group spite this man or did he realise that they werent giving him the prize - so he quit?

Does he have the political clout to frustrate the G7 group from romping home in the first round!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/jrvag7z/-/index.html
Dunia ni msongamano..
#2 Posted : Sunday, January 29, 2012 12:47:58 PM

saitoti was to chair the committee that was to decide whether UK and Bill Rooto can run for the presidency 2012...seems their fate is sealed if Saitoti has his way
B.Timer
#3 Posted : Sunday, January 29, 2012 1:12:08 PM

saitoti was to chair the committee that was to decide whether UK and Bill Rooto can run for the presidency 2012...seems their fate is sealed if Saitoti has his way

Assuming it to be true - that the committee were to advise the Cabinet on the matter;

- The Cabinet doesnt have to adopt their recommendation.
- Assuming also that the Cabinet odopted such a recommendation, would it be legally binding to Uhuru and Ruto.

Are cabinet resolutions law.

The only body that can stop the duo from running is the Courts.

IEBC may also refuse to accept their nomination papers - but they can always challenge such a move in Court.

Ultimately the Courts will determine, if the two choose to remain on course.

Dunia ni msongamano..
#4 Posted : Sunday, January 29, 2012 1:37:05 PM

RAO talked about the tying of a certain Kengele on a Cat!
i see a runoff ensuing - first round everyone throws in their hats and top 2 are picked. if Bill and Uhuru are not in the race, then I foresee
Kalonzo being either first or second in the race with RAO but none will get the 50% + 1.
B.Timer
#5 Posted : Sunday, January 29, 2012 1:42:26 PM

i see a runoff ensuing - first round everyone throws in their hats and top 2 are picked. if Bill and Uhuru are not in the race, then I foresee
Kalonzo being either first or second in the race with RAO but none will get the 50% + 1.

If Uhuru and Ruto back Kalonzo, I see them capturing it in the first go.

Then ICC will be given a no show by the Kenyan accused fellows -
i.e Hague ikiwa kisirani ikwende!
Dunia ni msongamano..
#6 Posted : Monday, January 30, 2012 10:13:19 AM

B.Timer wrote:

@b.timer... what if they don't? they back somebody else instead?
B.Timer
#7 Posted : Monday, January 30, 2012 5:52:17 PM

kingfisher wrote:
B.Timer wrote:

@b.timer... what if they don't? they back somebody else instead?

Of course there are other people who if supported by Uhuru and Ruto can win against Raila.

But that other Person has to be chosen very carefully.

Think Kaparo for example!

The best bet for them, as far as I can see remains Kalonzo.

Dunia ni msongamano..
#8 Posted : Monday, January 30, 2012 6:21:50 PM

@ BTimer,

The anti-Odinga group has to be very careful.

Steve could be good since though he has no major constituency currently(I don't find his tribe enthusiastic about him), his people would troop to his side if they realised he was headed for a win.

But Steve has a heavily maligned name. Although most attacks on him are baseless, they spread faster than attacks on any other politician.

Also, politics, like religion, is about hope. Steve doesn't make one want to look forward to his Presidency in anticipation. He is closer to Mudavadi and Saitoti in nature. The only way is for this group to make it a heavily tribal anti-Odinga campaign.

I have realised that the most vocal people never go far in Kenyan politics. Matiba played hard ball and got fanatical followers, he never savoured the fruits. Orengo and Jaramogi too tried but never made it. On the other hand, softies like Moi and Kibaki made it to the peak.

Could this be the end for Raila?

I was thinking PNU would pick Tuju. But Raila would then have a chance of upsetting them by reconciling with Steve and sweeping the disgruntled Kao vote.

So maybe Baba Muasya, who is hated more than he is loved may just end up leading us. I have heard more people than I can count from many tribes swear they can't vote for him.
Lucid_Iam
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 8:41:12 AM

Kibaki like you say was never a popular candidate like SKM, all that had to be done was to say Kibaki tosha and the rest is history. Kenyan politics is peculiar, just like the rest of our traits. If UK and WR say Kalonzo tosha, the rest will again be history.

Personally, I have never been a fan of SKM but I think he has his good traits. He will depolarize Kenya in a way something RAO or UK presidency would not. Against RAO, I'd prefer SKM. So his fate lies with the UK and WR.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 8:55:11 AM

Already it's clear from body language that UK and WSR do not trust Stevo, if the two are blocked from vying then Saitoti cannot be discounted!!!!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 9:01:32 AM

kalonzo will never be president of any country....even zamunda. You can take that to the bank.
Sure
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 9:05:11 AM

Lucid_Iam wrote:
Kibaki like you say was never a popular candidate like SKM, all that had to be done was to say Kibaki tosha and the rest is history.
You need to realize that Ngilu, Wamalwa and Kibaki were set to win the elections of 2002 whether Raila said Tosha or not. Raila was a turn coat in 2002 and move house more than countable times before sneaking into the NAK union after trying to enter Nyachae's party hoping to be endorsed. After no one was willing to endorse him for president (remember even Moi refused to endorse him in Kanu), he was left with no other option but to jump into the bandwagon.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Lucid_Iam
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 9:05:28 AM

@alma, what do you base your decision on, give some analysis and not emotions.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 9:08:55 AM

Sure wrote:
Lucid_Iam wrote:
Kibaki like you say was never a popular candidate like SKM, all that had to be done was to say Kibaki tosha and the rest is history.
You need to realize that Ngilu, Wamalwa and Kibaki were set to win the elections of 2002 whether Raila said Tosha or not. Raila was a turn coat in 2002 and move house more than countable times before sneaking into the NAK union after trying to enter Nyachae's party hoping to be endorsed. After no one was willing to endorse him for president (remember even Moi refused to endorse him in Kanu), he was left with no other option but to jump into the bandwagon.

Would you care to analyze the results of 2002 before you make that wild claim????
Ngalaka
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 9:25:31 AM

Sure wrote:
Lucid_Iam wrote:

Would you care to analyze the results of 2002 before you make that wild claim????

@McRg,

I am with you on this.

NAK was going nowhere on its own.

Actualy the LDP brigage had more followers than NAK.

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 9:48:48 AM

Lucid_Iam wrote:

Emotions?Pray Pray You need to see a future with a guy before you can join him. Uhurus people see a future with him, ruto's, even makwere..Kalonzo? Honestly? Still don't know what he stands for and I think sometimes even he does not know what his future holds.

If I vote for SKM, what will I get in return? When he answers that, he has hope. But even as Kenya has proven to be Zamunda, we still haven't reached such low levels.Shame on you

No emotions there, but I haven't met anyone anywhere who has even mentioned his name as an alternative to anything.
Ngalaka
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 9:53:05 AM

Lucid_Iam wrote:

Emotions?Pray Pray You need to see a future with a guy before you can join him. Uhurus people see a future with him, ruto's, even makwere..Kalonzo? Honestly? Still don't know what he stands for and I think sometimes even he does not know what his future holds.

If I vote for SKM, what will I get in return? When he answers that, he has hope. But even as Kenya has proven to be Zamunda, we still haven't reached such low levels.Shame on you

No emotions there, but I haven't met anyone anywhere who has even mentioned his name as an alternative to anything.

So according to you who is likely to be voted in as President later this year?

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#18 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 12:56:17 PM

@Ngalaka and @mcreggae, what do you think would have happened if LDP had gone on their own? I believe NAK would have won. The country was exhausted and wanted change. It would have been a tight 3 horse race which the Kibaki group which already had the backing of the then popular civil society would have triumphed. The main value of LDP was in weakening KANU.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 4:37:54 PM

@Ngalaka and @mcreggae, what do you think would have happened if LDP had gone on their own? I believe NAK would have won. The country was exhausted and wanted change. It would have been a tight 3 horse race which the Kibaki group which already had the backing of the then popular civil society would have triumphed. The main value of LDP was in weakening KANU.

@Lolest,
NAK was dull and lacking inspiration before LDP came on board, I don't think they would have won, infact UK would have gotten more vote from central than Kibaki!!!!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 5:17:46 PM

@ Mc Reggae....MK actually won the 1997 elections but was rigged out by Mo1. Its laughable to even think that UK would have beaten him in 2002....almost 80% (if not 100%) of UK's votes came from RV. LDP was just a collection of Kanu rejects who would not have won the elections anyway. These guys just joined a winning team a few weeks to the elections halafu baadaye wakaanza mambo ya sijui MOU. How i wish we would have had KANU, NAK and LDP vying separately....it would not have been a landslide win lakini we would have had a stable government. Apart from RAO who else was in LDP anyway....Kalonzo, Saitoti! sasa hawa walileta kura ngapi?