Hassan Omar
innairobi wrote:Do not peg your life on a politician. Whether he/she wins or not, ugali ni ile ile. Whereas Kibaki has overstocked on his golfing buddies, that has not changed the life of the ordinary Kikuyu between 2002 and today. Baringo is still one of Kenya's poorer counties despite 24 years of Moi.
The incremental change in the ordinary Kikuyu is down to their independent efforts. Kenya has a very tiny GDP and there is only so much government largesse to go around. Remember, the politicians are looking for 'good money' i.e. hundreds of millions. A very small proportion of people can eat from the GoK gravy train.
Many raia are deluded by their tribal chiefs that their ugali will grow when their man is on the seat or that they are poor because their Kikuyu neighbor is rich or that all Kikuyus collect free money from Equity Bank daily at 0% interest.
Without adequate civic education, these myths and over hyped expectations are a ticking time bomb no matter who wins.
Innairobi hapo umenena. But trust me, even with civic education some raiya will never change. So in the end i think we'll have to live with this till thy Kingdom come.
34 candidates selected for the National Police Service Commission interviews. Mr Omar’s team is seeking to recruit five persons to make up the commission and a chairman. The National Police Service Commission will appoint the Inspector General of Police, two deputies and the Director of CID. Chairmanship
Bernard Mbai Ms Amina Masoud Dr Hulda Ogot Ms Margaret Cheboiwo Members
Flora Maghanga-Mtuweta Mugi Mwangi Halima Shuria Wycliffee Swanya Hassan Lakicha Fred Nabea Jamal Nawadh Yassin Ismail Omar Abdi Ali Esther Chui-Clombini Julius Kwanya Tom Chavangi Robert F.Shaw D.K. Njagi Marete Susan Muceheru Jane Mugambi Abdilahy Mazrui Jayne Songole Grace Kamasara Malombe Nyamai Aisha Abdallah George Miingi James Atema Maj (rtd) Billow Khalid Jane Kamangu Josephine Gichuhi Lawrence Nyalle Ronald Musengi David Cheruiyot Edna Ameyo Read more here: http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/10yf2vtz/-/index.html
Political? Regional balance? Qualified people? I'm getting very wary of commissions nowadays... Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
jguru wrote:34 candidates selected for the National Police Service Commission interviews. Mr Omar’s team is seeking to recruit five persons to make up the commission and a chairman. The National Police Service Commission will appoint the Inspector General of Police, two deputies and the Director of CID. Chairmanship
Bernard Mbai Ms Amina Masoud Dr Hulda Ogot Ms Margaret Cheboiwo Members
Flora Maghanga-Mtuweta Mugi Mwangi Halima Shuria Wycliffee Swanya Hassan Lakicha Fred Nabea Jamal Nawadh Yassin Ismail Omar Abdi Ali Esther Chui-Clombini Julius Kwanya Tom Chavangi Robert F.Shaw D.K. Njagi Marete Susan Muceheru Jane Mugambi Abdilahy Mazrui Jayne Songole Grace Kamasara Malombe Nyamai Aisha Abdallah George Miingi James Atema Maj (rtd) Billow Khalid Jane Kamangu Josephine Gichuhi Lawrence Nyalle Ronald Musengi David Cheruiyot Edna Ameyo Read more here: http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/10yf2vtz/-/index.html
Political? Regional balance? Qualified people? I'm getting very wary of commissions nowadays... Mr Hassan Omar should step down from this position. He has already made it clear that some tribes are 'fovoured' and do not deserve any more positions therefore it's expected he will be biased in this process. I will not expect a free and fair selection process. i.am.back!!!!
Hassan should check the latest KCPE results top 10 and run his statistics. i.am.back!!!!
Koigi has put it better than anyone else has so far! http://www.nation.co.ke/.../2/-/uyhgxi/-/index.html
Under Kenyatta, the following were finance ministers: 1. James Gichuru(1963-9), 2. Mwai Kibaki(1969-78).
Mzee passed on in 1978, in comes Daniel Arap Moi. The following were finance ministers under him: ... 1. Mwai KIbaki(1978-1988), 2. George Saitoti(1988-1993), 3. Musalia Mudavadi(1993-1998), 4. Simeon Nyachae(1998-1999), 5. Masakhalia(1999-seven months), 6. Chris Okemo(1999-01), 7. Chris Obure(2001-2)
Finance ministers under KIbaki: 1. David Mwiraria(2003-6), 2. Amos Kimunya(2006-8) 3. Michuki(acting), 4. Uhuru Kenyatta(2008-12), 5. Robinson Githae(2012- ).
For the 24 years "tribal" tenure of Moi, he never had a single finance minister from Kalenjin community....
nostoppingthis wrote:Under Kenyatta, the following were finance ministers: 1. James Gichuru(1963-9), 2. Mwai Kibaki(1969-78).
Mzee passed on in 1978, in comes Daniel Arap Moi. The following were finance ministers under him: ... 1. Mwai KIbaki(1978-1988), 2. George Saitoti(1988-1993), 3. Musalia Mudavadi(1993-1998), 4. Simeon Nyachae(1998-1999), 5. Masakhalia(1999-seven months), 6. Chris Okemo(1999-01), 7. Chris Obure(2001-2)
Finance ministers under KIbaki: 1. David Mwiraria(2003-6), 2. Amos Kimunya(2006-8) 3. Michuki(acting), 4. Uhuru Kenyatta(2008-12), 5. Robinson Githae(2012- ).
For the 24 years "tribal" tenure of Moi, he never had a single finance minister from Kalenjin community.... Might that explain why during Moi the economy grew, but in the reverse direction- just asking? Are you reminiscing Moi days!
@wakamau, are you saying in the baks error, the economy has grown!!!? seen the recent inflation rates ....for one petrol hit an all time high of almost 130..
nostoppingthis wrote: ....for one petrol hit an all time high of almost 130.. Wee wacha! Isn't it dependent on global fuel prices? "..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
nostoppingthis wrote:Under Kenyatta, the following were finance ministers: 1. James Gichuru(1963-9), 2. Mwai Kibaki(1969-78).
For the 24 years "tribal" tenure of Moi, he never had a single finance minister from Kalenjin community.... I recall Arthur Magugu was a finance minister once. He left a mark by not presenting the budget on the budget day
For the 24 years "tribal" tenure of Moi, he never had a single finance minister from Kalenjin community.... The excuse for this has been that Moi was a very hands on leader while Kenyatta and Kibaki were the opposite. Thus why they appointed all their men around the most sensitive dockets of finance and (you forgot) internal security. I reiterate my earlier point: Kibaki's biggest failure has been in failing to unite Kenyans and making appointments that made him look very similar to Kenyatta and Moi. The next President should give us a break from this. While at it, please note Mwiraria is Meru and not Kikuyu!
Lolest! wrote:nostoppingthis wrote:Under Kenyatta, the following were finance ministers: 1. James Gichuru(1963-9), 2. Mwai Kibaki(1969-78).
For the 24 years "tribal" tenure of Moi, he never had a single finance minister from Kalenjin community.... The excuse for this has been that Moi was a very hands on leader while Kenyatta and Kibaki were the opposite. Thus why they appointed all their men around the most sensitive dockets of finance and (you forgot) internal security. I reiterate my earlier point: Kibaki's biggest failure has been in failing to unite Kenyans and making appointments that made him look very similar to Kenyatta and Moi. The next President should give us a break from this. While at it, please note Mwiraria is Meru and not Kikuyu! You are one objective individual, much appreciated....
For the 24 years "tribal" tenure of Moi, he never had a single finance minister from Kalenjin community.... it is the likes of you who need to read the thread thoroughly and comprehend it... "You Lazy (Intellectual) African Scum!" on a lighter note Kenyas economic growth between 1963 to 1978 was about 7% on average. it was almost hitting 9% in 1978. 1978 to 2002 was on decline to 0% in 1993 up until 2002 when it recorded a misery and appaling -2%... 2002 to 2007 was 5% on average... just check on the professional qualifications of the individuals who held those dockets during the positive growth eras!!!!! individuals like you could lie but numbers don't.... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
@ Nostopping.....During Moi's era Kalenjins were almost everywhere in government offices, i don't believe i have to put figures/names for you to believe that. Besides look at the people you've mentioned Okemo, Obure, Mudavadi & Masakhlia.....how many scandals were there when these guys were there and what does that have to do with their tribes. Most people know what was Moi's style of leadership and it had nothing to do with regional balance, just covering his tracks and that of his allies....someone else is now trying to perfect that.
You, like Hassan also seem to forget that this is a coalition government, ODM and PNU decided to equally share the various ministries in Govt....MK ended up with Finance Ministry. PNU is largely represented in parliament by MPs from Gema, so what do you expect from him! I'm certain if Tuju was an MP he would be a Minister.
nostoppingthis wrote: You are one objective individual, much appreciated....
So one becomes objective when they agree with you? That's very subjective.  But, like someone said, numbers don't lie, that's with respect to economic growth. And you'll be blind not to have seen the economy grow, what with all the information at your fingertips courtesy of the internet, news, etc. nostoppingthis wrote:@wakamau, are you saying in the baks error, the economy has grown!!!? seen the recent inflation rates ....for one petrol hit an all time high of almost 130.. Again, you seem to miss the point. When a country experiences economic growth, the resultant is increased demand for goods and services used in the economy because people are more liquid, have access to cheaper funds, and are getting richer. Using basic economics, when the demand is higher than normal supply, and knowing supply responds much slower than demand, that results to an increase in prices (as equilibrium is being sought). This increase in the level of prices over a period of time is what is called inflation. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Senator Hassan Omar says that President Uhuru Kenyatta's visit to Mombasa County was meant for Facebook and public display. http://www.standardmedia...y-was-meant-for-facebookTULIA.........UFUNZWE!
[quote=simonkabz]Senator Hassan Omar says that President Uhuru Kenyatta's visit to Mombasa County was meant for Facebook and public display. http://www.standardmedia...-was-meant-for-facebook[/quote] He should go look for Balala, Joho so that they can eat.
mawinder wrote:[quote=simonkabz]Senator Hassan Omar says that President Uhuru Kenyatta's visit to Mombasa County was meant for Facebook and public display. http://www.standardmedia...-was-meant-for-facebook[/quote] He should go look for Balala, Joho so that they can eat. Kiwaru inanyonga yeye since he was not given any official role to play......the story of the hare and the mango tree.... TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Where is he? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Hassan Omar