Bank rolling revenge attacks
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 8:59:40 AM

#2 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:58:46 AM

We are going to pray this weekend.
marshalliah
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 10:21:59 AM

Witness OTP-11 asserts that Mr Kenyatta gave Sh3.3 million to a former MP and that part of this money was eventually used to buy
guns for the attack in Nakuru. The witness further states that the former MP coordinated attacks in Nakuru under the direction of Mr
Kenyatta,” the judges said.

If there were guns, perhaps people woould not have used stones to fight. There would have been a massacre. Hii ni movie, and ocampo is trying to be the sterling
Jump-steady
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 12:18:04 PM

d'oh! d'oh! These revenge attacks must have been very costly. The revenging community had to be paid to revenge for attacks that had already been carried on them while the aggressors are only too willing to fight without much of monetary inducements because for them it was like a Jihad Pray Pray
limanika
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 12:45:26 PM

Those who started the war bear the greatest responsibility. Those who organised revenge attacks were provoked and hence do not bear the greatest responsibility for the violence. However, as there is a lot of polarity in Kenya, ICC knows that punishing one side and setting the other free is recipe for kales. Again setting all of them free is like giving licence for similar crimes in future. That tells you the four suspects are in for a rough time. If that is the price Kenya hass to pay for posterity, so be it. Let’s grow up and move on.
Kihangeri
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 12:49:54 PM

limanika wrote:
Those who started the war bear the greatest responsibility. Those who organised revenge attacks were provoked and hence do not bear the greatest responsibility for the violence. However, as there is a lot of polarity in Kenya, ICC knows that punishing one side and setting the other free is recipe for kales. Again setting all of them free is like giving licence for similar crimes in future. That tells you the four suspects are in for a rough time. If that is the price Kenya hass to pay for posterity, so be it. Let’s grow up and move on.

That is a fresh angle you have right there.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#7 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 3:02:50 PM

limanika wrote:

Sounds more like 'balanced' justice. The fact that the ruling of case 1 was pushed to be read with that of case 2 goes to support this theory. Unfortunately for something to be admitted at ICC, there has to be some grand allegations. Even at the current level not all judges concurred that it is a matter of that court.
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 3:07:27 PM

marshalliah wrote:
Witness OTP-11 asserts that Mr Kenyatta gave Sh3.3 million to a former MP and that part of this money was eventually used to buy
guns for the attack in Nakuru. The witness further states that the former MP coordinated attacks in Nakuru under the direction of Mr
Kenyatta,” the judges said.

If there were guns, perhaps people woould not have used stones to fight. There would have been a massacre. Hii ni movie, and ocampo is trying to be the sterling

What Guns? the only people who had guns in Nakuru were
1- the police who told people - si mulisema kazi iendelee?
2- the army that actually stopped retaliatory killings in areas like Lanet and Freearea.
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 3:11:32 PM

When this idiot Ocampo is busy concentrating on one side - I ask, who will give Justice to the constituents of Kibera who lost their property and lives and some had to camp on the show ground?
WE SHALL NEVER FORGET! NO MATTER HOW HARD PEOPLE TRY TO DISTORT HISTORY.
http://kenyangenocide.bl...out-kenyan-genocide.html
Drunkard
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 4:54:45 PM

limanika wrote:

I think it is important that if we've never really thought through we shouldn't post anything, I understand your line of defense but unfortunately it doesn't work like that, revenge attack could even carry more weight that initial attack, because while the person who started the fight can claim that they snapped and attack without any planning or any sort of calculations those who revenge actually cannot employ this kind of defence because revenge take time to execute and obviously you have time to think through the consequence.
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 4:58:49 PM

@Masukuma....I totally agree with you, the ICC has taken care of what happened in Nakuru, Naivasha and Eldoret but who will prosecute the criminals who organized and killed innocent Kenyans in Mombasa, Kibera, Kariobangi North, Mathare and other areas. These people are not innocent, now that the Judiciary is working don't you think its about time we had another look at the Waki List???

TRUTH, JUSTICE AND RECONCILIATION.....and here we are still struggling with the truth!
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 5:17:59 PM

Drunkard wrote:

I think it is important that if we've never really thought through we shouldn't post anything, I understand your line of defense but unfortunately it doesn't work like that, revenge attack could even carry more weight that initial attack, because while the person who started the fight can claim that they snapped and attack without any planning or any sort of calculations those who revenge actually cannot employ this kind of defence because revenge take time to execute and obviously you have time to think through the consequence.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...interesting thinking.If you are a criminal lawyer by any chance,kindly start a steel rope manufacturing plant for your clients.It will spare them lots of pain and loss of money....or better still ,practice how to strangle your clients for freesmile

#13 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 5:35:23 PM

@Drunkard more incisive your posts these days smile

@limanika, pay heed to @Drunkard's arguments. What's more, a woeful reminiscing of Kenya's Darkest Hour by Hillary Ng'weno actually brings into doubt when the war started.

1. Could it be when the ugly loathing between politicians first festered? Or when the government denigrated the previous hard won right to representative election framework? Or perhaps when campaigning became tribal and violence was conceived?
2. Maybe when you and me propagated insults, fear, malice against our brothers through email/SMS
3. Some would say it's when election results delayed, or when the first stone was thrown, or when retaliation occured.

Revenge buries the future in the grave of the past. Leonid

#14 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 6:14:52 PM

Drunkard wrote:
revenge attack could even carry more weight that initial attack, because while the person who started the fight can claim that they snapped and attack without any planning or any sort of calculations those who revenge actually cannot employ this kind of defence because revenge take time to execute and obviously you have time to think through the consequence.

wacha uwongo!ati you snapped mpaka ukarape?

I find it weird that 'Kenyans' find it so OK to justify violence against one tribe while condemning reactionary attacks.
funnyguy
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 6:33:27 PM

I am a scared Kenyan. Recent arguments and counter-arguments on Wazua remind me of the heated 'discussions' on Stockskenya circa 2007. I hope history won't repeat itself come 2013.

Please, I beg us to remember that Ruto, Raila, Kenyatta. . .the whole lot of the political class would want us to believe that they do what they do for YOUR good as a Kalenjin, Luo, Kikuyu. . . We often forget that they have one common goal that unites them all and that goal is not necessarily your well-being. Their goal is to obtain and maintain POWER to protect THEIR financial and social interests. But I stand to be corrected. I personally believe that you and I are just pawns in this intricate game called politics. Most of these guys are multi-millionaires (in USD) with thousands of acres of land and flourishing business interests. When was the last time you heard any of them offering up land to the thousands that are homeless? Food and shelter for the starving Kenyans? How many have actually made any meaningful and sustainable contributions to their own communities out of their own personal initiatives? What does any political party in Kenya currently stand for? Or do they only "stand for" what politician X says? Which parties can be considered liberal or conservative? Or does a 'conservative' party denote a party that only has membership from one community while a 'liberal' party draws membership from MPESA agents' records?

By all means, let us participate in the political process but let us do that soberly. At the end of the day, we'll only have two distinctions; the have's and the have-nots. . .no tribe. Many are keen to condemn Ocampo and the ICC, but what alternative have we offered as a vehicle for justice to the thousands victims of injustice? Here's a quick quiz; how many perpetrators of grand corruption have been brought to book in Kenya? Nevertheless, we are quick to shout 'Neo-colonialism' at the top of our voices yet we've allowed ourselves to be 'governed' by foreigners. We passed a constitution that assimilates International Laws and Treaties into our justice system, yet we are quick to fault the ICC process. I guess we're only human, we want to have our cake and eat it too.
bigbossman
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 7:11:31 PM

funnyguy wrote:
I am a scared Kenyan. Recent arguments and counter-arguments on Wazua remind me of the heated 'discussions' on Stockskenya circa 2007. I hope history won't repeat itself come 2013.

Please, I beg us to remember that Ruto, Raila, Kenyatta. . .the whole lot of the political class would want us to believe that they do what they do for YOUR good as a Kalenjin, Luo, Kikuyu. . . We often forget that they have one common goal that unites them all and that goal is not necessarily your well-being. Their goal is to obtain and maintain POWER to protect THEIR financial and social interests. But I stand to be corrected. I personally believe that you and I are just pawns in this intricate game called politics. Most of these guys are multi-millionaires (in USD) with thousands of acres of land and flourishing business interests. When was the last time you heard any of them offering up land to the thousands that are homeless? Food and shelter for the starving Kenyans? How many have actually made any meaningful and sustainable contributions to their own communities out of their own personal initiatives? What does any political party in Kenya currently stand for? Or do they only "stand for" what politician X says? Which parties can be considered liberal or conservative? Or does a 'conservative' party denote a party that only has membership from one community while a 'liberal' party draws membership from MPESA agents' records?

By all means, let us participate in the political process but let us do that soberly. At the end of the day, we'll only have two distinctions; the have's and the have-nots. . .no tribe. Many are keen to condemn Ocampo and the ICC, but what alternative have we offered as a vehicle for justice to the thousands victims of injustice? Here's a quick quiz; how many perpetrators of grand corruption have been brought to book in Kenya? Nevertheless, we are quick to shout 'Neo-colonialism' at the top of our voices yet we've allowed ourselves to be 'governed' by foreigners. We passed a constitution that assimilates International Laws and Treaties into our justice system, yet we are quick to fault the ICC process. I guess we're only human, we want to have our cake and eat it too.

Yes, we are weak enough to be part of some international treaty that's shoved down our throats by the jungu's in the pretext that it's a noble international cause and we are this from a disadvantaged position. We are also foolish enough to imagine the jungu's aims are for a better world since they are part of this treaties but we forget that when it comes to worse, the laws will only be fit for fixing the Africans and the rest who are like them. They never intended the laws to apply to them(the jungu's) and being part of the treaties is just a charade: their real intention was to fix the lesser mortals in this world.

We should start believing in ourselves. That way we would be able to deal with cases of crimes against humanity and the IDP problem ourselves.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
Drunkard
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 7:27:22 PM

@Lolest,
I am not justifying voilence in either side, lets stick to the legal facts, you do not need a legal training to understand that revange attack is hard to defend, you can call it reactionary if it had happen right during the initial attack i.e two people standing next to each other one wearing a t-shirt written Kikuyu and the other written Kalenjin and the news flash that Kalenjins are killing kikuyus and the Kikuyu one instantly Kill the Kalenjin one thats is reactionary! But it didn't happen like that, it happen a few day later so it is hard to call it reactionary/ self defence.

On the other side of the argument, even though most Kalenjins will tell you that the violence were spontenious and there was no planning, this line of argument become void once people are tranferred from point A to point B and the violence stretch beyond a few hours. While you can win the argument that the violence were spontenous and as a result of mismanaged election, what kept the violence lasting for that long was some form of organization and co-ordation.

I am a Kalenjin, I am from Eldoret and I know that violence started sponteniously, but I will take Ocampo side because as much as you can defend spontenious argument, no one can explain what kept the violence going for close to a week and no one can explain how people in large number could identify Kikuyus and no one can explain how people travel from one side of town to the other without using the word communicate/ message/ signs, these words indicate some structures.

Drunkard
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 7:31:42 PM

If I was Sang Radio guy lawyer, I would be advicing him to cut a deal and cross over to Ocampo side
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 7:38:20 PM

in law, every one has right to life. And no one has the right to deny another the right to life, unless, it is done in self defence.

Lawyers, interpret that
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 10:39:47 PM

This justice is a joke! Which community suffered most?