Manchester United Declared The World's Richest Club Ahead Of Real Madrid
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 5:46:00 AM

There are concerns about the global economy at the moment,but football is continuing to coin it in as this year's Forbes rich list shows - By Lucas Brown

Manchester United have retained their position as the world's richest football club ahead of Real Madrid and join nine other Premier League teams in the top 25. The Red Devils' are considered to be worth €1.42 billion by Forbes,well ahead of los Merengues,who are reported to be worth a figure of €1.03b.

Arsenal are,somewhat surprisingly,in third position,while Barcelona are in seventh place,despite their overall wealth increasing by 22 per cent from last year's summary. Madrid and the Blaugrana are the only two Spanish representatives on the list. There are also four Italian sides,five teams from the Bundesliga,two French sides and the Old Firm representing Scotland.

The show of strength from the Premier League is highlighted by Tottenham Hotspur's position of 11th,which places them above Inter,Roma and Olympique Lyonnais.

Spurs have only won two League Cups in the last ten seasons and never qualified for the Champions League. Chelsea's value only sees them make it into eighth place while Manchester City are back in 17th with a value of just €236 million,less than both Hamburg and Borussia Dortmund.

Top 25 clubs: (€,000,000's)

1 Manchester United 1,423

2 Real Madrid 1,030

3 Arsenal 913

4 Bayern Munich 845

5 Liverpool 768

6 Milan 753

7 Barcelona 730

8 Chelsea 609

9 Juventus 457

10 Schalke 04 388

11 Tottenham Hotspur 339

12 Olympique Lyonnais 322

13 Roma 290

14 Inter Milan 281

15 Hamburg 251

16 Borussia Dortmund 247

17 Manchester City 236

18 Werder Bremen 222

19 Newcastle United 217

20 Stuttgart 201

21 Aston Villa 183

21 Olympique de Marseille183

23 Celtic 166

24 Everton 158

25 Rangers 148

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
PONDI
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:01:00 AM

the author forgot about the little matter of the glazer family owing about 700M sterling.... hence why they have to sell ronaldo at the end of the season just to offset the interest accrued this financial year alone!

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:09:00 AM

Selling Ronaldo will have nothing to do with the Glazer family debt but rather his slump in form this season though I still believe he will not be sold!!!

If it was about the debt by the Glazer family they would have sold him last season,also Man Utd wouldn't have paid more tha $ 30M for Berba!!!.....

Pondi you forgetting that the Glazer family has owned Man Utd for more than 3 seasons now and that Forbes is much better placed as compared to you in determining the world's richest club!!!!

#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:09:00 AM

liverpool is half of manutd. we are tryng

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:18:00 AM

@Jah man......naona kweli ugali imeongeseka mesani mwako....bure wewe!! you should be figuring out how to make K'Ogalo number one locally

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
PONDI
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:22:00 AM

@mcreggae ... you are right,forbes is better able to determine the financial health of the clubs. my info comes from the Manchester United fans' pressure groups who have uncovered startling detail in accounts published this week by the club and its holding companies. The Glazers will have to repay £75m in 2013,£150m in 2014,£150m in 2015,£150m in 2016 and a final payment of £600m in 2017. now get this,For 2007-08 season,the club's turnover increased to a record £256m to generate club profits of £66m - but these were wiped out by interest repayments on debts of £68.8m. this the season they practically won everything in world football,got all those bonuses for winning etc etc.

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:25:00 AM

@Mc: Did Forbes forget to include Mathare United?
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:50:00 AM

@Magigi,

Mathare...??.Forbes were not looking for the most congested lunatic asylum...!!...-:)

Guka wa bijuti...
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:57:00 AM

PONDI: Good so Man Utd are the richest football club in the world you agree.......ya???

#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 7:10:00 AM

Does a high revenue mean that you are rich? Those fellas have to raise £150m every year for the next 6 years. Debt stands at £1.1 trillion. The long term loans were used to buy the claim. The americans have to sell. We are all richer than ManUs

Fundamentals + Sentiments = Position
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 7:30:00 AM

Fundam....

That's by your definition,but sorry we got the universally agreed method/definition which puts Man Utd at the top!!!

Guys forget that all the big 4 in England are servicing loans in one way or the other!!!!

Bashka
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 7:50:00 AM

Richest club yes........ lakini kesho watachapwa na Porto.