wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Best ways to conserve water during the current rationing
jitetee
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:28:00 PM

Number 1 : Never before has flushing the loo felt like such a major life decision. Solution is to do your thing at your place of work,or at the shopping mall but never at home.

Next!

Time and chance happen to all.
Poggie
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:34:00 PM

Alternatively,you could all take a dump sequentially. The tois go first then the wife followed by you then the maid who has the mandate of flushing. Bath water is recycled through the kids then the hubby followed by the memsub and of course the maid happens to be the heho!Weekends look for a club where you can all go for swimming.

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
Lyanne
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:49:00 PM

I think the rainy season may be over for you to be getting quick tips now,

Try and get a gutter in place and a huge tank. Installed the 2 tanks with a capacity of 25,000 litres for my mom back home at the onset of the rains,and guess what? She is now selling water to other villagers !

Personally,it should be a Govt. policy for every house to have gutters and a tank. Alot of water goes to waste which can be used during the dry spell.

The Hedonist
Jalofg
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:52:00 PM

Each person to recycle his/her urine esp. in the morning. I hear its a healthy drink. A few cups of water will be saved.

Jalofg
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:00:00 PM

Drink beer and save water

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
#6 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2009 11:33:00 AM

Use all your water at least twice before throwing it away...except,of course drinking and cooking water

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#7 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2009 11:33:00 AM

Use all your water at least twice before throwing it away...except,of course drinking and cooking water

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
swaleh
#8 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2009 1:52:00 PM

Or grow a hump kama ngamia.
#9 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2009 6:49:00 PM

Do ua job slowly so that u dnt sweat! Meaning u can showerstrike for a few days n drink less water! Also,eat less,meaning less cooking water n less s****ing... Gud luck.

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#10 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2009 6:57:00 PM

Use the water for washing clothes to flush the loos and clean the house,bath water can be used to flush loos,use the water in the tank only when that from the mains disappears,close your taps properly to avoid wastage.

#11 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2009 6:32:00 AM

confine each household member to only 100cc of drinking water per day and the measurements to be exact and carefully monitored...mabibi and the househelps to do waterless cooking except of course ugali....Showers,no..bathing,use only 5 litres per person after every two days,and the water reserved....the water from bathing to be used for laundry and flushing the toilet...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#12 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2009 9:44:00 AM

Shower with a partner,(probably your wife/husband) and make sure you're standing inside a huge 'karai' while at it,then use that water to flash your loo or wash clothes.

Soak your clothes overnight first before washing,and use minimal soap/detergents while washing so that you dont have to use a lot of water to rinse the clothes.

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Ken K
#13 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2009 6:17:00 PM

Save water,shower together
#14 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2009 7:29:00 PM

Don't drink water, drink wine
Don't wash your clothes at home,take them to the laundry
Don't shower at home,go to the spa. The shower after the steam bath is free.

Water problem??? What water problem that you cannot solve with a little imagination. Come on mwananchi think!

Weusi wa nywele za mshtakiwa zaonyesha ujinga alio nao
Mosby
#15 Posted : Sunday, July 26, 2009 4:08:00 AM

Kusadikika u must b livn in a dif economy.,.Anyway,on the flip side of the water problem,theaz a new pick up line in town..'lets go to my place,theres water'..

:::
Shotgun
#16 Posted : Sunday, July 26, 2009 7:02:00 AM

Got this from a buddy:

HUBBY: Watoto wako wapi?

WIFEY: Wako kwa jirani,wanaoga

HUBBY: Walipata aje maji?

WIFEY: MAJI LOAN

HUBBY: Nita apply kesho!

WIFEY: (smiles)

MAJI LOAN! APPLY NOW!

Shortest Story Ever: One day there was a woman who did not nag,argue or irritate.... But it was only one day! The end
tamtam
#17 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:20:00 AM

aaahhhaaa,eti swimming after two days without bathing,swimming attendants should force all swimmers to take a shower before dipping themselves in the S. Pools

Precious
The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
#18 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 10:15:00 AM

While at it,wash all your clothes at home and take them with you to the nearest swimming pool and rinse them there! Please Note: You'll have to know all the swimming pools in your area because chances are low the swimming pool attendants will let you near the pool the next time you show up!
#19 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 10:16:00 AM

@ jitetee,i thought the requirement that one is supposed to shower before entering a pool is not a new thing. Isn't that the reason changing rooms have showers?

Djinn
#20 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 10:38:00 AM

skip washing your car or reduce the frequency,

a bit extreme but actionable,but try to find disposable substitutes for serving food on (depending on the type of food - e.g. like the plain papers you get @ kenchic - then have these sent for recycling),

men who shave at home: cut back of daily shaving - do it weekly instead,

wear,air & recycle certain clothing items - t-shirts,trousers (esp in this weather where drying takes time).

If it rains - take advantage - harvest,soap the car and let the rain rinse it off (I've done this many times successfully),put out mats/rugs in the rain,etc.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less