wazua Mon, Feb 24, 2025

Your favorite music artists,genre?
the sage
#21 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:13:00 PM

MJ,Dire Straits,Madonna,Jimmy Hendrix,Fela Kuti,Dudu Baya,Sam Fan Thomas,Immortal Technique,
myks
#22 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:14:00 PM

Ngoleni Boys band

face your fears live your dreams
#23 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:23:00 PM

For me its got to be Tupac. The poetry,rage and anger in his songs have left him immortalised.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
eli
#24 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:38:00 PM

International - Don Moen
Local - Mbuvi,Patrick Oyaro,Esther Wahome,Rose Muhando

Genre - Gospel

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Ric dees
#25 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:52:00 PM

I love Soul,Hip Hop and Gangsta rap,but Tupac does it for me ..he was a true legend..check out the below verse one of my all time favourite

I

You know it makes me unhappy (what's that)
When brothas make babies,and leave a young mother to be a pappy
And since we all came from a woman
Got our name from a woman and our game from a woman
I wonder why we take from our women
Why we rape our women,do we hate our women?
I think it's time to kill for our women
Time to heal our women,be real to our women
And if we don't we'll have a race of babies
That will hate the ladies,that make the babies
And since a man can't make one
He has no right to tell a woman when and where to create one
So will the real men get up
I know you're fed up ladies,but keep your head

Enough said...

Success is not measured by what you accomplish,but by the opposition you have encountered and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against the overwhelming odds'

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Fundaah
#26 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:59:00 PM

D.O Misiani... Kativui.....John de matthew(nguruneti).....Ken wa maria.... Joseph Kamaru golden old hits....Najivunia kuwa Mkenya.....

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#27 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 2:12:00 PM

For kenyan artistes I would pick The late 'Okatch Biggy' and his Super Heka Heka band.

This guy was a genius lyricist,serious benga stuff there.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
Bree
#28 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 2:44:00 PM

Mugithi...Mugithi...Mugithi... & mo Mugithi...
livie
#29 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 4:41:00 PM

bongo flava all the way-jeez mabov,adili,fidQ,mchizi hongera,steve e,dataz,chiku keto,la familia,chidi benz,ali nipishe,PNC,wakali kwanza,dayna,abubakar mzuri,hussein machozi,desamo,mapacha,makamua,mwana wa daud,estaam,tundaman,fatma,mr2....the list is endless.

other than that,early eighties soul...
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
holycow
#30 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 8:09:00 PM

Apparently its only Djinn who appreciates Classical music. Handel's 'Messiah' or Vivaldi's Violin Concerto does it for me. I think of myself as an anachronist(in my late 20's) so anything old goes for me. Favourite genre is Classical and Rock followed closely by Rhumba/Lingala. I find the works of The Beatles,Rolling Stones and music of the 60's,70's 80's and early 90's fascinating so if there is a song you might want from this period,ask for who knows,i might be having it. Sundowner on KBC is my favourite Radio show and 105.5 XFM where Rock Lives
Sorry to say this but genge/Kenyan rap is yet to come of age as the shelf life of the songs are at most 6 months then they are forgotten.
Long for the days when you had to play a musical instrument (Saxophone/Guitar) to be called a musician. Maroon Commandos,Mzee Ngala,Okatch Biggy,Waigwa Wachira,Daudi Kabaka,Luseno,Kakai Kilonzo,Musa Juma etc.

Finally for those who want to download free non-Kenyan music online,check out the site www.mp3raid.com
#31 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 9:37:00 PM

@Holycow,be careful where you pirate online music,you could get jailed or massively fined.

The music industry has already won a pioneer suit in Sweden (against a website) and the US (against a single mom).

You should be fine to keep downloading if you are in kenya though,I don't think they will be coming there anytime soon.

PONDI
#32 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 4:39:00 AM

90's jams do it for me... lakini Tupac shakur touched my soul... locally i dont mind some jua kali and abit of lingala.

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
Sasha
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 4:49:00 AM

Favourite music: Hip hop

Favourite artists: Eminem (my biggest favourite)

Favourite song: They keep changing, but to name a few Song Cry (Eminem), Temptations (Tupac), Who Knew (Eminem), Lost Ones (Jay-Z), Amityville (Eminem), U Know (Xzibit) ... I'll stop there!

Na kuna wazee wengi sana hapa sk!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!