tithing
seppuku wrote:McReggae wrote:poundfoolish wrote:before tax for me
.....the gaament should tithe the part they tax!!!! Hmm, interesting way to think about it... Anyway, I personally find organized religion too rigid, granted that what constitutes right and wrong is fairly obvious to most people. To me, service to man is service to God. However, if you are a christian believer who fellowships at a given church, I think you're obliged to donate some of your money to help run it. How you relate that with what the bible has to say about tithing and/or offering depends on how you consume the good book as a whole. Some people take everything literally, word for word. Others attempt to contextualize. Most do both to varying degrees. I simply attempt to be a fair, honest and productive human being! @Seppuku, I think I agree with you 100%, people worry so much about serving God through the church structures while it is obvious that service to man is service to God, help your neighbor instead of sending money to Vatican or to a pastor to buy flashy cars. I think most people are brainwashed by the churches and the pastors, I have never tithed all my life, why shoud I? I believe in a supernatural being a creatore of human but why would someone hand me a book, pick a few verses and ask me for my money? I am a good man, I am not a killer otherwise I woould be in jail, I am not a thieve otherwise I wouldn't have a job, I alway give a few cash to the homeless guy across the street so that he doesn't break into my Car, I do not throw trash because I like my neighborhood clean, I do not break the law because I will lose my job if I do that, I am emotionally stable and happy with everything and if I am not happy with my situation I do not sit and pray and wait for some supernatural God to figure things out for me, I get up and sort my stuff out, so why should I go to church and hand out money?
kingfisher wrote:mukiha wrote:And now to the touchy subject of church leaders/pastors suspected of thieving from the tithe. My advice is: if you suspect that the pastor at your church is dishonest, don't stop giving your tithe!
Instead, stop going to that church and join a different one where you can trust the leadership. You have no business giving God's money to some one you don't trust! @mukiha.... must you tithe in the church? I don't think so!! Secondly... supposing the white man did not come here with both the bible and the gun, could this tithing talk be there? This matter is about yourself and your God. There are people who do a lot for the poor, sick, needy, etc outside tithing system than whole church systems. So its a matter of your conscience with God. End of story. And what about if the bible is a collection of fiction stories from genius writer of those day and the church is a big ponzi scheme with the pastor or the pope sitting on top of the pyramid?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
jemimah thiongo once sung something in the song...UMBEA... asking.. "wewe hutoa ngapi kati ya sadaka ama zako zaliwa zingali mfukoni?" if you don't tithe don't contribute All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
mukiha wrote:kenmac wrote:for those who tithe, do you calculate it before or after tax? In businesses, do you calculate on total revenue or after deducting expenses. God simply wants you to give back 10% of what you get from him. Don't go complicating matters by asking whether it is before or after tax, before or after expenses (for business people) etc. you know what you get from God, don't you? Then work out a tenth and give back. It's really that simple. If you don't know how much God gives you, then you are either an ignorant idiot, or you have absolutely no intention of giving back...that's why you are asking for formulas! Remember, God loves the cheerful giver... not the one who is looking for a mathematical formula that will ensure he/she gives no more and no less. come srowry. I give back to the society once in a while, this was just an argument i had in mind after reading that giving more or less than the ten percent is not tithing.
I think saying that Christians must tithe takes away the true spirit of cheerful giving and substitutes it with mandatory payment. In the book of Acts, we see Christians giving much more than the tithe but going to the extent of selling their property in order to give to the church and the poor. We do not get a mention of the tithe yet they give much more! scout_boy wrote:Giving includes tithing ,offering etc.
Tithing predates the Law of Moses,as Abraham gave 10% of his gain to Melchizedek the High priest.Consequently,it should be followed in the days of grace.
10% should be viewed like an acknowledgement note, indicating one has received the 100% intact.
Remember ,Christ praised the woman who gave the two coins ,the only thing she had,simply because she gave from the heart.
masukuma wrote:jemimah thiongo once sung something in the song...UMBEA... asking.. "wewe hutoa ngapi kati ya sadaka ama zako zaliwa zingali mfukoni?" if you don't tithe don't contribute Kama mtu hana ng'ombe, asitoe maoni kwenye mkutano wa cattle dip
Dear brothers and sisters, why should we limit ourselves to giving 10%? Many Christians get so hung up on the idea of giving 10% that it becomes a religious act that does nothing to please God. Hence the debate on whether to 'tithe from gross or net income'. What God loves most is a cheerful giver: 'Whatever you give is acceptable if you give it eagerly. And give according to what you have, not what you don't have'.(2 Cor 8:12) It is possible for one to tithe and feel so satisfied (Nimelipa deni ya mwezi huu) that they overlook other people who may be in real need. We are saved by God's grace and not by our works, and certainly not how much we give. God loves a cheerful giver, regardless of the ammount (doesn't have to be money, can be anything we own). One more thing, giving does not have to be to the church for it to please God. Jesus repeatedly talked of giving to the needy (Mathew 6 and many others). Any kind of cheerful giving is service to God, regardless of whom you're giving to. Even so, it is our duty as followers of Christ to take care of our local churches by giving to them as much as we are able to. After all, they have many expenses to meet: salaries, rent, utilities etc.
Asanteni for the discussion.
kenmac wrote:for those who tithe, do you calculate it before or after tax? In businesses, do you calculate on total revenue or after deducting expenses. is this the pastor who was showing off on bullseye asking his followers "mumeona ile chuma nimeingia nayo"? isn't that vomiting on the very hands that feed him?i.am.back!!!!
kingfisher wrote:@mukiha.... must you tithe in the church? I don't think so!!
Secondly... supposing the white man did not come here with both the bible and the gun, could this tithing talk be there?
The question of what we would be doing if highly hypothetical. May be we would all be Muslims. May be Africans would have invaded Europe and then realised that Christianity is a "better" faith than their traditional ones. May be my father and mother would never have met and I would therefore not exist! May be.... May be... May be... So let's not go in that direction. kingfisher wrote:@mukiha....
There are people who do a lot for the poor, sick, needy, etc outside tithing system than whole church systems. So its a matter of your conscience with God. End of story.
I used to think along these lines some years back. Then I was hit by a flash of wisdom in the form of two questions: Q1] Do I have the wisdom to tell which is the more urgent need in society? Am I "qualified" to choose between, say, providing a home for orphans or feeding the poor? My answer to this was: NO Q2] Who deserves the credit from society for doing all this good work? My answer: certainly not me! The needy pray to God for help, therefore the credit should go to Him. If that credit goes to His church, then that's good enough for me. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/16/2010 Posts: 672 Location: nairobi
Jus Blazin wrote:Oh my, how a simple word can get us lost in the myriad of explanations. Tithing in modern day times, someone should write an article with that subject matter. It seems a grey area.
Personally, I tithe from my gross. Not out of demand or compulsion, but out of the principle of giving. If God gave me 100%, I dont feel bad giving 10% for His work. It's not that He needs it, but it's more of me learning the importance of giving.
I give the government through taxes so as to benefit myself and others through the use of public goods. I dont feel bad when I'm taxed, neither do I when I tithe. At the end of it all, where the income came from, more is still on the way. I give because of my faith, I give because He gave His all for my sake. So whether tithing is biblical in Neo-Covenant times or not, whether it's monetary or not, I'll give my 10%.For I want to give out of love. HAKUNA MTU AMENENA KAMA WEWE - INGINE YOTE NI POROJO. I AGREE WITH YOU TOTALLY! NOW; FOR THOSE WHO STILL DIFFERENT OPINIONS - WEWE FANYA VILE UNAONA NI VIZURI - THEN SIKU YA MWISHO - MTANENA NA MUUMBA WAKO! NO NEED TO ARGUE REALLY - PESA NI ZAKO - MUNGU NI WAKO - FANYA VILE UNATAKA - UZURI WA MUNGU IS THAT HE DOES NOT COME DOWN TO DEMAND - HE GIVES ROOM TO CHOOSE -- KAZI KWAKO! God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!
mjuaji wa stocks wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Oh my, how a simple word can get us lost in the myriad of explanations. Tithing in modern day times, someone should write an article with that subject matter. It seems a grey area.
Personally, I tithe from my gross. Not out of demand or compulsion, but out of the principle of giving. If God gave me 100%, I dont feel bad giving 10% for His work. It's not that He needs it, but it's more of me learning the importance of giving.
I give the government through taxes so as to benefit myself and others through the use of public goods. I dont feel bad when I'm taxed, neither do I when I tithe. At the end of it all, where the income came from, more is still on the way. I give because of my faith, I give because He gave His all for my sake. So whether tithing is biblical in Neo-Covenant times or not, whether it's monetary or not, I'll give my 10%.For I want to give out of love. HAKUNA MTU AMENENA KAMA WEWE - INGINE YOTE NI POROJO. I AGREE WITH YOU TOTALLY! NOW; FOR THOSE WHO STILL DIFFERENT OPINIONS - WEWE FANYA VILE UNAONA NI VIZURI - THEN SIKU YA MWISHO - MTANENA NA MUUMBA WAKO!
NO NEED TO ARGUE REALLY - PESA NI ZAKO - MUNGU NI WAKO - FANYA VILE UNATAKA - UZURI WA MUNGU IS THAT HE DOES NOT COME DOWN TO DEMAND - HE GIVES ROOM TO CHOOSE -- KAZI KWAKO! LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Wow! Someone should start a thread on keeping the sabbath. I hope the tithing proponents will stay consistent.
My 2 cents on this (no pun intended) is that tithing has to be experienced personally.
First give your life to God, so that you consent to Him owning you and all you have. Arguments regarding gross / net become irrelevant.
Second read what the bible says about tithing. You can experiment by living by tithing (or not). No doubt the benefits (or lack thereof) will be experienced.
bwenyenye wrote:@Kyt,
Please read on church history and also realize that the Bible writes about the faith, culture, traditions and history of the Jews. Thus the need for Christians to study theology in detail. You will learn to differentiate these issues. Some of these merchants of the gospel have raised hell over women covering their heads, Polygamy etc all because they do not differentiate the culture, faith and religion of the Jews. The good book is very clear that 'my people perish(are conned) for lack of knowledge. How can the blind lead the blind? Christianity is all about a relationship with JESUS .. simple.. no religion, culture, traditions. He fits into all!
Therefore, the issue of tithing on gross or net, or whether to tithe or not is secondary and will not take anyone to heaven or hell. If you love Jesus, you will give out of your heart not out of your income. @Bwenyenye - happy new year my friend. You have nailed this one right on the bulls eye. These practices are not important. Christianity is about following Christ. No one needs a 'testimony' of a Runda house to appeal to the congregation. Indeed, God's pple perish due to ignorance. After a sunday sermon, how many actually study the word or at least think about it keenly?
Mtu Biz wrote: Wow!
Someone should start a thread on keeping the sabbath.
I hope the tithing proponents will stay consistent.
or on women keeping their heads covered
hope so too THE BOTTOM LINE: IF YOU TITHE, DO IT CHEERFULLY NOT OUT OF COMPULSION. Then, it will no longer be important about whether it is gross or net or 10% or 100% but what you have decided freely in your heart to give. 2 Corinthians 9 6 Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. 7 Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. 8 And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. 9 As it is written: “They have freely scattered their gifts to the poor; their righteousness endures forever.”[a] 10 Now he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. 11 You will be enriched in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God.
Kumbe such a good discussion was goin on! Hello Mtu biz. What about the sabbath? Rev 14:12 still talks about the commandments of God. At the end of the world we still see the law of God and faith of Jesus. And both, together make up the patience of the saints, at the end of the world. Faith without works is dead. Anyway, about tithe, isnt a plain 'thus says the Lord' sufficient to ensure compliance whether we feel like obeying or not? I think it should. If it helps, He is even quoted verbatim, not paraphrased. Malachi 3:7-12. We should not obey only when we feel like. Obedience is better than sacrifice. 1 Samuel 15:22. And so, man shall not live by bread alone but by every word.. , (Matthew 4:4 & Deuteronomy 8:3). Every word. Yes, every word, both old and new testament words. I relish the opportunity to engage in good old fashioned bible study with the 'new-testament-only' christians so that we search the scriptures like the Bereans to see if these things are true. There is complete harmony between the old and new testaments and not a single word in the old testament should be disregard. This assertion should pique the the pentecostal and charismatic christians and they should feel free to grill me on this. For example lets compare Malachi 3:6 and Hebrews 13:8 & Matthew 4:4 & Deuteronomy 8:3 just to start with. Its unfortunate that wolves in sheep clothing have twisted the word of God to suit their own ends and to mislead the people. However, as we embark on this bible study its good to keep in mind that 'And the times of this ignorance God winked at; but now commandeth all men every where to repent:' Acts 17:30. There will come a time when no one will hide behind his pastor or priest.
Inability to browse truly hinders my participation in such good debates. Hello Mtu Biz. What about the sabbath? The commandments of God are still being talked about favourably in Revelation 14:12 at the end of the world. The laws of God (together with the faith of Jesus) will make up the patience of the saints. Anyway, man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God. Twice this is repeated in the bible as if to make a point on us. These are in Deuteronomy 8:3 and Matthew 4:4. Both the old and new testaments. A simple 'thus says the lord' should bring out compliance from us and that should be the basis of our obedience, not our feelings. We should do it because God has ordered it, not because we just 'feel' like it. What if we dont 'feel' like it? Do we disobey? Every word, every word that proceeds from the mouth of God and remember He started speaking in Genesis. So we should live by both the old testament words and new testament words, all of them. This should pique the pentecostal and charismatic christians and I welcome it. I will relish a chance for good old fashioned bible study, just like the Bereans. Its a pity that wolves in sheep cloth have twisted the bible to suit themselves and mislead the people. But there will come a time when no one will hide behind his pastor or priest or whatever front. Acts 17:30. And the times of this ignorance God winked at; but now commandeth all men every where to repent:
tithing