wazua Thu, Jan 1, 2026

Mombasa Republican Council
Ms Mkenya
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 2:36:44 PM

The above group is worryingly growing and has even been training in Kwale forest, acquiring arms etc. All this is in a bid to make Mombasa a new country, Pwani.

Some politicians are supporting it.. A worrying trend indeed..

They even have a Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com...cil-MRC/148508195220835

Anyone with info on it?
....above all, to stand.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 2:49:56 PM

The problem of capitalism and self enrichment..at the expenses of 'the cow'
They even shout down a whole government PC at a National function and walk away en masse from venue

Mjinga (read coasterians) akierevuka.. Mwerevu (read waBara) yu mashakani..
This thing will get murky cos its going to be a keg of poverty vs effluence, drugLords and religions.. BOOM!!!!! till our leaders learn.. coast is some fine gunpowder
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 3:01:16 PM

Woooi!!! This is another Northern Nigeria waiting to happenSad
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 3:05:02 PM

But just to ask, can anyone who is well versed with the independence Constitution explain to me what agreements were there between the Sultan and the Government? Was the agreement similar to the one with Zanzibar which would have seen the Coast region be autonomous? Were the Coast people shortchanged by the Government later on? Saidia.
majimaji
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 3:26:26 PM

Having worked at the coast, I know that the majority of land in the said 10 mile strip is owned by Arab families. For instance, all big parcels of land in Malindi town and surrounding are owned by about 5 families. Go to Kilifi, the Mazrui family is king with their base at Takaungu. This families have a common thread: former rulers and slave traders. The British also settled freed slaves in the strip, you have land titles reading so and so, a freed slave is hereby granted such size of land. You will never hear people talking about land held by Arabs, quite a number of them absentee landlords. In Mombasa, you can be sold a house, but not the land it stands on, or someone says he has sold you the land, but not the coconut trees therein. The agenda of the Mombasa Republicans and the real owners of the coast is at variance, akina Balala and kin stand to lose if they win. I doubt they will go far.
wanyuru
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 3:27:51 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Woooi!!! This is another Northern Nigeria waiting to happenSad

Had raised the same issue here http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=12697 sometimes back. This one will even be bigger than hiyo ya Nigeria.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 3:40:34 PM

My assessment of MRC:
1. Little international support would be forthcoming owing to the geostrategic location of Kenya and its importance to the region n the world.
2. Small population that cant form a critical fighting unit unlike the popular mungiki which was crushed anyway.
3. Local support devided.
4. Historically, not very ferocious warriors.
5. Poverty n lack of basic resources eg food+laziness will definitely be to their detriment.

Me thinks the gava will just watch, wait for a heinous act to be commited down there, generate a mountain of public apathy n anger, then hammer them to pulp. Just my comforting thoughts.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 3:44:15 PM

My assessment of MRC:
1. Little international support would be forthcoming owing to the geostrategic location of Kenya and its importance to the region n the world.
2. Small population that cant form a critical fighting unit unlike the popular mungiki which was crushed anyway.
5. Poverty n lack of basic resources eg food+laziness will definitely be to their detriment.

Me thinks the gava will just watch, wait for a heinous act to be commited down there, generate a mountain of public apathy n anger, then hammer them to pulp. Just my comforting thoughts.

I think so but we shouldnt wait for a likoni scenario to replay again there.Remember it's 2012.The Gova should just do what is necessary before its too late.I was in the coast in 1997 and I tell you being mkamba kutoka bara ,the situation was very scaring.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Sure
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 3:52:52 PM

My assessment of MRC:

The Mombasa Raha Republicans should be put in train wagons and shipped to Mt Elgon for a month. Let them intermingle with the residents there and ship them back to mwambao. These lazy citizens will pass the message over to the rest.

Those are not my thoughts.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
sanity
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 6:16:32 PM

'user' wrote:
My assessment of MRC:

I think so but we shouldnt wait for a likoni scenario to replay again there.Remember it's 2012.The Gova should just do what is necessary before its too late.I was in the coast in 1997 and I tell you being mkamba kutoka bara ,the situation was very scaring.

These MRC guys should ask themselves who stands to lose most as they continue to propagate their agenda.1997 was a terrible period for the region.but the overall losers were the locals because businesses shut down and investor took off leaving ghost towns.BTW who told them seceding will solve their problems?infact considering their attitude towards work,they will only get more miserable.I agree will skabz,the gava will just buy some time,finish up with the elections and then pulp them up aftr gathering enuff public support.
Hope is not a strategy
Ms Mkenya
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 3:18:00 PM

I was horrified by Zipapa's comments.. Ati if they change the name and include more than just Mombasa he will join them.

He baffles me..
....above all, to stand.
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 3:32:33 PM

four peeping Guests(4)
Mzalendo Kibunjas boys must be hard at work...

just saying
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 4:55:35 PM

nothing much will come out of this. the movers are guys of arab extraction who are afraid to loose their large tracts of land, the way the mzungu lost the white highlands, so they have hired stupid locals (mostly swahilis - who are a result of arab/locals intermarriages) to be singing secession every day on their behalf.

I will be most worried when i will hear the Giriamas, mijikendas, Taitas, Wandigos and other indigenous coast people start singing that song. That day I will not take summit.
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 5:10:08 PM

The populace at the coast does not believe in land ownership. Give them titles and they sell the land to Arabs the following day and continue sitting on the same land. You have to keep paying squatter to move. Fraudsters there sell the same piece of land to three or more people. What is happening there is similar to Mavoko. I think if you push the pharmacist, they start crying for cessation. Must be a bargaining tool.
Jaina
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 7:02:39 PM

Laziness, Illitracy and poverty is the cause of all their proble
Dash
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2012 2:06:25 PM

The mrc are just fighting the for the Muslim/ Arab populations in coast and not the indigenous mijikenda/taitas who one, are not all muslims, second,are more in terms of numbers and third, are looked down upon by the mwarabus. So this mrc is not going anywhere.
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2012 3:08:32 PM

Jaina wrote:
Laziness, Illitracy and poverty is the cause of all their proble

From your list, they only have one problem. Laziness... the rest is as a result of the first one... How do you explain illiteracy when we still have free education.... they have land, but they wont farm... i have travelled around coast. From Malindi all the way down coast to some few kilometers to TZ and the scene is the same, people seated under a tree from early morning to the late evening waiting for the mangoes to grow so that they can sell by the roadside when they have tracks of idle land... How do you help such?

i was surprised that eggs sold in Nyali Nakumatt are brought all the way from Limuru... someone can check that if you want to confirm!
jamplu
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2012 3:32:15 PM

the goverment is just waiting for one guy to claim to be the ultimate leader then utajionea. I was a little boy in mombasa when IPK under sheikh balala started making such noise the guy went to yemen upon getting back to the airport from yemen with a real kenyan passport he was declared persona non grata mshaa sikia IPK tena?
No one was forcefully evicted from their land in mombasa the majority of it was idle land which was put into good use. In most cases the wazees sold land to people from upcountry. I have had family members who went there in the early 60's they bought the land those days they used to farm in Mikindani Area and they later applied for ownership of the land after agreeing with the locals who didn't need the land. Who's fooling who when some people claim walinyanganywa mashamba.