wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

El nino has finally started
Kulchaz
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 12:57:00 PM

The coastal region is experiencing some extremely heavy downpour since yesternight,there are floods everywhere,im thinking if this is the damage caused by a few hours of el-nino then what is going to be left after 3 to 4 months of these rains?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 2:21:00 PM

That is why we were being told over and over again to prepare for El nino! The govt has of course been caught 'unawares'. I really hope the rains will be widespread anyways.

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 2:48:00 PM

today is mid october and still the rains have not picked yet,at least an amount that can comfortably be termed as el nino rains....we could be witnessing the normal short rains season and we need not confuse it with el nino....

earlier reports by the South Africas meterologists indicated that the situation could go either way...that is,southern africa region may have little or no rains while the eastern africa region will have above normal rainfall and vise versa....so far some heavy downpours have been reported in Botswana,Zambia,Zimbabwe,some parts of South Africa and Mozambique

whatever the case be prepared....

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
TD
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 3:51:00 PM

Ni wapi huko kume-flood,Nairobi bado vumbi vumbi,hii mvua tumeingoja sana,ningenjua ingefikisha mid-october singenunua mwavuli mapema hivyo - its affecting my cashflow :(
Kamaa
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 4:07:00 PM

@TD Lol..uza! & btw the weather in nrb has been changing and i would not be surprised if it started today..

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Kulchaz
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 5:55:00 PM

Its in malindi and the north coast in general,it has been raining elephants and buffaloes not cats and dogs for the last 18 or so hours nonstop!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 6:38:00 PM

Where is this El-Nino???

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
festom
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 4:53:00 AM

@Kulchaz,
There only pools of water not floods!,It goods the rains have started,vumbi Kwisha!

Don't sit and wait - look for the next opportunity
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 6:09:00 AM

Some met guy xplained 2me that central region eastwards may not get as much rain as the western/north rift region.

Can silence be misquoted?
Braza
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 6:33:00 AM

.......Msa is still raining since last night......... we feared the dust,but the mud is more scaring......tu ta do?

Consistency requires you to be as ignorant today as you were a year ago.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
akowally
#11 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 1:03:00 PM

Very good to see the rain,even here in Nairobi. Hope it doesn't have half as much negative effects that they said it would. I am currently focusing on the positives

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
cnn
#12 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 6:43:00 AM

These met guys,bure kabisa,i expected a deluge by now.

see it through my lens?
#13 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 6:49:00 AM

They said it very clearly that it wil b confined mainly to the western parts n coastline. Central,nai,rift...kidogo.

Can silence be misquoted?