Kisumu Express - Help needed
I need your help good people of Wazua.
I have someone who needs to travel to Kisumu tomorrow morning. Last evening i tried to get a ticket from EasyCoach but it is fully booked until 26th. Plus, it also doesnt come cheap. Akamba is not very helpful either.
I am trying to avoid Machakos Airport by all means because of the madness that happens during this season.
i need to know, especially for those who commute there, where else can I check? Are there shuttle (matatus) that go there and where can i get? several options and locations where i can get the buses/matatus will be very helpful. Preferably in town. (Road transport only please.... hakuna pesa ya jetlink na kadhalika)
Please saidieni huyu dada.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,492 Location: Nairobi
Wendz there are shuttles n the best option is to be in town very early in the morning. Prestige shuttle is just next to Reke marie not sure of the name of the street but akifika hapo atapata gari. Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
dossy7 wrote:Wendz there are shuttles n the best option is to be in town very early in the morning. Prestige shuttle is just next to Reke marie not sure of the name of the street but akifika hapo atapata gari.
Seriously @dossy? Am very serious.. I need info on where i can get a vehicle to kisumu.
Shuttles at Reke Marie and Tea Room. You can also try Guardian (great buses, they even have s**t holes) bus on River Road near KCB. There's also Crown Bus at Jevanjee Gardens. And @wendz, the person can always fly 
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
@Wendz ...Gondoro za kubeba ni ngapi? Kitanda, TV - widescreen-60" or 100"?... Kuna fridge pia? I need this background info to get you the best road transport means?
Guradian has an office just on the street next to Akamba!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Akitokelezea pale ungem, atapata trailer. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
McReggae wrote:Guradian has an office just on the street next to Akamba!!! They moved to River Road. @wendz, hiyo barabara ya Reke Marie inaitwa Timboroa Lane - ask @Njunge. @Magigi, but do you say? What about the C-Band (not ku-Band) dish?
Gordon Gekko wrote:McReggae wrote:Guradian has an office just on the street next to Akamba!!! They moved to River Road. @wendz, hiyo barabara ya Reke Marie inaitwa Timboroa Lane - ask @Njunge. @Magigi, but do you say? What about the C-Band (not ku-Band) dish? I knew i would defn get help here... by the way @Dossy, i thought you were pulling my leg about the existence of "reke maire" and prestige shuttle... dindt know they actually existed... @GG, you are in info-goldmine! thanks sana! i have googled the location of Timboroa Lane and prestige shuttle... The are right here! http://maps.google.co.ke...m=1&ved=0CB0Q8gEwAA
for those poor in CBD directions like me... @McRg, thanks boss... got their location in the map above. @Magigi - shindwo!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
@Wendy, I will driving there Friday leaving NBO at 8am, you can consider this.Stopover at Kikopeyi for a soft choma from baboon (those meat are so sweet and yummiest to be a goat meat)...the next stop at Kedowa to buy waru,kitunguu,nyanya na carrots!Then we proceed to Kisumu arriving at 4.30pm. holla me here> 2008impunity@gmail.comPortfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
If everything fails then one of us may give her a lift in our automobiles!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 2/8/2007 Posts: 625 Location: Nairobi
Prestige Shuttle hap nyuma ya Afya House The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
ask your friend to get a few guyz they go to wilson and hire a cessna to kisum city hasara mara moja kwa mwaka si mbaya and also they will arrive in style.
Does the legendary train to Kisumu still operate? It could be an option.
@Impunity & Mcrg... please don't tempt this dada... i am a true Kenyans and you know how we love freebies!
@jaggernaut - train operates that route? waoh... i will keep that on my 'basket list' if only for the fish at the beach!
Ama apande Nissan, to nakuru (bout 300/=) then achukue ingine to kisum' (maybe 700/=)
and when you land in kisum, you can unwind with a cold one at 'octopussy bar and lodging'
Impunity wrote:@Wendy, I will driving there Friday leaving NBO at 8am, you can consider this.Stopover at Kikopeyi for a soft choma from baboon (those meat are so sweet and yummiest to be a goat meat)...the next stop at Kedowa to buy waru,kitunguu,nyanya na carrots!Then we proceed to Kisumu arriving at 4.30pm. holla me here> 2008impunity@gmail.com @ Impunity, now that you've mentioned your itinerary, I would advise you avoid TOTAL junction "corrodation" and instead divert to Narok-Bomet-Kaplong-Kericho(junctionof)- Kisumu or proceed from Kaplong/Sotik to Kisii, Oyugis the Kisum. Unless you driver a juggernaut, you are bound to have a very uncomfortable ride if your stick to your planned itinerary. I will be looking out for a wazuan behaving well on the highway. Wendz, if she gets a shuttle, let her do two stupid things before she pays for her ticket. The things are 1. Look at the driver (if he looks riff raffish with red eyes (he probable hasnt had much sleep and is likely to be an unsafe driver) 2. Look at all the 4 tyres (if the treads are gone, she better wait for the next one with a sober looking driver and good tires). And the shuttle better pass by Central Police for a passenger patdown before hitting Waiyaki Way, otherwise vijana pia wanatafuta. Wendz. Kama ni wewe hiding behind "someone who needs Kisumu Express", I'd be glad to offer you a ride as we exchange good ideas on the journey.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,492 Location: Nairobi
@Wendz serious i was not pulling ur leg that has been my mode of transport for the past 2yrs n i have contacts in that office. Hope she will find a means to Kisumu and its only 1000bob Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
Kisumu Express - Help needed