wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

Running a saloon
thunder
#1 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 9:43:00 AM

I recently started a saloon business for my wife based at satelite estate.

This business has been up for 3 months now and nothing comes out of it. Most times am told that there are no clients.

Can i get someone who can run this thing for me - coz it looks like the lack of time we have is the course of laxity hence no money.

I am also considering selling the equipment (very new stuff) including dyer,blow dryer,etc..

If you are interested,pls send me a bid at melisa.jackson04@gmail.com

His 2nd coming is nigh! I need the Truth!!
Spendthrift
#2 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 11:36:00 AM

Did you mean salon?

Otherwise running a saloon involves things like stepping on the pedal and brakes,visiting the mechanic e.t.c

Anyway,the salon business is delicate. some things are vital

Location is very key,should be easily accessible and in a place frequented by persons you are targetting.

A personal touch is needed for every client ili arudi,

Hygiene.e.t.c

I am not a hair expert,I derived these from how my finacee speaks of these salons..Experts please

But while at this,do not simply run a awy from this business. Even with the financial crunch (borrowed word) the female head,skin and fingernails still hold so much promise for money making.

Jusyt dig deeper into why there is kidogo profits and restrategise

Everyday!
Layman
#3 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 11:43:00 AM

sell the business to me.

The future is already here!
CLK
#4 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 1:20:00 PM

I can manage it for you if you relocate it to CBD

The real measure of your wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money. ~Author Unknown
JkMwatha
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:35:00 AM

3 months & you've given up?....

Motobex.
ONE WORLD
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 8:25:00 AM

Just 3 months & u wanna call it quites? were u realy serious when u started it? Sio rahisi to open a business and to get customers in 'just 3months' ...kwani u think ni wewe only who's running a salon bizz??. u should have known this b4 starting. U must have at least a six months rent in ur pocket to face any unexpected 'tremours'. u have to vumilia for at least a year.Think of ways u can promote ur place by selling shampoos,cosmetics,dyes,perfumes bla..bla..bla.. or else u'll always b opening and closing in 3 months .. u also have an advantage that ur wife is running it. what if u were paying salary to ur salon attendant??? My friend plann kwa makini sio just opening bcse u love ladies hair. I beleive u can do it if u stay there and give it a good thinking and patience ..be creative.. u'll make it. Post us another discussion after a year .... don't sell nothing. Wish u Good luck.

DONT'T SAVE WHAT IS LEFT AFTER SPENDING; SPEND WHAT IS LEFT AFTER SAVING.
Liv
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:06:00 AM

A friend of mine has a salon which he wanted to sell after running it for 2 years. In the first year it was making losses. In the 2nd year it started reaching break-even point in some months. He was so tired of it but he had spent so much money on it that nobody was willing even to buy at cost of the equipment and furnishings. So he continued with it. Today 4 years later he is minting money from it.

Once a salon gets established it can become a cash cow. Please be patient and do not expect any returns soon but one day you will be happy you waited. Also ask you wife to get some education on how to run a salon business. It is one thing to have the hair & beauty skills and another to manage the business. There is a salon business magazine that this friend of mine says has helped him a lot which talks about how to manage salons... But like any other business it is not easy to succeed. You really have to be determined.
ONE WORLD
#8 Posted : Sunday, May 02, 2010 1:51:45 PM

@Thunder

If u r still there. It's exactly 1 Year now since you last complained of wanting to sell the saloon ... did u sell it?? If not how is it doing now?