wazua Fri, Jun 27, 2025

Is 27th December 2011 a public holiday?
Mpenzi
#21 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 7:10:40 PM

27th cannot be a holiday. its not math (carry forward at any opportune time)

The law allows the carry-forward from Sunday to Monday. So a logical argument is that Xmas and boxing days cannot be on the same day hence the pushing of boxing day to Tuesday 27th Dec. We need time to open the gift boxes smile smile
Gadaffi
#22 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 10:26:05 PM

The question is whether boxing day is a public hol in kenya. I think Dec 26 is nt listed as a public hol in kenya under th new katiba, i ope that answers most of th Q's in tis thread.
Mpenzi
#23 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 10:31:19 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
The question is whether boxing day is a public hol in kenya. I think Dec 26 is nt listed as a public hol in kenya under th new katiba, i ope that answers most of th Q's in tis thread.

Boxing Day is a Public Holiday under the Public Holidays Act but it is not a National Holiday under the Constitution. Neither are Christmas, Easter Monday, Good Friday etc National Holidays. Get that distinction??
#24 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 2:00:02 AM

Mpenzi wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:

Boxing Day is a Public Holiday under the Public Holidays Act but it is not a National Holiday under the Constitution. Neither are Christmas, Easter Monday, Good Friday etc National Holidays. Get that distinction??

Where does Id-il-Fitiri stands in this case?

Mpenzi
#25 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 7:10:21 AM

Mpenzi wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:

Where does Id-il-Fitiri stands in this case?

It's also a public holiday but not a national holiday.
#26 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 2:44:39 PM

Mpenzi wrote:

The law allows the carry-forward from Sunday to Monday. So a logical argument is that Xmas and boxing days cannot be on the same day hence the pushing of boxing day to Tuesday 27th Dec. We need time to open the gift boxes smile smile

The law does NOT allow the carry forward from Sunday to Monday, but to Tuesday.

Tafakari hii:

"Under Section 4 of the Public Holidays Act, when public holiday falls on a Sunday (which 25th does)in any year, then the first succeeding day (26th),NOT being a public holiday (but it is, therefore carry forward to Tuesday), shall be a public Holiday and the first-mentioned day (25th) shall cease to be a Public Holiday."
#27 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 3:35:52 PM

FKE website inaccessible?
#28 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 6:47:22 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mpenzi wrote:

Tafakari hii:

"Under Section 4 of the Public Holidays Act, when public holiday falls on a Sunday (which 25th does)in any year, then the first succeeding day (26th),NOT being a public holiday (but it is, therefore carry forward to Tuesday), shall be a public Holiday and the first-mentioned day (25th) shall cease to be a Public Holiday."

@GG..

wewe hapana mislead wazapere. the statement is very clear...

.......then the first succeeding day, NOT being a public holiday, shall be a public Holiday.....

That means only if the first succeeding day is not a holiday we have a holiday on that day. if it is also an holiday (like in this case 26th) then no further holiday is given!! hi maneno ya carry forward acha!!.
aces
#29 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 8:42:53 PM

alfred mutua, what do u think about the interpretation of 27th, is it a holiday?....
"

Life's a wheel of fortune and its my chance to spin it"
#30 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 9:02:13 PM

Kingfisher, very confusing twist you brought in there! But surely, we must have had such a case early 2000s. What happened then?
#31 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 9:21:55 PM

@kingfisher, hi sasa ndiyo ubaya ya kuchanganyisha kingfisher and ndom. In the statement 'if the first succeeding day is not a
holiday we have a holiday
on that day.' Is the first succeeding day a holiday? It is since 26th is Boxing Day, so we CARRY FORWARD to the next day.
#32 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 9:54:47 PM

Let's take the matter to the Supreme Court....
Gadaffi
#33 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 10:40:29 PM

If i can recall what happened last yea, 26th dec was a working day 4 th civil svc n th govt- A. Mutua- clearly stated it wld nt b celebrated...i don see it changing tis yea. Unfortunately tis govt is very mean wit holidays, we sld strike!!!
DonBen
#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 2:27:49 PM

Last Updated: 20/12/2011
DECEMBER 27TH IS A NORMAL WORKING DAY

As per the New Constitution and the Public Holiday’s Act, Tuesday, December 27th will NOT be a public holiday. The day will be a normal working day.

However, December 25th, 26th, 1st and 2nd January, 2012 remain public holidays.

OFFICE OF PUBLIC COMMUNICATIONS

http://www.communication...id=1354&media_type=2
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 2:33:34 PM

Alfie the stingy miserable b*stard had to do this...anyways...enjoy the holidays we have!!!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 3:04:38 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
If i can recall what happened last yea, 26th dec was a working day 4 th civil svc n th govt- A. Mutua- clearly stated it wld nt b celebrated...i don see it changing tis yea. Unfortunately tis govt is very mean wit holidays, we sld strike!!!

Wewe Ghadaffi, last year Dec 26th was a Sunday. Unless kuna civil service ingine hatujui.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 3:23:11 PM

Alfie the stingy miserable b*stard had to do this...anyways...enjoy the holidays we have!!!

ni kama yeye ndio anashuta siku zinapatikana ...........ati due to many holidays
http://www.capitalfm.co....iday-in-kenya-govt-says/
#38 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 3:32:33 PM

kingfisher wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mpenzi wrote:

Tafakari hii:

@GG..

wewe hapana mislead wazapere. the statement is very clear...

.......then the first succeeding day, NOT being a public holiday, shall be a public Holiday.....

That means only if the first succeeding day is not a holiday we have a holiday on that day. if it is also an holiday (like in this case 26th) then no further holiday is given!! hi maneno ya carry forward acha!!.

@King... From the little law interpretation i know, i would say we are on the same boat.....
#39 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 3:42:15 PM

carygoh wrote:
[quote=KulaRaha]Alfie the stingy miserable b*stard had to do this...anyways...enjoy the holidays we have!!!

ni kama yeye ndio anashuta siku zinapatikana ...........ati due to many holidays
http://www.capitalfm.co....day-in-kenya-govt-says/[/quote]

Next year this time he will be on permanent holiday..no one will re-hire that idiot for any job in GOK!
#40 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 3:56:51 PM

Wacheni kuingilia Alfie. It's all in the constitution. Didnt you guys overwhelmingly vote for YES?