wazua Sun, Dec 28, 2025

17 Pages«<34567>»
Hassan Omar
#81 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 8:08:45 AM

kyt wrote:
if thats the case kiraitos, then how many asians or europeans born in kenya have been presidents here? you mistake regions for races. world apart a guy!!!!

You don't get it, geographical differences have never influenced the way people in the US vote so that cannot be said to be their Achilles heel. Hence your argument that no president in the US has ever come from the same State is flawed. Thats why i pointed out race since that's where the disconnect for them lies. As for Kenya our disconnect is tribe rather than race.

#82 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 8:25:47 AM

kyt wrote:
Hey why am i being bashed for stating a fact even in US no state has ever produced 2 concecutive presidents in the recent. cmon guys its only fair that u b real #tafakari

which fact have you stated? That Omar has the right to be careless like everybody else? Or is it that Uhuru, Kenneth and Karua should forget state hse? What if one of them gets elected? Will you start rioting, killing and looting claiming elections were stolen? 2012 will be the most complicated polls in Kenyan history. Without 50pc, the round 1 winner may just end up losing. Things are no longer simple as they used to be.
#83 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 8:41:04 AM

@kyt, kratos is right. You should have used a better example like Tz across the border where they alternate between the mainland and Zanzibar. Also Nigeria where they have an unwritten rule alternating the presidency between the south and north. US is a bad example: Bush junior and snr are only separated by Clintons 8years...Democracy is a crazy thing. In Argentina the voters gave the first lady the presidency after her husbands retirement! In Kenya, the chance of a small tribe candidate becoming leader is near zero. Imagine Machage or Ethuro announcing their candidature! This anti-Kikuyuism is being spread by divisive politicians and their followers. Most of these are actually from the other big tribes!
#84 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 10:31:39 AM

@Laughing out loudly you have spoken very well and used very good examples, only that in Kenyan case our unwritten rule is the tribe. sad but true
Jaina
#85 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 10:42:10 AM

Anti Kikuyuism is a very powerful political weapon.

In reality kikuyu's are one of the most dominant tribes in Kenya today; any move to diminish the dominace either politically, economically and so forth, will be met with stiff resistance.

As a result, kiukyu's are not comfortable supporting anybody else other than their own for political office. Of course this is an open secret. Any politician who can change the kikuyu mentality will go a long way in eliminating the tribal menece that we face today in modern kenya. Why?.

Because of the dominance position they hold in the kenyan society.
(When a person, group, tribe or a state is dominant, it becomes very diffcult to change the dominant party position)

Omar represents a majority if not all of the antikikuyus (activists,politicains & general citizenly)

maligumu
#86 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 9:19:53 PM

Now this guys theory is getting some defence from a prominent publisher . Dn Sunday magazine 18 Dec 2011 ! When will we ever learn to unite Kenyans .
Peace be with you
Jaina
#87 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 6:43:01 AM

Let the truth be told.

Abdullahi has said it even better: http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/g331cg/-/index.html

#88 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 7:04:09 AM

Jaina wrote:
Let the truth be told.

Abdullahi has said it even better: http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/g331cg/-/index.html

I respect Ahmednasir. The guy is independent and bright. But he fails to see the problem here. He fails to note how Omar started his article with a statement that seems aimed at the whole tribe! Again, I say there is no new info here. Its like saying you have exclusive info that matatus are overlapping in Nairobi-pretty useless info.
Jaina
#89 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 7:45:42 AM

@ Lolest

No new info yes I Agree. But accept that there is some element of truth in Omars article. However, Ahmendnasir has put it better;Ordinary Kukuyus are suffering. IDP camps are still there almost 4yrs since the last vote.

#90 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 11:53:26 AM

Jaina wrote:
@ Lolest

No new info yes I Agree. But accept that there is some element of truth in Omars article. However, Ahmendnasir has put it better;Ordinary Kukuyus are suffering. IDP camps are still there almost 4yrs since the last vote.

see my earlier comments here and other threads. This is Kibakis main letdown. But Omar made it a campaign tool against all kikuyu candidates. He also lumped up all GEMA tribes under the Kikuyu tag.
#91 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 12:08:54 PM

I think it was just an personal opinion article and should be treated as such.
Don't know what the big deal is.

Yeah, I think it was his personal opinion:

TRIBAL APPOINTMENTS IN THE KIBAKI GOVERNMENT.
THE TRIBAL STATE LAW OFFICE OF KENYA
Solicitor General, Muchemi Wanjuki,
Deputy Solicitor General, Muthoni Kimani,
Registrar of Political Parties Lucy Ndung'u,
Deputy registrar-general, F M Ng'ang'a,
Registrar General Bernice Gachegu,
MINISTRY OF INTERNAL SECURITY & PROV. ADM
Saitoti -
Permanent secretary - Kimemia
CID Director – Ndegwa Muhoro
AP Commandant - K. Mbugua
Commissioner of Police Matthew Iteere,
GSU boss Munga Nyale
Police spokesman Eric Kiraithe
NSC - Peace and Conflict Management Mr. S.K. Maina
Government Printer: Andrew Rukaria
Senior Director Administration/Internal Security: E. Mutea

DC's 38/71 are GEMA with most concentrated in; Rift Valley (19), Eastern
(8), Coast & Western (3 each)

FINANCE MINISTRY (Controls Finance, Banking, & Economy in general)
Minister – Uhuru Muigai
Permanent Secretary - Joseph Kinyua -
Pensions secretary - Anne Mugo
ERD director - Kenneth Mwangi
D/Finance secretary - Mwirichia
Controller and Auditor – General; Priscilla Njeri Komora

CENTRAL BANK OF KENYA .
------------ --------- -
Governor- Prof. Ndungu
Dep. Governor - John Gikonyo

CONSOLIDATED BANK OF KENYA .
Mr. David Ndegwa Wachira– Chief Executive
Mr. Joseph Njuguna -Head of Finance
Mrs. Terry Maina - Head of Human Resources
Mr. Charles Kamari - Head of Credit
Mr. Rameck Njiruh– Head of Operations
Mrs. Leah Waichungo - Head of Sales and Marketing
Mrs. Wakonyo Igeria - Company Secretary
Mr. Edward Nthuli, - Risk & Compliance Manager
Mr. Erastus Gachoya, - Business Development Manager

KENYA REVENUE AUTHORITY **the most absurd**
1. Commisssioner General; Michael Waweru -
2. Board Secretary: Mrs Ngang'a
3. Senior Deputy Commissioner, Investigation and Enforcement:Mr Joseph Nduati
4. Deputy Commissioner, Investigation and Enforcement: Mr Namu Nguru
5. Deputy Commissioner, Administration: Mr Karimi
6. Deputy Commissioner Procurement: Ms Murichu.
7. 16. Commissioner for customs services: Mrs. Wambui Namu
8. Senior Deputy Commissioner (Customs): Ms Githinji.
9. Deputy Commissioner, Finance: Ms Wachira
10. Commissioner Domestic Taxes (LTO)-Mr Njiraini
11. Deputy Commissioner: Mrs Mwangi
12. Senior Deputy Commissioner, Finance: Mrs King'ori
13. Senior Assistant Commissioner, Security: Major Kariuki.
14. Senior Deputy Commissioner, Southern Region: Wagachira.
15. Commissioner of Investigation & Enforcement; Joseph Nduati

KENYA AIRPORTS AUTHORITY
MD; Stephen Gichuki
General Manager Finance; John Thumbi
General Manager Marketing & Business Development; Lucy Mbugua
General Manager Information & Communication Technology; Anthony Wachira
General Manager Security Services; Stanley Mutungi
Head of Corporate Communications / PA to the MD: Dominic Ngigi
Head of Procurement & Logistics: Allan Muturi

DIRECTORATE OF PUBLIC PROCUREMENT
Chief Procurement Officers - 23 out of 36 first appointees are all
from GEMA. Rest of Kenya = the remaining 13 (out of the 36).

KENYA RE-INSURANCE CO.
Chairman of Board - Nelius Kariuki. -kikuyu
Acting Managing Director - Jadiah Mwarania
General Manager- Reinsurance Operations, Beth Nyaga
General Manager - Finance and Investments, Steve Mbui
Manager- Investments, Jacqueline Njui
Manager- Life Business Division, Yoves Gichana
Manager- International business Division, Jean Claude
Manager- Procurement Division, Esther Kimanzi
Manager- Property Division, Consolata Kihara
Manager- ICT Division, George Njuguna
Manager- Human Resource Division, Salome Kangethe

COMMISSION FOR HIGHER EDUCATION (CHE)
------------ --------- --------- -------
Head of scholarships /credentialing
Snr Asst. Commissioner- George Njine -Kikuyu
Head of Administration (Asst. Comm) - Margaret Kobia -Meru

NATIONAL BANK OF KENYA
Mr. Reuben M. Marambii - Managing Director
Mr. Leonard G. Kamweti - Company Secretary
Mr. Nelson N. Njoroge - General Manager, Credit Division
Mr. Kenneth G. Sirima - General Manager, ICT

KENYA PORTS AUTHORITY
MD- Gichiri Ndua

#92 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 12:20:51 PM

@nostop, I will ask again, why link it to 2012 and make it his job to declare which tribe will not make it then? Why lump together four tribes to achieve his goal?
#93 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 12:30:21 PM

@ Nostopp....I'm almost certain that hata if RAO becomes President most of those people you've mentioned will retain their positions, don't expect a revolution. These people have been in those offices for a very long time, how come saa hii ndio Omar ameona its the right time to talk about it......2012 ELECTIONS. I actually expect this kind of talk to continue mpaka Dec next year.

Let the people decide who they want as their next President and stop using "facts" to give someone else undue advantage over others.
#94 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 12:34:23 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/hvlfrfz/-/index.html
#95 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 12:59:37 PM

I can sense so much hatred in this thread. And if things continue like this there might be bigger problems ahead for us.

It is too sad when someone says that no one from a particular community or group of communities should be eligible for a particular office.

Another problem is grouping communities together like @nostop has done in one of his lengthy post on this thread. A meru is not a kikuyu, neither is a embu or a kamba. But to justify how there are many 'kikuyus' in a particular office these communities are baptized kikuyus. Its such a big shame.

And it is also truly very counterproductive. For instance, what will make the real kikuyus and the assumed kikuyus want to vote for anyone else but themselves when so much hatred is openly being exhibited toward them?

Let us ask our selves who is the best candidate who can help Kenya move forward in all fronts. That is the person we need to vote in, whether he is a kikuyu meru like me, a real kikuyu or a non kikuyu is not of much importance here.

Having said that, it is important for everyone to note that it is good to have top leadership coming from different communities whenever it is for the best of this country, otherwise we look at the person. I never applied to be born a meru! and i believe no one ever requested to be born wherever they were born.

What these proponents should be saying is that we need to acting together as kenyans. that way you will easily be able to convince the kikuyus to vote for a non kikuyu, and likewise the non kikuyus to vote for kikuyus in another round. hiyo ingine yote ni porojo na haitaisha until the Kingdom come.

Have a wonderful festive season all.
#96 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 1:08:23 PM

kingfisher wrote:
I can sense so much hatred in this thread. And if things continue like this there might be bigger problems ahead for us.

It is too sad when someone says that no one from a particular community or group of communities should be eligible for a particular office.

Another problem is grouping communities together like @nostop has done in one of his lengthy post on this thread. A meru is not a kikuyu, neither is a embu or a kamba. But to justify how there are many 'kikuyus' in a particular office these communities are baptized kikuyus. Its such a big shame.

And it is also truly very counterproductive. For instance, what will make the real kikuyus and the assumed kikuyus want to vote for anyone else but themselves when so much hatred is openly being exhibited toward them?

Let us ask our selves who is the best candidate who can help Kenya move forward in all fronts. That is the person we need to vote in, whether he is a kikuyu meru like me, a real kikuyu or a non kikuyu is not of much importance here.

Having said that, it is important for everyone to note that it is good to have top leadership coming from different communities whenever it is for the best of this country, otherwise we look at the person. I never applied to be born a meru! and i believe no one ever requested to be born wherever they were born.

What these proponents should be saying is that we need to acting together as kenyans. that way you will easily be able to convince the kikuyus to vote for a non kikuyu, and likewise the non kikuyus to vote for kikuyus in another round. hiyo ingine yote ni porojo na haitaisha until the Kingdom come.

Have a wonderful festive season all.

"The solution to tribalism is not to replace Kikuyus with non-Kikuyus!"

#97 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 1:13:47 PM

@nostop, I will ask again, why link it to 2012 and make it his job to declare which tribe will not make it then? Why lump together four tribes to achieve his goal?

@Lolest, you miss the point...we all agree that linking this to the 2012 elections is wrong (read my earlier sentiments), and we all agree that there is some truth in what Omar was saying...and hence my last post (remember, I haven't even highlighted some parastatals etc)
@King, this lists seems to appear to lump the communities pamoja (which I think is wrong)...concern is that the minority vote for the majority, but I don't think I have seen it work vice versa...say if Mr 2willing was running for presidency, will the other guys back him? quoting the article by McDoba, "But is it possible these discussions will cause political temperatures to rise, tempers to flare and emotions to bubble? Of course they will. But does that mean we should not have these discussions? Absolutely not; we must discuss without going hammer and tongs at each other."

@Taz, I agree with you, but we have glaring discrepancies....
#98 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 1:17:58 PM

@nostopping, please, show us a list of the PM's ministry, or other ministries for that matter. Please do tell, how many parastatals do we have in Kenya? It's said, if you want to see a wrong, you will indeed see a wrong.

Secondly, please get an updated version of your list. Hii mambo ya ku-copy paste since back in the days si poa. And again, kindly understand, like @Taz has mentioned, many of these people have been in those positions or parastatals since the days of Moi. For instance, NBK. Check out your facts next time before posting.
#99 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 1:25:52 PM

Let's have a tribal free festive season. smile
innairobi
#100 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 1:30:40 PM

The problem with some of these guys is their usual assumption that the title Kenyan is preserved for 2 communities on the border with Uganda. After chanting for 5 years that this undefined group of 'Kenyans' will not accept a Kikuyu president in 2012, what do they intend to do if a Kikuyu like Karua, Kenneth or Uhuru does win? They need to tread carefully on ujinga-2012 will not be 2007 by any stretch of the imagination.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.