wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Blueband spread
wangura
#21 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 2:16:00 PM

If you ever left bread crumbs on margarine and a few on butter then you will notice that the one margarine wont have any mold even after 2030 while the crumbs in butter will have mold in a day! Tells you Margarine might be soft plastic
Blackberry
#22 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 2:18:00 PM

waa! hii ni noma! ati thigiriri na flies will not touch BB both old and new? we know BB is vegetable fat/Magarine,,,but so what do they do to it mpaka dudu haziwesmek?

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#23 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 2:45:00 PM

Kumbe BB still has many customers/users.....didn't know!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
mwenyemali
#24 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 5:38:00 PM

Margarine was invented during the second world war to counter shortage of butter to cater for the soldiers who were in the war. According to the analysis in the book 'Fit for Life' available at local bookshops,Bb or margarine for that matter s nothing but some component close to PVC- not nutritional value . After reading that I cleared it from my shelves and man,your are better off taking butter......
Tutu
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 5:52:00 AM

Go for Asali instead. Pure Natural honey na si boiled sugar or Sukari Nguru. It's healthy,medicinal and....

Jesus Loves me this I know,for the bible tells me so!
niando
#26 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 5:54:00 AM

What else can prove that margarine is plastic more than the New blueband spread? I'm switching to sweet potatoes and if the budget allows,butter.

Afadhali ugali ya kulala kuliko blueband spread kwa mkate.
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
#27 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:09:00 AM

Nobody is saying what implication this 'plastic' has on consumers of the product.....

Guka wa bijuti...
Fundaah
#28 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:20:00 AM

I found the same when I added a spoon of Blueband spread on boiling Githeri the other day.It doesn't melt at all . Plastic is better because it can crumble under the same temperature.Where can we complain ? It's cheap but no doubt that it can kill.

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me?

Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Djinn
#29 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 8:59:00 AM

Guys,I looked at this thread yesterday and was horrified to recall that some 5 year old had coaxed one such product into a supermarket trolley over the weekend and the said 5 year old was at home.

Anyway....I went and tried the stuff...TEST #1: putting a small dollop on hot rice....it barely melted....regular,standard issue BB would melt within seconds. TEST #2 - put a another small dollop on my tongue - felt like that stuff that sticks to the palate when you eat cold entrails (aka matumbo). So even body temp does nada to it.

WHAT I WILL DO: I have some kids bikes that need their bearings greased,grease car battery terminals with it,lubricate other moving parts like car door and boot hinges,etc.....but none of that crap will go in anyone's alimentary canal.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
PONDI
#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:15:00 AM

i have another idea.... can this new BB be moulded into any shape... like a ballon??? and how much 'frictional' stress can the resultant 'ballon mould' withstand.....

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
Spendthrift
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:40:00 AM

@PONDI,you may as well reshape it into a banana or cucumber like form and test the ability to withstand friction in in-body temperature.

Anyway from my first year environmental biology class,I can associate the hardness of this bb spread with the amount of transfats,which are artificially produced fats. They are normally produced during the hydrogenation of vegetable oils (the process that makes them hard like kimbo or BB).

Transfats have the properties to make the product read BB have a longer shelf life,and better taste (this may be *nilever's motivation to switch to this new product). However,the risks to the cardiovascular system are real and what's more,unlike kawaida cholesterol (the bad type),the risks go beyond cardiovascular. I mean association with obesity,altered insulin reaction/diabetes and at the very worst,it can make ladies bullet proof (ovulatory infertility)

Do you know that while natural fats will take about 17-20 days to fully metabolise,transfats take upto and sometimes more than 50 days to metabolise. Scary that the bb spread Djinn's son may have taken could still be in his sytem in mid June even though kids' metabolism is usually effective kama Michuki.

But this is what I think and I have since turned into an economist,so can some expert say more.

Everyday!
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 10:19:00 AM

The new BB is great for starving folks... it can last them (slow release) for months on end...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 2:27:00 PM

as an afterthought.....some products are purely to make watver your are consuming taste sweeter......no nutrional value just like Coca cola products......probably that is wat BB is meant to do.........does it make your bread taste better????

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
niando
#34 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:51:00 AM

For the last 3 days I have been on gwaci( sweet potatoes) and tea for breakfast.I ain't touching that plastic anymore.Gwacis are cheap at the local markets .

Kumbe it's so 'cool' to eat what our forefathers ate?

No looking back .Even the original Blueband potelea bali.
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
tmatekwa
#35 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 11:24:00 AM

The truth is that all unsaturated fats are dangerous to your health. By now major branded cooking fat should be off the shelves.

Osama bin Laden