Doctors strike
tuvok
#71 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 3:11:40 PM

Found this on Facebook (rather lengthy rant) covering why they are on strike :

https://www.facebook.com...strike/10150402911312582
#72 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 3:13:11 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

Now, who is that lovely chic (Oops Doc!) I saw on TV at lunchtime..... I am not feeling very well, where does she work...Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Anyone? To me the strike ended when I saw her. The rest was no different from the teachers strike.
#73 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 3:29:29 PM

It all sounds so noble of the doctors, changing the "system". but lets be honest...morality and money don't usually go hand in hand.

Lets not have a strike and claim its for "the country". You want a pay rise and that's it. Hii ingine ya working 20 years to make 500k ni upus. I sell charcoal and will never make that money in 600 yrs.

So doctor's please. You have gone on strike for money. .

...so very true, today if their salary demands are met without a single facility improvement they would all run back to work!!!!

I conquer with that. On the other hand some of them would like the status quo on that end since if the facilities are improved they will loose business (their clinics are direct beneficiaries of the poor facilities at the government hospotals.
#74 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 5:54:23 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

Now, who is that lovely chic (Oops Doc!) I saw on TV at lunchtime..... I am not feeling very well, where does she work...Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Anyone? To me the strike ended when I saw her. The rest was no different from the teachers strike.

She is called Dr Wambui Waithaka. She is the National Treasurer for KMPDU.

See her here: http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/9cjlytz/-/index.html

Utawesa kweli? smile

#75 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 5:57:18 PM

WAZUA ADMIN,

Merge this thread to this other one:

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=16215

Thanks.
#76 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 7:43:24 PM

Dr Wambui Waithaka. Is true or just a nasty rumour that she was fired today?

BTW, who remembers that Mean Machine rugby fan # 1 in them days called "Steel Pulse", a medic I understand ended up being a serious doctor in real life?

The famous MM song - God created the gentle breezes, that blows among the (can't recall the word that goes here), and lifts up the young girls dresses, (everything after here is not for a family website like wazua) smile
Mpenzi
#77 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 8:50:57 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

BTW, who remembers that Mean Machine rugby fan # 1 in them days called "Steel Pulse", a medic I understand ended up being a serious doctor in real life?

The famous MM song - God created the gentle breezes, that blows among the (can't recall the word that goes here), and lifts up the young girls dresses, (everything after here is not for a family website like wazua) smile

He was also great leading cheering in the early Safari Sevens years. Quite a talent he has. What was his real name?
#78 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 8:34:45 AM

@Mpenzi, The first Safari Sevens were held in 1996. Steel Pulse was in college in the mid 80's so it is inconceivable that he was shouting his voice hoarse in the 90s.

BTW are you also aware the the leading brain surgeon, Dr Oluoch Olunya was also a die hard MM crowd rouser? Who remembers his deft moonwalks on the pitch during half times? @Mpenzi, Dr Oluoch was of the very early 80s era.
addidaskawembe
#79 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 9:07:02 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

@Gordon... The great 'Steel Pulse' real name is Dr. Allan Gohole met him few years ago, he was the MoH - Bungoma District.

I later met him in Nrb after he quit public service and was a HIV Advisor for Jhpiego-an affiliate of Johns Hopkins University

Still is a true rugby and football fan and ofcourse bull fighting
tony stark
#80 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 11:40:41 AM

Tebes wrote:
It all sounds so noble of the doctors, changing the "system". but lets be honest...morality and money don't usually go hand in hand.

Lets not have a strike and claim its for "the country". You want a pay rise and that's it. Hii ingine ya working 20 years to make 500k ni upus. I sell charcoal and will never make that money in 600 yrs.

So doctor's please. You have gone on strike for money.
As you do so, some people are dying. The gov't will use that against you and the strike will come to naught.

Do it better please....like all of you move to botswana or something like that. If you are that good, you don't need the kenyan gov't.

...so very true, today if their salary demands are met without a single facility improvement they would all run back to work!!!!

I conquer with that. On the other hand some of them would like the status quo on that end since if the facilities are improved they will loose business (their clinics are direct beneficiaries of the poor facilities at the government hospotals.

I never refuted Doctors have gone on strike for money. But money alone will not sort out the problem more so for the Government employees. Lets say Govt only increases the money and never delivers on the promises to improve facilities what will happen is an exodus from govt to private hospitals which have to provide over and above what gover provides to get and retain staff. Ps note that your precious company insurance will also go up and your company profits will go down hand in hand.
Health insurance is not cheap.

The problem poor people face are a lot and health care services in kenya year in and year out decimate poor peoples savings. Imagine a father of 8 in homabay takes his wife to get treated for hypertension and she is admitted. The bill comes back a paltry 400sh per day for 4 days(1600) for hospital stay, drugs total up to 2000 shillings and since the hospital is under staffed the patients require unofficially of course a minder who get paid.

This guy has been saving for years to raise 5000K so that he can buy a new boda boda and hire it out but in one instance the guy has gone from soon to be business man to a pauper.

The government has taxed this guy since the medical drugs should be available and cheaper at government facilities, Nurses should suffice and this need for relative and minders in hospitals is nonsense since they should be working.

This is the nonsense that has to stop.Doctors are not morticians to oversee death and also we are not slave to work for free and peanuts.

This strike is definitely about money for doctors and the system.
10 Pages«<678910>