wazua Tue, Dec 30, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
Doctors strike
#41 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:03:20 AM

IMHO, Doctors should have their salaries increased. Some here may disagree but they are much more important than these accountants comparing themselves.

Also those saying that we need fully equipped hospitals first, picture this: your company has the best accounting software and is ISO certified but as an accountant there your pay is not commensurate with the work you do. How exactly will you perform better? It has to start somewhere and if begins with doctors salaries then so be it. Then, we can demand better equipment and thereafter excellent service.

True you will always find a number of those inexperienced "docs" with superiority complexes but that should not stop those doing good from receiving a fair package.

#42 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:55:31 AM

pariah wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Sadly....all that matters in this world is Demand Vs Supply.
This applies for doctors,pilots,accountants,lecturers etc....(well apart from MPs since those 2 factors are fixed).

I agree but in this case the govt is the supplier ie determines how man docs are trained in a year and is the biggest consumer as well through public service. Thank God there are more med schools now (even private unis train docs), soon there ll be more doctors in the country and our good brothers wont fel to special or lonely in the noble profession. There s no harm in training more than we need, after all thats how Rwanda is getting teachers from Kenya

There is not a country in the world, even the developed countries, that has a saturation of doctors. There shall exist a shortage of doctors as long as the population grows at the alarming rates it is growing at.
#43 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 10:00:42 AM

stingo wrote:
kangi wrote:
Njouze wrote:
hey guys, i think some of us are missing the picture here...go to school, work for the gava for like 4-5 years with a promise of a fully govt sponsored masters...apply for masters, pass interview and start school only to be told gava spent your money for fees to pay debts???? so u have to work urself to pay up your fee... start ur classes as u work at Kenyatta hospital for FREE.. those guys are not paid to work at KNH but cant be treated there even for a cold for free...Plus their salaries have not been reviewed even by a bob since 1996...
If these guys were not there how many Kenyans would be dead by now..especially those that cannot afford expensive private hospitals???
Seriously the gava needs to style up

@Njouze, Sad Sad Sad please be honest on this issue of working without pay, as the truth will soon be out.

Yes.@ njouze is very right.been a follower of wazua(stockskenya)since 2007 but now i must speak.And the truth is that POSTGRADUATE TRAINEE DOCTORS AT KNH WORK FOR UPTO 5 YRS WITHOUT GETTING A SINGLE CENT FROM KNH

I concur. Registrars at KNH are not paid a salary for the duration of their postgraduate medical training.

And even after completing the postgraduate training and graduating at uni, the government for the last 3 years has asked them to pay off their university fees, which are deemed in arrears.

Got this from the KMPDU facebook page which is organising the doctor's strike:

"I'm not sure if this has been brought to KMPDUs attention but Gova has defaulted on fee payment of the Mmed students it sponsored for the past 2 - 3 yrs. Newly qualified consos have been unable to collect their certs from UoN upon graduation until they PAY THE FEES THEMSELVES - worst is, they are still BOUND to serve in public service for 3 yrs and cannot work elsewhere because they have no certificate to prove they've gone through a master's program!!!!" - W.M.

"Yup! blackmail... they r the ONLY ones who know you are qualified coz UoN informs them as soon as a "sponsored" student successfully completes the course & punde si punde, u r shafted to the bunduz to perform in your new capacity. You comply, adjust you lifestyle to accommodate your new non-nairobi payslip and hope that in 3 yrs (freedom from the bond/bondage) your fee balance will have been sorted..." - W.M.
#44 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2011 10:45:55 AM

I feel for doctors. They truly deserve better.

Unfortunately gava does not value its professionals. Find out what architects and engineers earn and you'll shed tears.
#45 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 9:56:09 AM

Doctors at KNH down their tools as effect of the strike starts to be felt. Government seems to have money to refund stolen Kazi Kwa Vijana money, but not enough to pay our doctors.
Dash
#46 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 10:28:20 AM

Any news on whats going on? But I have question, if the doctors get the pay hike and go back to work what will change in the health sector. Are they demanding pay hike only or better facilities and more doctors in the hospital? For example a lone doctor serving thousands in the rural area gets a 150% increase salary wise, but the lab personnel are still not available, the drugs present are only panadols,the nurse is also demoralized due to poor pay and will continue with status quo, there is still no electricity during surgery and gloves are still a rare commodity what happens then?
Do not misunderstand my question by thinking I don't support the doctors but after the pay hike, what next for the health sector? I think they took the wrong approach when talking about salary only, I think they should demand for a complete overhaul in the health sector, after all doesn't the oath state the patient first above all, with this strike, how will the patient as well benefit?
#47 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 10:46:41 AM

Striking doctors storm Afya House, the Health Ministry headquarters on day one of the industrial action.
#48 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 10:55:45 AM

Dash wrote:
Any news on whats going on? But I have question, if the doctors get the pay hike and go back to work what will change in the health sector. Are they demanding pay hike only or better facilities and more doctors in the hospital? For example a lone doctor serving thousands in the rural area gets a 150% increase salary wise, but the lab personnel are still not available, the drugs present are only panadols,the nurse is also demoralized due to poor pay and will continue with status quo, there is still no electricity during surgery and gloves are still a rare commodity what happens then?
Do not misunderstand my question by thinking I don't support the doctors but after the pay hike, what next for the health sector? I think they took the wrong approach when talking about salary only, I think they should demand for a complete overhaul in the health sector, after all doesn't the oath state the patient first above all, with this strike, how will the patient as well benefit?

Self preservation perhaps?

#49 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 11:14:03 AM

Have nurses and COs been enjoined in the strike? These group do the donkey work and are payed a paltry basic salary of Kshs 16,000. In most district hospitals you will be told a dentist will attend patients only on a specific day of the week, an ENT doctor the same. The rest of the time they are running their own clinics. And these group too want a salary raise?
#50 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 11:20:46 AM

Dr Dre, Dr. Alfred Mutua, Dr. Willy Mutunga, Dr. Margaret Wanjiru, are they at work???
#51 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 11:24:39 AM

Dr Dre, Dr. Alfred Mutua, Dr. Willy Mutunga, Dr. Margaret Wanjiru, are they at work???

I know dr willy and dr mutua are at work.
ask dr mutua he will tell you there is no strike. how much does he charge for consultation?
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#52 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 11:26:50 AM

Dr. James Maina Nganga Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#53 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 12:34:00 PM

A 60 year old man has succumbed to pressure complications at the Coast General Hospital. There was no doctor to treat him.
#54 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 12:39:16 PM

Add Dr RAO and Dr EMK to that list.
#55 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 12:42:38 PM

Mutua and Kiraithe were rendered irrelevant (impotent?) by Col. Ogana, Lt. Col. Nyagah and Maj. ChirchirLaughing out loudly
tony stark
#56 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 1:36:05 PM

Dash wrote:

The demands is not only for salary. Please follow the link to see exactly what the Doctors are asking for. LINK
They are asking for equipment, better facilities, training, and salary is the last demand. During discussions with both the ministries of health both ministries had refused to commit to any of the demands including but not limited to salary.

Here is a list of other demands they had made to the ministry in March 2011
KMPDU wrote:
1. That the Ministry of Finance publicly lays out a clear plan of attaining both the WHO recommended health budget allocations and the requirement of the 2001 Abuja declaration.

2. That the Ministry of Finance incorporates into its budget making arm people who firstly think that healthcare provision is important, and secondly know that it is important to give the ordinary mwananchi access to healthcare no less in quality than that which they themselves would expect.

3. That senior officials in Ministry of Finance and their families be compelled to seek treatment exclusively in public facilities to confirm that they have guaranteed, through meaningful budgetary allocation, the quality in these institutions.

4. That in the immediate term, the Ministry of Finance undertakes measures to remedy the undesirable situations occasioned by the careless and dangerous underfunding of the health sector.

To anyone complaining about Doctors asking for a pay would you give them fuel, good, food and services for free because they said they are Doctors??

I hope Dr Alfred Mutua can now go to Hospitals and treat patients.
Dash
#57 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 3:12:57 PM

@tony stark.asante for the link. Good to know its the overhaul they are fighting for!
#58 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 3:31:45 PM

Gud post Tony stark. I am with the doctors. The salaries they draw is not proportional to the work they do their role in society and the hard work it takes to become doctors. A little comfort is not too much to ask for.

Looking at our health facilities, it is clear that the politicians do not attach much importance to the health of kenyans
Ms Mkenya
#59 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 4:23:26 PM

@Tony Shark, thanks for the 'rink'.
I think their requests are a bit too many for a strike.. They may need to decide what is key.

All said & done, they need to be paid better.
....above all, to stand.
sumuni
#60 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 6:06:18 PM

Tebes wrote:
Have nurses and COs been enjoined in the strike? These group do the donkey work and are payed a paltry basic salary of Kshs 16,000. In most district hospitals you will be told a dentist will attend patients only on a specific day of the week, an ENT doctor the same. The rest of the time they are running their own clinics. And these group too want a salary raise?

And why do you think this is so? The dentists, ENT surgeons and other highly qualified medical professionals desire to lead a comfortable life just like you and any other professional and not barely survive on the jinga pay that is the government salary. For as long as government pretends to pay its health professionals they will always pretend to work. Period.
It is a curious fact that of all the illusions that beset mankind, none is quite as curious as that tendency to suppose that we are mentally and morally superior to those who differ from us in opinion.