I came across one thread started off by @Mukiha sometime last year (Thika Road Expansion was a Mistake).
After reading the thread and looking through the debate, I concluded(stand to be corrected)that people in Kenya are largely divided into two main groups. Those who are pro Mukiha's thoughts and those who are opposed. A clear depiction of the two schools of thought we have here in Kenya.
The
1st school of thought are forward thinkers and visionaries who are at times able to envision how the future will look based on decisions taken today.
The
2nd school of thought are myopic and tend to see no further than one's nose. Individuals in this category tend to seek short term gratification without taking a deep thought into the long term effects.
There is no problem for one to fall in either of this groups. BUT, there is a big problem to end up in a situation where a majority of the country's leadership fall in the 2nd category.
Just for illustration purposes, see the extracts below.
mukiha wrote:If they had asked me, I'd have suggested that we spend all that money in improving the railway link between Thika and Nairobi.
The problem is not the size of the road; it is the number of cars using it. The way to reduce this number is to provide an good alternative to road transportation.
Watch this space: as soon as the expanded highway is opened, the traffic jams will return. Simple reason being that people will have moved from Nairobi to Thika enmase
Have you seen the developments going on along this highway...all waiting for it to open?
xxxxxx wrote:@Mukiha. Wewe ni P***u. If you have a plane to take you to various places, why do you want us, wealth earners on thika road to use trains? Have you ever in your short life been inside a train?. Bure kabisa.
The KES 26B thats being spent on thika road is the best money ever to be spent on any road in kenya.
I supporse that you also strongly feel that the bypass money should also have been spent on a project of your choice?
Did you ever study ecomonics in school? Do you know the link between GDP growth and infstructure?
Wewe you need some serious prayers.
Trains and people of thika road do not mix. We are not cows!!!!!! to ride on trains.
Wewe nyamaza tu to see the road get completed and then you can move to thika road as well. We have seen property appreciate in nairobi, only in areas where there is infrastructure.
Kama Thika road inajaa, una shida gani. Kama umeona Green intashindwa kwa referndum, ulituletee sisi.
Wacha barabara ijengwe.
-How do you go shoping with a train?
-How do kids go to school in a train?
-How do you deliver produce in a train?
-How do you ask +80K cars users a day to use a train.
-Wewe ni P***u!!!!
Based on the questions raised by the second person, you can see the level of narrow mindedness and ignorance in the society, or is it a lack of exposure?