wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

34 Pages«<89101112>»
Champions League - 2011/2012
#181 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 9:41:54 AM

The way things are going i hope Man Useless finish second in the group n be drawn against Barca.If these happens we will witness a horrible scoreline that we will talk about for years to come
#182 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 9:48:23 AM

After watching United's game jana, it was bittersweet. Bitter that we drew, never shut shop after going 2-1 up, and our defense was making errors. Sweet that I think this was IMHO arguably the best forward play I've witnessed from the Mancs in nearly two months. We all know how mediocre the Red Devils have been in recent games. I'm already prepared for second position, it helps to be real, and looking forward to meeting a top placed team. The earlier I deal with it, the better. I just hope Basel don't dampen my moods further.
#183 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 10:23:07 AM

After watching United's game jana, it was bittersweet. Bitter that we drew, never shut shop after going 2-1 up, and our defense was making errors. Sweet that I think this was IMHO arguably the best forward play I've witnessed from the Mancs in nearly two months. We all know how mediocre the Red Devils have been in recent games. I'm already prepared for second position, it helps to be real, and looking forward to meeting a top placed team. The earlier I deal with it, the better. I just hope Basel don't dampen my moods further.

It was depressing to play so well and concede 2 stupid goals - that is the cruel nature of CL football, the ultimate top flight football

@Dossy, I know you're hoping we'll play against Barca so that you can remind us that you beat them at the Emirates (after they switched off after scoring)...so predictably myopic.
#184 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 10:37:51 AM

It was depressing to play so well and concede 2 stupid goals - that is the cruel nature of CL football, the ultimate top flight football

@Dossy, I know you're hoping we'll play against Barca so that you can remind us that you beat them at the Emirates (after they switched off after scoring)...so predictably myopic.

@smano Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause , the earlier we meet a top class team the better, I am weary of basel though!!!
#185 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 10:45:11 AM

The best Man Utd can get in their group is second place na wakicheza its Thursday night football. Benfica have already qualified and will look to cement their position at the top with a win at home against Otelul. Still can't believe there are struggling in what was the easiest group when the draw was made.

@ Smano, C'mon Arsenal walichapa Barca at the EMirates and we almost knocked them out at Nou Camp (were it not for the RVP's red card)....how do you switch off from a match after scoring one goal, that's not the Barca i know.

Interesting how everyone expected Arsenal to be beaten by Udinese in the CL playoffs and now we are set to become the first English club to make it through to the knock-out stages from a very tough group. IN ARSENE WE TRUST!
redondo
#186 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 10:49:51 AM

Its hanging on the balance for Manu though i think that the issue is not qualification as much as who Man U meets in the second round. But whoever they meet just remember that for you to win the CL you have to meet the top sides somewhere along the way. So i would say: let it be.
safariant
#187 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 10:54:54 AM

There's a Redondo in the mix, was just reading this piece right now. Just check out the praise given to him.

http://www.runofplay.com/2011/11/22/generalissimo/
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#188 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 10:57:17 AM

@ Redondo....Like Arsenal, i don't think Man Utd have enough quality to beat Real, Barca or Bayern this season. Even if you sign players in January almost all the top players are aleady cup-tied so they'll only be useful in EPL and FA cups. IMHO the CL trophy will be won by either of the three teams.
#189 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 11:10:59 AM

@McReggae, unfortunately this does not look like the season where even if we get better as the competition progresses (assuming we beat Basel),we'll go far. Other teams are already in top form. The current Man Utd side would struggle heavily against the top 3 favourites, Barca, Real, Bayern where last season a match up against the last 2 would have been 50-50. Fergie needs to decide who will be playing back 4 (only switching when there are injuries) to create consistency e.g City's back 4 is always Kolarov/Clichy,Kompany,Lescott, Micah with little variation.

Mid can always be tinkered with but we need consistency of back four
redondo
#190 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 11:16:48 AM

@ Redondo....Like Arsenal, i don't think Man Utd have enough quality to beat Real, Barca or Bayern this season. Even if you sign players in January almost all the top players are aleady cup-tied so they'll only be useful in EPL and FA cups. IMHO the CL trophy will be won by either of the three teams.

@ Taz, i agree with you. Its just that sometimes teams like to ride their lack too far. If you cant beat Barca, Real or Bayern then you are just a pretender to the crown. What difference does it make whether they eliminate(humiliate) you at the quarters , semis or finals. For all the hype that English soccer gets, it beats me why the top English clubs come short when they encounter the best in Europe
#191 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 11:27:05 AM

@Taz,I know Arsenal had a chance against Barca last season, moreso if Bendtner had converted the 89th minute chance, all I was saying (with due respect to Arsenal) is that in the first leg, Barca scored and took their foot of the pedal, Arsenal equalized and all of a sudden Barca's antennae was up but before they could regroup Arsenal scored a second. By then it was too late for Barca to equalize. A Udinese side with their 3 stars who left at the end of the season would have been a handful for Arsenal but that is neither here nor there (hate that phrase) - even a strong Dortmund (with Barios and Sahin to complement Goetze and Kagawa) would have made that group much like City's group...

Anyway, water under the bridge. What I know about CL football is that winning/losing is a combination of form and luck or lack of it. But mistakes are punished horribly (Robben's volley at OT after we played the best first 45 minutes of football in recent history only for Rafael to get a red card). In CL, anything can happen - that's why I never even bother to predict scorelines. Who thought that Crouch would get 2 stupid yellows in the first 15 minutes of the Real Spurs match at the Bernabeu and effectively constrict them to a 4 nil walloping when they had a real chance? Or that Barca would be added 6 minutes in the semi against Guus Hiddink's Chelsea (after 3 clear penalty calls were rejected)only for Iniesta to score with the last kick of the ball and catapult Barca to the dream final UEFA and neutrals wanted?

All am saying in so many words is that the best team in CL does not always win, it's the best and luckiest team that wins.
kangi
#192 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 12:06:38 PM

[quote=Jus Blazin]After watching United's game jana, it was bittersweet. Bitter that we drew, never shut shop after going 2-1 up, and our defense was making errors. Sweet that I think this was IMHO arguably the best forward play I've witnessed from the Mancs in nearly two months. We all know how mediocre the Red Devils have been in recent games. I'm already prepared for second position, it helps to be real, and looking forward to meeting a top placed team. The earlier I deal with it, the better. I just hope Basel don't dampen my moods further. [/qu

just confirms how low the team has sunk compared to five weeks ago.How football(life) changes.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
#193 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 12:29:35 PM

Kratos wrote:
Its becoming harder and harder to watch United games after the City thrashing. SAF is calling it "back to basics" but i don't buy it. It reminds me of the 2003-2004 season that led to the purchase of Rooney. By then Ronaldo hadn't come of age and the strike force was just as blunt and the team was playing "horrible" football. The problem with SAF is that he has taken Man-u to such great heights that criticizing him and his methods is almost laughable. Anyway fingers crossed as I hope that he actually knows what he is doing.Pray

Is there a chance Man-u can top the group if they win away at Basel?

@Kratos, the only way that will happen is if Benfica draw or are beaten by Otelul - the chances of that are very slim - if both Man Utd and Benfica win, Benfica finish top on head to head.

Please look up the stats of goals conceded when Vidic is playing - they should be phenomenal. After the 6-1 drubbing (which would not have happened had Vidic been there), we have kept clean sheets in 5 consecutive games (all with Vidic playing)

I do agree that we have not conceded largely to Vidic's influence. What am saying is that we may have a strong defence but the midfield is wanting and to me it seems SAF is overlooking this fact..... Okay to be fair to him, he is never one to loudly confess the shortcomings of his teams. I am predicting he has something up his sleeve come the transfer window...another "Ronaldo" perhaps. All the same right now its not too clear what the game plan is hence the disquiet among the OLD faithful.

#194 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 1:30:36 PM

Is it only me or are u guys seing that Real Madrid is proving to be the real threat towards Barca retaining these CL?
#195 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 2:22:25 PM

dossy7 wrote:
Is it only me or are u guys seing that Real Madrid is proving to be the real threat towards Barca retaining these CL?

If Real are unable to take away the La Liga trophy away from Barca this season, I doubt they'll have a better opportunity, but CL is more than just quality - a bad mistake in knockout stages is all it takes.

I believe that Barca can turn on their switch in big games like the upcoming El Classico, but I believe Real are in their best form to turn things around. Hopefully this time we'll see a lot more of football than diving and fighting.

As far as CL, I think it is either Barca's, Real's or Bayern's - unless one employs Hiddink - Chelsea/Mourinho - Inter like tactics tactics and has the best game of their life, it'll be hard to beat one of these teams in a one off final

My poor Man Utd, the best we can do this season is a league/FA/Carling cup trophy - and there are no guarantees. But GGMU
#196 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 2:24:47 PM

dossy7 wrote:

If Real are unable to take away the La Liga trophy away from Barca this season, I doubt they'll have a better opportunity, but CL is more than just quality - a bad mistake in knockout stages is all it takes.

I believe that Barca can turn on their switch in big games like the upcoming El Classico, but I believe Real are in their best form to turn things around. Hopefully this time we'll see a lot more of football than diving and fighting.

As far as CL, I think it is either Barca's, Real's or Bayern's - unless one employs Hiddink - Chelsea/Mourinho - Inter like tactics tactics and has the best game of their life, it'll be hard to beat one of these teams in a one off final

My poor Man Utd, the best we can do this season is a league/FA/Carling cup trophy - and there are no guarantees. But GGMU

....mi no giv up men, bado niko gangari, competing for all the honours, GGMU!!!
#197 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 2:25:21 PM

dossy7 wrote:

Its possible but between now and May, a lot of possibilities exist. One of the possibilities is that both Real Madrid and Barca might not make it to the Munich Final in May.
#198 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 2:28:12 PM

dossy7 wrote:

....mi no giv up men, bado niko gangari, competing for all the honours, GGMU!!!

Me too. Until we are knocked out, we remain in the hunt for all trophies on offer.
#199 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 2:39:30 PM

I think I have been disillusioned by the need to see my team play perfect football! Who am I kidding, Man Utd won the treble in '99 against all odds, beating Inter and Juve along the way and being 1 nil down up to the 89th minute against the mighty Oliver Khan Bayern!

Indeed, GGMU. We have not been finalists in 3 of the last 4 seasons by flukes. Thank you @mwenza and @Mcreggae...lakini kandanda tucheze ya kupendeza macho kama jana
#200 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 2:49:49 PM

dossy7 wrote:

wacha hata mambo ya CL, even at la liga ...the barca arrogance should be tamed, real Madrid look like they can do just that.
In other news, how did ManUre play jana? ..woke up to 2-2,and this was at the theatre of nightmares (yeah, 6 noisy goals).
Game ya leo, Götze will be the difference ....