3 Pages<123
Fuel prices
#41 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 10:58:39 AM

Pierce wrote:
mukiha wrote:
You can save a lot by simply driving less.

That will will also reduce traffic jams and with it, fuel consumption rate of cars will also come down.

Kenyans have whine flu bug. They'll always complain without adjusting their lifestyles.

True dat!

Wakenya wanapesa.....

I think times are changing fast. I happened to be along Ngong Road and Argwings Kodhek jana around 5.30p.m and the people I saw taking the bus were not there two months ago!Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you ni kubaya boss!
accelriskconsult
#42 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 11:53:37 AM

vin wrote:
I did not get what that bald idiot was talking about.Ati interest rate ya financing fuel sourcing.Kwani sisi ni watu wa kuletewa issues kama hizo?I still feel that with the current down ward inters crude,fuel should be going for like kes 100.

Very informative piece of info right there. So the licensed importers of crude do not have adequate working capital and have to finance by borrowing from banks or wherever at exhorbitant rates and passing on the same to the consumer. The supposed benefits of tendering and only allowing one importer at a timer means then that there is no real benefit to the bulk import system. It would be interesting to see what would happen if there were various competing importers. I am willing to bet my left leg that the price of fuel would be much much cheaper.
Rationale;

(1) Players import what they can afford without resorting to borrowing
(2) The competition among distributors would force prices down
(3) It would discourage hoarding by 1 player
(4) It would encourage intradate between players and could even encourage players to explore the petroleum futures market.
(5) It would allow shipping in of products through out the year and eliminate the artificial shortages that winning bidders are known to create in order to increase prices
#43 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 12:15:44 PM

All said I think the systems biggest failure is NOCK. They actually do nothing to stabilize prizes despite being allowed to import 35% of the oil demand. Someone needs to remind that woman what the role of NOCK should be. It is being run like a private venture.
Blackberry
#44 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 12:24:23 PM

Euge wrote:
Na jam hazitaisha kwa barabara.

And guys will still not car pool...

Are Kenyans really open to the idea of car-pooling??? How do you work out the fuel cost per person? What about the individual going the furthest from the group?

...Impossible...Sasa kama after work @Impunity ndio huyo Alfayili na atatoka after midnite shows, @Magigi lazima apitie kwa Katimba...tutappol saa ngapi?
...All I am saying is that it is quite difficult because people have different missions after work...Utangojea mpaka saa ngapi...

Itakuwa chida Ndugu yanyu
Imagine wife works in huringham so abebewe na Neiba X na hubby aende na gari cos anawork machacos !!....for how long? There will Be WW3 in all households before U know it

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#45 Posted : Saturday, November 19, 2011 3:32:46 PM

We should embrace bicycles like Amsterdam/Holland and Japan.

#46 Posted : Saturday, November 19, 2011 4:52:29 PM

We should embrace bicycles like Amsterdam/Holland and Japan.

imagine cycling to Rongai in rainy weather
#47 Posted : Saturday, November 19, 2011 5:37:13 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
All said I think the systems biggest failure is NOCK. They actually do nothing to stabilize prizes despite being allowed to import 35% of the oil demand. Someone needs to remind that woman what the role of NOCK should be. It is being run like a private venture.

What exactly can NOCK do if crude is at $115?
What exactly can NOCK do if the kshs is averaging 100/$??

Check where these numbers were in 2010 and you'll see how squeezed OMC's are...

Do you want NOCK to operate at an unsustainable loss??
We should all get ready and prepared to pay 150/litre by Dec 2012..
#48 Posted : Sunday, November 20, 2011 4:20:05 PM

why is it that we cant import fuel from sudan?
#49 Posted : Sunday, November 20, 2011 4:37:56 PM

kyt wrote:
why is it that we cant import fuel from sudan?

1. Lack of infrastructure to get it to our refinery.

2. Our "state of the art" refinery can't handle waxy crude (like Uganda's upcoming product)
Sigiriri
#50 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 9:03:00 AM

Methinks that is in unethical for NOCK to be celebrating having made a profit in the last financial year when it's sole reason for existence is to reign in the OMCs and not make money for GOK. I blame NOCK and ERB for these issues. I would prefer the 'independents' to be let loose on the two remaining multinationals and the profiteering NOCK!! Those few warias can give them a serious run for their cash to the benefit of Kenyans.
#51 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 7:01:16 PM

The problem is the briefcase oil firms.

#52 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 11:02:53 AM

guru267 wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:

What exactly can NOCK do if crude is at $115?
What exactly can NOCK do if the kshs is averaging 100/$??

Check where these numbers were in 2010 and you'll see how squeezed OMC's are...

Do you want NOCK to operate at an unsustainable loss??
We should all get ready and prepared to pay 150/litre by Dec 2012..

@ Guru,

NOCK should have capacity to have indications of future oil trading prices and get contracts that allow for huge imports at stable prices. If they see the KES fluctuating, as it has, what has stopped them from hedging( KQ made quite some income from this last year) or keeping their reserves in foreign currency. They should be able to stabilize prices within every quarter. Right now, do you feel their effect on the market? Yet it is "OUR" money that has been used to set them up fro the very purpose of stabilizing oil prices and ensuring that the multinationals do not exploit us. we even went further to acquire alot of retail stations for them. Then mow the MD lady imagines we were doing it for profits. If they cannot do what they are supposed to do, then shut them down!
Mkimwa
#53 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 6:37:22 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

@ Guru,

NOCK should have capacity to have indications of future oil trading prices and get contracts that allow for huge imports at stable prices. If they see the KES fluctuating, as it has, what has stopped them from hedging( KQ made quite some income from this last year) or keeping their reserves in foreign currency. They should be able to stabilize prices within every quarter. Right now, do you feel their effect on the market? Yet it is "OUR" money that has been used to set them up fro the very purpose of stabilizing oil prices and ensuring that the multinationals do not exploit us. we even went further to acquire alot of retail stations for them. Then mow the MD lady imagines we were doing it for profits. If they cannot do what they are supposed to do, then shut them down!

If we could predict the future, we could make alot of money.
Reality: No one can predict what the price of OIL shall be, neither the currency rates - even for Dec 2012. People try while thinking on a macro scale, but usually mr. Market does not follow the fundamentals.

Therefore, telling NOCK to predict is being impractical.. can they hedge - probably. Its a two way sword - remember what happened to KQ when the prices of oil dropped to about $40 last year? I would like to see more practical solutions, rather than "NOCK should do better".

Be part of the solution, rather than point out where the problem is. We all know where the problem is - the "124.2" written at the petrol pump!
#54 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 11:25:01 AM

Mkimwa wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:

@ Guru,

If we could predict the future, we could make alot of money.
Reality: No one can predict what the price of OIL shall be, neither the currency rates - even for Dec 2012. People try while thinking on a macro scale, but usually mr. Market does not follow the fundamentals.

Therefore, telling NOCK to predict is being impractical.. can they hedge - probably. Its a two way sword - remember what happened to KQ when the prices of oil dropped to about $40 last year? I would like to see more practical solutions, rather than "NOCK should do better".
Some fellows are drawing a salary to do just that. It is our job to say when we are not satisfied and not to create solutions for them. Ifthey cannot think outside the box to stabilize prices like other countries have done, then they do not deserve to be there

Be part of the solution, rather than point out where the problem is. We all know where the problem is - the "124.2" written at the petrol pump!
To me the problem is not '124.2' at the pump but 100 today, 110 tomorrow, 95 the day after!!! We need stability (at whatever price)to plan.