wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

43 Pages«<2324252627>»
Ksh at its weakest since it floated in 1994
hisah
#481 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 3:23:56 PM

@Kizee - I'm not talking of shorting TZS, I'm talking of the chart pattern. Just like KE, they can delay the inevitable, but the direction point skywards for a while. Unless the EA economies pull off a miracle to prevent the coming money winter, this is not going to end well.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
kizee1
#482 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 7:56:40 PM

hisah wrote:
@Kizee - I'm not talking of shorting TZS, I'm talking of the chart pattern. Just like KE, they can delay the inevitable, but the direction point skywards for a while. Unless the EA economies pull off a miracle to prevent the coming money winter, this is not going to end well.

guess if u wanna participate in the tzs trade to 2000 u wud need to short tzs go long usd? on funding basis alone this isnt a trade worth ur time unless ur a tz onshore...thats what i meant...yea tzs is where kes was some months back ie inflationary pressures etc but and this a big but...unless ur an onshore u cannot short the pair
hisah
#483 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:54:48 PM

http://www.forexpros.com/currencies/usd-kes - I can see CBK is still compressing this thing downwards, below 95 and aiming for 90. Applause
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#484 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:57:20 PM

kizee1 wrote:
hisah wrote:

guess if u wanna participate in the tzs trade to 2000 u wud need to short tzs go long usd? on funding basis alone this isnt a trade worth ur time unless ur a tz onshore...thats what i meant...yea tzs is where kes was some months back ie inflationary pressures etc but and this a big but...unless ur an onshore u cannot short the pair

Obviously from out here you can't touch TZS. By the way are you looking at the rand... I expect the USDZAR to test 9.00 or worse 10.00.
Cde Monomotapa
#485 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 7:34:14 PM

I think a reversal is in the offing. A shift to real safe havens being emerging mkt ccys. They should target net importer ccys like KES smile very much welcome.
hisah
#486 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 12:20:05 PM

So far KES & UGX have compressed the most unlike TZS which looks unconvincing. BoT should use the shock & awe card like KE & UG to force TZS below 1700.

I wonder if cbk's USDKES comfort cap will be 90 if they can force it below 90... They need to eliminate the crazy fx violatility for hot money to flow back into risk assets - NSE etc. At that point I'll be willing to release the tbill...
kizee1
#487 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 1:18:52 PM

hisah wrote:
So far KES & UGX have compressed the most unlike TZS which looks unconvincing. BoT should use the shock & awe card like KE & UG to force TZS below 1700.

I wonder if cbk's USDKES comfort cap will be 90 if they can force it below 90... They need to eliminate the crazy fx violatility for hot money to flow back into risk assets - NSE etc. At that point I'll be willing to release the tbill...

bwana hisah, are u techie fan? chek out the kes chart...theres a h&s pattern formed, neclikne at 97.65, so from a highj of 107..the min price objective(x)= 97.65-(107-97.65), solve for x(5pts)
hisah
#488 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:32:47 PM

kizee1 wrote:
hisah wrote:

bwana hisah, are u techie fan? chek out the kes chart...theres a h&s pattern formed, neclikne at 97.65, so from a highj of 107..the min price objective(x)= 97.65-(107-97.65), solve for x(5pts)

I'm a TA fan. 1st target 88, then 86 then 82. The current H&S targets 87-88 levels.
kizee1
#489 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:31:54 PM

hisah wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
hisah wrote:

I'm a TA fan. 1st target 88, then 86 then 82. The current H&S targets 87-88 levels.

crazy stuff huh? basically all it took was cbk mopping up the takataka mashiringi they printed since 2009 eh?
hisah
#490 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 4:42:23 AM

@Kizee - This is annoying not crazy. What was the point of the excess printing/devaluation? We need to move away from this short term fixes aka small minded mentally when it comes to fiscal policies. So far le prof is following volcker's way back in the 80's.
Cde Monomotapa
#491 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 6:59:11 AM

The growth machine was due for service & reset. Catch the new season Q.E-Counties Edition smile
kizee1
#492 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 1:03:37 PM

hisah wrote:
@Kizee - This is annoying not crazy. What was the point of the excess printing/devaluation? We need to move away from this short term fixes aka small minded mentally when it comes to fiscal policies. So far le prof is following volcker's way back in the 80's.

the point was to inflate money supply so as to cause a faux economic boom...i agree with you the only forward is to strip the power to create money from the CB, their role shud be purely regulatory
hisah
#493 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 8:06:40 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
The growth machine was due for service & reset. Catch the new season Q.E-Counties Edition smile

Yep. Counties QE, but at least this will be productive since these must be developed/upgraded. Then once on their feet, we can have county bonds for further developments.
hisah
#494 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 8:11:51 AM

@Mainat - sees money winter season lasting till Feb 2012.

Mimi naona hii season ya cash drought hadi June 2012, then some crazy budget proposal will follow suit. Due to money crunch the politicians will have a field day bribing the electorate as election hits fever pitch Sad I hope mwananchi will not be swayed to repeat the mistakes yet again...
#495 Posted : Saturday, November 19, 2011 6:24:31 PM

Eish. Low 90s now?
hisah
#496 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 8:05:31 AM

@Youcant - most likely today, siringi will close below 90. CBK wamecheza rough game hand over fist. No taking prisoners here. The cross should settle @88 levels meeting the head & shoulder pattern target. Depending on the next MPC meeting we will know if 90 will be the cap or further down to 85. I'm still on exile in tbills.
Cde Monomotapa
#497 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 8:23:09 AM

The FX mkts are trying to vibe Prof.into a rate cut Laughing out loudly CBK should stick to its guns all through Dec.and let that IMF money, Diaspora & Tourism forex swamp the mkt and to cap it the banks shed more fx to comply with new CRR levels on Dec.15th. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly on the otherhand Euroland should keep sliding so that Brent breaks that $100 resistance all the way to lower $90s by Q1 2012 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
hisah
#498 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 8:48:45 AM

I'm wondering how banks will survive with interbank rate above 30%. What happens at 40%+ esp the small banks? What about costs of funds aka deposit rates? I'm seeing smold here...

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/a3a2dgz/-/index.html
kizee1
#499 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 8:57:46 AM

[quote=hisah]I'm wondering how banks will survive with interbank rate above 30%. What happens at 40%+ esp the small banks? What about costs of funds aka deposit rates? I'm seeing smold here...

http://www.businessdaily.../-/a3a2dgz/-/index.html[/quote]

good lesson for banks on ALM management, inefficient ones will be weeded out
Cde Monomotapa
#500 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 9:33:36 AM

[quote=hisah]I'm wondering how banks will survive with interbank rate above 30%. What happens at 40%+ esp the small banks? What about costs of funds aka deposit rates? I'm seeing smold here...

http://www.businessdaily.../-/a3a2dgz/-/index.html[/quote]
Let us get caned for our games in FY2011 Laughing out loudly those Q4 might not be the best smile