wazua Mon, Feb 24, 2025

Carjackings
$Billz
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 10:48:00 AM

This is crazy guys,i am almost leaving the car at home you never know where you will be jacked nxt.

Today drove away from usual parking space after 2 suspiciopus guys standing on the sidewalk were looking at me funny

Make the money
gogeta
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 10:58:00 AM

maY be theY weRe jusT admiRing youR caR...whaT kinD do yOu drivE?....me thinKs KenyaNs we haVe becOme so ParaNoid..asi!!

Wisdom brightens a man's face and changes its hard appearance.Eccle 8:1
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
brav
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 11:08:00 AM

Heh wewe niite paranoid or whatever,i dont karibia the gate waiting 4 it 2 be opened,I park on the road waiting for it to open,a safe place where i can rev or move forward hep hep ikitokea,pia if a car happens to approach,i monitor it like a hunter,wakifanya ngwee mimi nayo nayo... hata kama ni saa moja,

Usichoke kutafuta salary
Douvante
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 11:27:00 AM

We cant stop living life,life has to go on regardless of all the insecurity,do people stop driving cars because they can get an accident? if you are carjacked its just bad luck but dont let the fear stop you from living and enjoying life.

Everything happens for a reason.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 12:23:00 PM

@gogeta,I've actually become paranoid after the host of emails sent every day detailing the kind of tricks guys are using to carjack peeps - hitting your car from behind,removing your no. plate and following you waving it,guys throwing themselves on your car to feign an accident,the list goes on. Of course one can't stop living but extra caution can mean the difference between being a victim and an escapee. If you don't believe the emails just watch news for one week...crime wave during a recession is clearly very noticeable

mtaalam
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 1:14:00 PM

@ $Billz,

Leaving your car at home increase my chances of getting jacked so let's encourage all people to use their cars.... sadly that's what safety in numbers has come down to in Kenya

ili iwe funzo...
kamangu
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 3:10:00 PM

@Brav.thats a cracker.I can visualise you behaving like a warthog all in the name of kukaa chojo just in case.

Live is not about the chances you have but rather the choices you make.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 3:20:00 PM

hi guys,

so,which is better...leaving the private car at home and getting hijacked in a mathree or driving your car and getting carjacked in it?

the probablility of getting hijacked in a mathree is just the same as in the private car...and it is more traumatising when it happens in a mathree...you know the reasons.

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
luttz
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 8:14:00 PM

The most basic way to manage car jacking is by reducing the probability. Analysis indicates many reasons for car jacking - get away car,steal from car owner,cannibalize to sell as second hand parts. First and foremost eliminate cannibalization by buying a vehicle whose spares cannot be sold instantly - it simply means lean to Europe for your car requirements. By so doing you will rduce your chances greatly. when it comes to stealing from you and get away,there is nothing much you can do except employing defensive driving skills- how do you achieve this - by keeping your eyes moving. Most people are trailed for long before the car jackers strike,ther are very few instances when they strike randomly. Most of us never use side and interior mirrors to see who is driving behind us,this is suicidal. Last but not least,please if you cant afford to insure your car comprehensively,dont even buy one. Incase you insure third party make usre its third part fire and theft,not third party only
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
Tusker Baridi
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 10:14:00 PM

Mimi whenever I'm at home I make sure that I carry a mtoo with me,and let everyone know that I would not hesitate to use it. It is unfair to be so helpless while these gun-trotting goons have a field day. Fight back fire with fire.

When in doubt,follow the money.
PONDI
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 4:58:00 AM

and avoid dating/messing around with women named 'Akinyi'.... chinedu knows it and now PS murugu knows it too... they bring bad luck/drama

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
LimuruBoy
#12 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 10:34:00 PM

@ Luttz,I like your ideas about getting European makes...but I dont see ur point when it comes to insurance. My reasoning being that when ur dead,insuarances don't matter.

My solution to this matter is simple...and most people would be out of harms way if they practised it. What I do whenever I'm in Kenya is to make sure I'm indoors before it gets dark. If I'm going hanging,I get there earlier than I would otherwise want to...If the club isin't open early (and most aren't),I find a pub nearby where I can drive 2 minutes and I'm there. E.G. Close to Carnivore is the lang'ata shoppi.

Also I try to only go to places where they have accomodation....so that when I get tired at say 2am....I go from the club to the ka-room....which I pay for as soon as I arrive to avoid a situation of 'rooms sold-out'. The point is to kabisa minimize walking or driving around when it's dark unless it's an emergency. Now if Murugu had practised this,he wouldn't be driving around at 3am.

'All they see is my glory...they don't know my pain. Nothing good comes easy in life.'
- Multibillionaire Nelson Muguku Njoroge
Dollar Man
#13 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2009 10:51:00 PM

I agree with @Brav's idea of parking along the road while waiting for the gate to be opened. I've been a victim twice,same spot. These fellows wait in darkness just next or near your gate. They can see you from far as you slow down,indicate,turn and hoot for the watchie to come open the gate. You then see images appearing from the darkness with the middle guy holding a 'mguu ya kuku' in your direction. U obviously comply coz u can't drive fwd or reverse w/o consequences. They ask u to go to the backseat,reverse and drive off b4 going to a kishoroshoro where u are now asked to get into the boot and they drive with u (robbing other motorists etc as u can hear gunshots while in the boot) from say 12 am to around 4 am when u r damped in some strange forest and asked 2 find your way around. By then u are minus your money,phone or anything of value that they managed to lay their hands on.

Your future depends on your dreams; so,go to sleep.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 6:01:00 AM

@Limuruboy

Interesting.... but i dont know how practical it is to comply with getting home before dark all day of your life.... or having to sleep out when you are late...... in some instances you will have office functions lets say,which you cant control,you will have friends doing parties like farewells,the matangas that take hours etc,you will have relas meetings etc,you will have business meeting that will end at 9pm depending on what line of business you are in,sometimes i know there have been people working till 10pm in the night,really,what are these supposed to do? sleep in the office,or at the relas,or at their friends? i mean,how do you go to a farewell party for a friend which ends at 10 - 11pm and end up sleeping there? Watoto wakiamka watasema baba au mama yuko wapi? Utaambia bibi ulienda kulala wapi? ati kwa hoteli ulichelewa kwasababu soccer iliisha saa sita? aaaaiiih.......

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Ric dees
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 11:52:00 AM

@ Limuruboym & Luttz

I know how challenging it is to drive back home after leaving out of the country for somewhile..it really drives me up the wall but well.it is what it is..

Personally whenever am home i drive my KPU ( see post on my first car) datsun 160J,i love driving this car and people tend to give me way very easily though it has it's challenges. I am lucky to have never been a victim of car jacking but i know with this car even further diminishes the possibility,someone mentioned Village market and i kid you not i have been asked severally by the watchies where i am going...and even when am reversing no one of the attendants help me to pull out but hey..i can live with that..

Lastly it has sieved the wheat and the chaff for me apart from people who knw me well,i have been able to avoid the usual wannabes,golddiggers and freeloaders..

Success is not measured by what you accomplish,but by the opposition you have encountered and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against the overwhelming odds'

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Bambam
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 12:16:00 PM

The thing about the jackers plucking your licence plate and waving it at you is a real cracker.....ha ha ha. Of course un less the car is yours.

anyway very little you can do after the basics. My take is;

If you have to drive a Toyota after 6pm or on weekends,let it be a battered KE 70 or AE 91,

If you are in traffic jams,especially jioni ( and I would like to single out juja road,just after Airforce towards town,Outering road and even Limuru road) roll up your windows - woo unto you if you don't have A/C but I can promise you the cold tip of an AK 47 on your neck or the mere sight of one is more than you can handle. A friend was a victim- they took the money he had in his upper shirt,his mobile phone,his wife's cellphone and Kshs. 500 and just when they thought they guys were done,the boys asked to be pitishiwad the meat that was in the car. Wale tumegrow up Eastlando tunajua vile ni rahisi ku identify nyama hat kama iko wrapped.

keep yout trunk clean,coz you may have to ride in there and if you can,always have an ever charged (money and battery) mobile phone safely hidden in there. You may once find it very useful because the jackers will strip of your regular phone before they book you in there. That SMS from the trunk can assist you but then you need to be careful especially if your CD player was on at the time of hijack because the mobile phone's interference if detected will be sure to earn you some lead or a nasty sexual experience,just to punish you.

It may be ugly but mark your car,I'm sure you have seen KAT...spread over the sides,hood and trunk of a car. Sometimes even on the roof. This is good for some makes such as the Toyota DX,G-Touring e.t.c Afterall the cars are already ugly even without the markings.

And if you are a snake charmer,make sure you leave a viper kwa area ya pedals......

What a bam bam?
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 12:31:00 PM

@Bambam,

Keep a beer and some snacks in the boot too.

Yombo dhier....!!
JkMwatha
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 1:00:00 PM

@bambam/njung'e - install seat belt kwa boot (cushioned boot belts) in case of a bumpy ride.
adept
#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 3:10:00 PM

@Njunge and @JKMwatha - That is hilarious.
luttz
#20 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 9:27:00 PM

@Limuruboy,I agree but being home before dark is not sustainable,again some of us as Wendz puts it cannot sleep out without raising lots of obvious questions.

@ Ric

I should be getting an old one too to be able to move around disguised.

The other day afriend of mine left his buddies and galfriend having abeer and stepped out of the bar to make a phone call,thats was in South C,Spuds to be exact. The boys put him in the trunk and rest is history. They later dropped him at Mlolongo at 4am,too confused to differentiate North from South,with a broken jaw. One can never tell when the guys strike.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."